We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and very friendly great deals too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint and very friendly great deals too”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights as a couple having never visited the New Forest before. It was set right next to woodland and we had a wonderful explore across Burley and the forest. We got a great deal and I wasn't expecting much from the room but it was surprisingly nice, a bit dated in the bathroom but had good facilities, was well decorated and a nice comfy bed.

The hotel itself has a lovely feel of a quiet, small country hotel, with pretty gardens and welcoming to all. There were dogs but that was no problem, even though I am pretty allergic to all pets the hotel was obviously kept really clean.

The restaurant and bar food, as we had dinner, bed and breakfast, were really nice and as an inclusive deal couldn't be beaten. We even got a free night return voucher.

The only complaints really were how long the service took for eating and at reception. Really lovely people, just a bit understaffed perhaps? Definitely going back.

If you have kids get the treasure hunt maps they are very fun. Burley is a great place to stay in the New Forest too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    229
    103
    56
    32
See reviews for
174
351
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Moorhill House simply blew us away - it is excellent! we had been travelling for one week in the New Forest and were almost about to leave as we were unimpressed with the standard of hotels for incredibly high prices. But we thought we really should see Burley.... and then we stumbled across Moorhill House. It was half the price we'd been paying in Beaulie and Brockenhurst and easily double the standard. The rooms are big, bathrooms new and clean, we even had a huge terrace. It is around an 8 minute walk our of Burley, but its such a lovely walk in the summer time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravellerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed with family in a Verderer family room in August. Had booked two nights initially but stayed three since we liked it so much.

The hotel is situated in a wonderful, peaceful spot, in the forest and right next to heath land and a short walk from Burley village. The hotel is really nice with common rooms for reading and beautiful garden. Staff very helpful and friendly. The food is good, we had two dinners at the hotel and although food wasn't plentiful it was delicious (especially the pork belly!).

The room was of a good size with nice view of a small garden and a field. Bunk beds perhaps a little bit cramped. But, all in all, we felt really at home, comfortable and relaxed at Moorhill House.

The pool is not very large but nice.

Tip: if you would like to take a walk, just ask the staff, as they have prepared instructions for different walks around the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and were expecting a lovely, relaxing break for a two nights but this just didn't happen. There were issues at every point of our stay.

When we first arrived at reception there were no staff available, not a good first impression. More guests arrived and waited with us with three members of staff eventually arriving at the same time to check us in. We eventually found our own way to our room to find the bathroom only had a bath with a shower attachment and really slow running warm water which was not adequate enough. I went to reception and asked if there was another room with a shower and she gave me the key at told me to go and check another room for myself, which I did. This room was no better so stayed with our original offering. The low water pressure meant that my wife couldn't wash her hair properly and I struggled to get in the bath due to the slopping roof. We had to top up the bath with water from the kettle just to make it warmer and to add more water but is was still like sitting in a puddle. We decided to use the swimming pool facilities to shower, but the shampoo provided ran out whilst being used and my wife had to use a spare bottle that had been left.

We went to dinner and the food was not nice at all. The rolls were cold and had been left out on the side, the soup was slightly warm and tasteless, the duck was barely cooked and tough, the portions of vegetables on the plate were a joke and really salty, and the chocolate brownie was hard. We both left feeling disappointed and hungry but decided at this point, to still give the hotel the benefit of the doubt.

At breakfast the next day we sat down to crockery that was dirty and the glasses provided for juice dirty as well. We both had the cooked breakfast which was tiny and both agreed that the sausages and bacon were barely warm. The yolk in my poached egg was hard, therefore leaving the half a tomato the only adequate piece of food.

I decided that I would mention something to the receptionist subtly rather than in the dining room with other guests. As I passed Reception it was left unattended again until the telephone rang and the receptionist rushed through with a drink. I came back once she had time to answer the call and spoke to her. She noted my concerns and informed me that she would speak to the Manager.

We returned to the hotel later that afternoon to find that the cleaner had left dirty towels, toilet rolls and her cleaning box on the landing. We went for a swim with the intention of both having showers due to the previous bath situation and we returned to our room to still find the cleaner’s mess there. The plastic cups had not been replaced so as I went to the bar to get us some glasses so we could have a drink, I walked past the cleaner’s mess and decided to speak to the Duty Manager Tom. As my original conversation with the receptionist in the morning had apparently not been feedback as promised, I provided a brief explanation.

The food and service slightly improved at dinner with the watchful eye of Tom but found there was a lack of choice so ate the same food again.

Tom cancelled the drink and food bill, as we went over our food allowance due to the lack of choice, which was approximately £20 as a gesture.

I did write and provide feedback to the hotel regarding our stay and they apologised and tried to justify certain points. I feel the stay was a complete waste of money and the hotel is badly managed. They only have a few things to do, feed me, allow me to keep clean and provide a relaxing environment, sadly, they couldn't really do any of them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments which we have addressed in our private correspondence with you. I do hope you will return to one of our hotels in the New Forest so we can provide you with our usual high standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is a very mixed bag. The 'Agister room' we were initially allocated was very dreary, cramped and depressing, a bit like a caravan. The noise was ridiculous! We could hear doors slamming, very loud footsteps above, cars right outside the window, people peering in, conversations and children squealing in the pool. We complained to reception, who were extremely helpful, because they were obviously aware of the problem. We were upgraded to a 'four poster' room on the top floor that was superb. It is a pity that we had to move to their sister hotel, ..'Bartley Lodge ?( Do not ever book there as it is an over rated, shabby knacker of a hotel!) the next night, as they could not accommodate us for two nights at an acceptable standard, which took time out our short weekend break.
To summarise: Very pleasant and helpful staff, only book their top rooms unless you have a desire for a caravan holiday, be prepared to insist upon a decent standard! The meek will be taken advantage of! The restaurant menu is also boring and dull.
P.S. Take a torch, as the nearest pub, The Queen's Head, is half a mile down a pitch black lane, but is excellent value, quality and service.

Room Tip: Book a top room, or you WILL have a miserable stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We decided to pay the extra for a four poster room and were very pleased with it - we got room 29 which has its own veranda with a set of table and chairs. The bed was very big but the mattress was a bit too soft for us but we are used to orthopedic mattresses. The food was very good even if it is a bit poncy - i paid the extra for the super breakfast and thought it was very good value. A very nice setting in the forest too. Firt time for a long time that all of the hotels workers are english and all seem to muck in

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 , the staff were very helpful and charming. We were very disappointed with our room, considering the price we had paid for the crown room , [Not the same as in the piture which is advertised] . Found cobwebs on the four poster bed , the bathroom could do with a complete overhall, the balcony full of weeds , and the lovley cast iron table and chairs needed a good scrub. Apart from that the staff made up for this .If you are planning on staying here the 10 minute walk into Burley is more like 20 minutes , you REALLY need a touch if you are planning on coming back in the dark think the hotel supplies torches. The breakfast not great we paid the upgrade again very disappointed DON'T bother to pay the upgrade. On a good note when you check out you get a voucher to come back with one night free ,but still do not think the price you pay even with a free night is worth it .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent visit. I am sorry you were disappointed with your crown room, but am pleased that apart from this you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
347 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
818 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
787 reviews
6.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing