We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Area to reload the batteries, great host”
Review of Forest Tea House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Tea House
Ranked #4 of 7 Burley B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Area to reload the batteries, great host”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed 3 nights with my husband and my 2 children at this very nice B&B Teahouse from 16 July until 19 July 2013 and we had a marvelous time. Jane was a great host and we felt so welcome. My children loved her and she drawed with them. The rooms are very bright and clean. We had a nice view. Also the breakfast was delicous. From the B&B you can reach Burely in a few minutes and you can also start very nice walking and hiking trips from there. Burley is a beautiful little village. This place is also a great starting point for trips to Portmorth and Isle of Wight. Do not take the car to Isle of Wight. The streets are very narrow and the public transportations are very good. The most exciting experience was meeting the New Forest ponies. You can meet them everywhere e.g. infront of the B&B, on the street, infront of a shop, waiting for a bus, etc. They are very friendly. We will definately come again because this area is great. Just time to relax and "reload the batteries". Thank you Jane

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
912Jane, Owner at Forest Tea House, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to do such an informative review. I am so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Forest Tea House B & B and had a wonderful time exploring The New Forest and IOW. The photographs of the ponies outside are wonderful. Thank you for staying with me and hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    32
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The bed mattress was like sleeping on a water bed it had sunk, springs exposed and well bedded in. Bed needed re fixing together creaked every turn or move. noisy cockerels from 2.30am non stop. Had room above the boiler very noisy like a running car noise again from early hours non stop. bathroom plumbing is saniflo flow very noisy. only got 3 hours sleep.
Not value for money for condition of facility's.

Room Tip: Not room 2 above the Boiler and in the back wild Birds noisy all night. beds not very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 92Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
912Jane, Owner at Forest Tea House, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and sorry you had a bad nights sleep. I have just tested the bed the base does indeed creek if you wiggle around a lot but the mattress is so comfortable, I purchased it 6 months ago and it is a special memory foam no turn mattress. The dawn chorus frenzy is triggered off by Hector the cockerel, followed by the peahens, woodpecker and so many other birds. The plumbing system in that room is very efficient but does make a noise when used I am assured by my plumber this is normal. Once again I am very sorry you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

OMG !!! What a beautiful welcoming stay !! From the moment I booked our room, which was a few hours earlier, decided to stay on an off chance! We had the most warm delightful welcome, we have stayed in b&b's on numerous occasions, and this is by far the best in Dorset. Our room was clean, warm and inviting, tea making facilities, the bed was out of this world to sleep in! The breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The brouchure in our room was excellent with all local things to do, phone number and places of interest. Just excellent !! Would definitely recommend and would stay there again and again.... An added bonus was to hear the owls outside at night, and to wake up to new Forrest ponies outside your window in the morning. Cannot praise enough !!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisorough Green
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Forest Tea House earlier this month. There were two things which made our short break special:

First and foremost, our host Jane. She made us both (and our dogs) feel extremely welcome. A lovely, lovely lady!

Second is Burley itself. In my view, the jewel in the New Forest. Great location for cycling, walking or, in my case, running. The horses certainly own the village.

We stayed in the bungalow next door to the main B&B which is ideal if you are bringing your dogs. Despite a wobbly table, overall it was a comfortable room. A nice breakfast awaited us the next morning. A great little place for a dog friendly short-break. I would certainly recommend Forest Tea House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at Forest Tea House for one night, the only downside being that it was only for one night! We had a clean and spacious room at the rear, with nice views over the countryside and a comfortable bed. It was only a few minutes walk to the centre of the village, where there are 2 decent pubs, serving good food. Breakfast the following day was excellent and we spent some time chatting with Jane and within a short time it was as though we had known her for years! Unfortunately we had to head home so were unable to take advantage of the various walks and cycling routes close by - hopefully the next time!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 446MikeE446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Thank you so much Jane. We had a really relaxing and wonderful three nights stay with you.
Nothing was too much trouble. The room was just right and the bed very comfortable.
The breakfast is probably the best we have ever had, even in the best Hotels.
There is so much to see in the area so will be back again next year .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at Forest Tea House B&B for 2 nights last week and had a lovely time, the room was very clean and homely and Jane was wonderful and could not do enough for us.
Lovely location 2 minutes stroll to the village of Burley, where the cycle hire was very good and Jane even got us 10% discount for mentioning we were staying at her B&B.
Jane's breakfast was excellent and tailor made to our needs, no lunch was required on our first day as we had Full English which lasted until dinnertime!
I would definitely recommend this lovely B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
686 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White Buck - Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cider Cottages
Cider Cottages
#2 of 2 in Burley
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Tea House

Property: Forest Tea House
Address: Forest Cottage Pound Lane, Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood > Burley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Tea House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Forest Tea House Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing