We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorhill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

It was a late decision to go to the new forest and what didn't help was my birthday always seems to fall on half term, but after checking on line we decided to phone to make sure that suitable accommodation was still available. Got through ok and the booking lady was very helpful and this lead to what I believed was a really good deal of dinner bed and breakfast in one of their Crown rooms.
When asked about any comments I wished to add, I mentioned about some reports about a noisy pump and that it was my birthday, so a quiet room was added to the booking information
I would advocate going for the larger room, which is good size and has all of the right facilities plus was very clean, but the room we had (5) is very dark due to the large ever green trees in the neighbours garden which was a little disappointing.
It is also over the bar, which wasn't a problem for us but it could be if there was a function on. It was also none too warm, not helped by the high ceiling and we had to resort to a back up oil fired radiator, but even then it struggled. Our final third night was ruined by what I think is a central heating pump being left on all night - it was finally switched off at 6.00am!
Bed was very comfy and both dinners and breakfasts where very good The £25 per head dinner allowance was very welcome as the food isn't the cheapest but one cannot dispute the consistent quality although a batch of coffee left allot to be desired, but when we checked out the cost was knocked the bill, not because of the very poor coffee (which I admit I did not complain about and also did not drink) but because we had such a poor last night.
This immediate response was very welcome.
Staff where very polite, cheerful and helpful and as can be seen will provide some form of compensation if things do not go to plan, will try and mitigate the problem.
I see no reason why we would not go back, I'd just be picky about the room as clearly the pump item has not been resolved and this is a problem which the hotel does need to resolve.

Room Tip: No sunshine or view in rooms over the entrance/elevation Pump mechanical noise an issue in some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank midget73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel. We are sorry to hear you experienced some problems, but pleased that our staff were able to sort some of them out for you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    213
    99
    47
    29
See reviews for
164
332
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our room was spacious and clean, though slightly old-fashioned and the welcome on arrival and contact with all staff was outstanding. The restaurant was excellent, we were very pleased with dinner and breakfast, all freshly prepared and of a high standard. We stayed here as part of a Peppa Pig world deal and am glad that we chose this hotel. Reasonably priced hotel with a wonderful team of people, only negative was the freezing cold pool but nothing that would put me off returning. Thank you for a homely stay in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littletinyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel and hope you all had a good time at Peppa Pig World too! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfasts and evening meals were superb as was the restaurant itself. We had coffee in the comfortable lounge with some other guests which made for a perfect end to the day.
Our room (2) was comfortable and well equipped but unfortunately had a view of the roof tops not of the forest. Our sleep was not helped by the noise which we finally decided must have been something to do with the filters in the indoor pool which we overlooked. The ensuite was again well equiped but was very cold as it appeared the heated towel rail was not working. However this would not dissuade us from visiting this hotel again as we thought the facilities, decor, food, location and service were first class.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Moorhill House Hotel!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and apologise that you were disturbed by noises during the night. We hope you will return for another visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

They say "Unwind in our garden room, in our traditional bar or on the terrace with an indulgent afternoon tea. Enjoy a traditional afternoon tea served on a tiered cake stand; finely cut sandwiches, warm scones with jam and clotted cream, a selection of homemade cakes and your choice of tea or coffee. Afternoon tea at Moorhill House Hotel costs £14.05 while champagne afternoon tea is priced at £21.45 per person. To book yourself an afternoon of decadence call us on ...".

So it was with a great sense of anticipation that we sat down awaiting our treat! But what a disappointment!

The first thing we noticed was that the teapot was empty - they had forgotten to put tea in, though it did give us a chance to inspect the stains inside! A filled pot was eventually brought but rather than the loose tea one normally gets for this price, it was just bog standard tea bags floating around.

The 'finely cut sandwiches' were on supermarket bread. One with sliced boiled egg and salad cream (a real treat that!), one with cucumber and one with smoked salmon - the latter being the only 'indulgent' aspect of the whole tea.

Scone was fine though not warm, but rather than strawberry jam that is traditionally served with cream, we were provided with a little pot of blackcurrant.

The absolute worst part of the tea was the so called 'selection of homemade cakes'. There was a thin slice of what was supposed to be ginger cake I think - it was so soggy that it just fell to pieces - it had quite simply not been cooked properly. And there was a piece of millionaires shortbread. The chocolate topping was fine but the underside was again an undercooked soggy mess. Both quite inedible.

We had been treated to the tea as a Christmas present, so at least did not waste our own money. We could have done better by going to a supermarket and buying a few sandwiches and cakes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments have been passed on to the General Manager and the Executive Chef for training in the areas mentioned. We will take this opportunity to review the afternoon tea menus, to ensure that the quality is consistently high at all times.
Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Although we did not stay here I wanted to let the Tripadvisor Community know what a great place this is for Sunday lunch. We chose it as a venue for my 60th birthday family lunch last Sunday and it could not have been better. We had drinks while relaxing in the cosy lounge and then went through to the very smart restaurant. We all enjoyed our meals and agreed the best dessert was the treacle tart. Our waiter was lovely. We then sat in the lovely garden room with our coffee. I was so pleased I chose The Moorhill House Hotel as it was perfect for a special, relaxing lunch for my special day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable Sunday Lunch at the Moorhill House Hotel, to celebrate your special birthday! Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we hope you will return to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

What a wonderful time we had here over the Christmas period. The hotel staff were the most friendly and helpful we had ever experienced especally considering they were giving up their Christmas for others!!! We were a family of six aged between 30 and 65 and we all enjoyed it tremendously. Our rooms (all Agisters nos. 19, 20 and 2l) were comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent and suited all our varied tastes and how nice that we could ask about different aspects of the food and wine and be given full and interesting answers. The hotel is in a fabulous position - straight out onto the Forest and ponies. Thank you all so much we had a fabulous time. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndapCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at the Moorhill House Hotel and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

My partner booked this 2 night break away as a treat for me following major surgery.

OK during the day to find but at nightime could be a bit difficult.

Moorhill House Hotel is a hidden gem. On arrival we were greated politely and without any fuss. Our room (Room 19) Although on the main road in 1st floor, very little traffic. The room was cleant and tidy with all the facilities you would expect. The bathroom was bigger than one would expect and again was clean and tidy.

We only had breakfasts, which was excellant as was the service (Darren on Tues Morn is a credit to this hotel)

All in all 10 out of 10, would certainly return in the future and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynishamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for your kind review, we have passed your comments on to Darren. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing