We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely quiet setting spoilt by pool pump noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moorhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Certificate of Excellence
eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely quiet setting spoilt by pool pump noise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Positives -
Great location set down a country lane away from traffic noise just a short walk into Burley or out onto the common.
Good quality of cooking and selection of food and wine.
Friendly helpful service.
Excellent standard of housekeeping.

Negatives - Oh dear me if you stay or are placed in any of the rooms above and around the pool you will not enjoy or be able to sleep well. The pool plant room gives off a disturbing sound of a ships engine room, rumbling and banging on and off every five minutes all through the night.
Quite simply our first night was horrendous Neither of us could get to sleep because of this noise. We were moved and it is clear the hotel know about this problem but choose to keep quiet. There is no mention of this problem when booking online or on arrival and the advice from reception was to ring and book directly with the hotel!
The reduced bill was welcome but shame on the hotel management who should sort this problem out and turn this hotel into what could be a peaceful hotel in a tranquil forest setting.
Would we stay here again? Yes but only in a room on the garden side away from the pool plant noise

Room Tip: Do not accept any room around the pool area because of the pool plant room noise you will not sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BandKEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food, service and housekeeping to be of a high standard. We are sorry you were disturbed by the noise from the pump room. We are having this investigated as although a certain amount of noise from a poll pump room is expected, it should not be excessive as mentioned in your review. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    222
    101
    49
    29
See reviews for
167
339
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Have just returned from a lovely stay at moorhill house hotel. Everything about the room was fantastic, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and polite. The food was very good and overall i had a lovely stay with my partner.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for you kind review. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

I visited Moorhill House during the October half term week for a 3 night stay. I travelled with my Mum and my 7 year old son. My Mum has limited mobility and the hotel very kindly gave us a free upgrade to a very spacious room on the ground floor that was easily accessible. The room was very pleasant and exceptionally clean, as was the bathroom.
The approach to the hotel is stunning. A short drive through the woods brings you to the hotel and it's idyllic, peaceful surroundings. The location is superb for exploring the local area with the whole of the New Forest only a short drive away.
The swimming pool although small, is perfectly adequate. My son and I spent a lot of time in there and quite often had it to ourselves even though the hotel was full.
As has been said in other reviews, the food is wonderful. Both breakfast and dinner were exceptional with a good selection to choose from. The service in the restaurant was very attentive and professional.
If I had to find fault with the hotel, it would be that the corridor leading to the restaurant could do with redecorating. It looked a little tired to me. In addition, a glass panel in the door to the swimming pool was cracked and covered with tape which didn't look too good. Also, I love my wine and found the wine list limited and expensive. Other than that the hotel is faultless.
I will definitely be returning to Moorhill House although next time I will bring my beloved doggy too!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you, your mother and son enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed the broken glass in the door to our Maintenance Manager to have repaired. We look forward to seeing you and your dog very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our second break at the Moorhill (two night break last year). As last year all the staff are very friendly. The food is superb and reasonably priced. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard. As long as the buy one get one free offer continues we will be back next year! Thanks very much for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you managed a longer break this time, please keep checking our website for news about our special offers. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Lovely, comfortable break in a wonderful secluded setting on the egde of the New Forest.

Rooms were clean, and beds were very comfortable, staff were also extremely friendly and helpful.

Food was top notch, couldn't fault it, very reasonably priced and a faily good variety of dishes from which to choose

Although I only got 1 night here, I wouldn't hesitate to come back here in the future. Wonderful hotel in which to stay!

Room Tip: The 'family room', which is more of a suite has a large double bed, large wardrobe with bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the unique family room with the mezzanine level within the hotel and the quality of food in restaurant.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days at the end of September 2011 (in the late summer sizzler weather). The location is wonderful. Our room (what they call a "Keeper" room) was pleasant, it was small (but I knew it would be from the description), with the en-suite being a small shower and toilet behind a sliding door. The only rather odd thing was that the sink was actually in the bedroom (a vanity-style unit). We were in Room 11 on the top floor - this was rather warm in the unseasonably hot weather, but there was a fan already provided in the bedroom. We were on a dinner, B&B package and ate in the hotel on both nights. The food was delicious, beautifully cooked and presented by excellent waiting staff (unlike the previous reviewer who said they waited 25 mins between courses). Highlights were the pan-seared haunch of venison my husband had, which was the best he had ever eaten and my duck breast was fabulous. The sardine bruschetta with tomato salsa was so good, he had it both nights and the ice creams that accompanied the desserts (banana and burnt orange) were some of the best I have eaten. The grounds are lovely and are a very peaceful place to wind down after a busy day sightseeing in the New Forest. One morning we saw some of the pigs, that are let out this time of year to feast on the (plentiful) acorns, in the surrounding forest by the car park (the actual gardens are fenced off). We did not use the pool (it looked very small). If I had to make one suggestion, it would be a fresh fruit salad or melon at breakfast rather than dried prunes or apricots - the bacon and sausage at breakfast is (again) some of the nicest we have tasted. A really lovely place to stay - if you can afford it, go for a bigger room. Air con in the rooms (it is in the restaurant) would be a nice addition, but in an old building like this I guess it may not be very easy to install.

Room Tip: I booked on the internet - it may be worth ringing the hotel to find out exactly how the room is lai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your break and enjoyed the food in our restaurant.

The pigs you mention come out for 'pannage'. From around the third week in September each year for a couple of months, the famous New Forest ponies, cattle and donkeys are joined by another group of animals – pigs.

Commoners let their pigs loose on the Forest to hoover up fallen acorns which are poisonous to ponies and cattle and can cause internal bleeding and death. The pigs also eat beech mast, crab apples and anything else they can find.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night and wished we had longer. Very comfortable and good size room with large balcony. Food and service was good and the staff very helpful. The room was clean but there were a couple of dirty glasses on the balcony.

Room Tip: Not sure about wheelchair access, but I have mobility problems and the staff were very accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magic-IanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Moorhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a restful stay with us. We apologise for the dirty glasses on the balcony, this matter has been addressed with housekeeping. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.6 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
6.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhill House Hotel

Property: Moorhill House Hotel
Address: | Shappen Bottom, Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 4AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Burley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorhill Hotel Ringwood
The Moorhill Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing