We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B+B”
Review of Wayside Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wayside Cottage
Ranked #2 of 7 Burley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a lovely Easter weekend at Wayside cottage. The owners are very friendly and welcomed us with a tea and a slice of home made cake which, after a long journey, was especially enjoyed. The room we stayed in was beautiful and very comfortable which was reflected throughout the cottage. The breakfast was generous and very tasty, made with local ingredients and included some home made produce which was nice to see.

The cottage is well situated, being within very easy walking distance of Burley village centre but on a very quiet little road so there is no traffic noise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Wayside Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 179 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April with my elderly Mum for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in the village. We had a very friendly greeting from both owners and dogs and on our arrival, were invited in to the guest lounge where we were given fresh tea, coffee and cake. Our room was lovely with a window overlooking the garden and the beds were very comfy. Tea making facilities in the room as well as a tv/dvd combo. They have a selection of dvds in the lounge to use. Breakfast was tasty with a good range and we were stuffed afterwards. John and Janet were very helpful with any queries we had and offered us torches to navigate the only downside of the potholed lane that the B&B is on. Everywhere was spotless and we could not fault the service. Best place to stay in Burley.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank blett25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at Wayside Cottage over the Easter weekend and already missing it! The hosts were lovely, we LOVED the dogs who were very friendly, our room was really nice and the breakfasts were delicious. When we arrived we were offered tea and cake in the courtyard garden which was really welcoming. I was really impressed with the homemade bread, jams and even honey from their own bees! It's a five minute walk from town so really convenient, and is also very close to the cider farm. We would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Have just enjoyed a lovely few days at this beautiful B&B. Janet & John, were very welcoming -we were treated to tea and cake on arrival. Can't understand the 1 bad review - the rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and have tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of additional extras in the bathroom. The breakfasts were of a very good standard with locally sourced, good quality ingredients and a good and varied selection. The home made jams, marmalade and honey were delicious as was the home made bread. For us, the 2 dogs made the place feel very homely. Our room was at the back (room 1) and therefore beautifully peaceful but I can understand that the rooms at the front might be a little noisy if other guests are inconsiderate when coming in late I.e noise of car tyres and feet walking on gravel. All in all a great place to stay -would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatrinaC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in March 2014 for two nights. The hosts are very welcoming, the breakfasts are amazing and our room was very comfortable. Would gladly recommend to anyone. Be aware that there are some friendly dogs that are often around.

Room Tip: Our room was out the front and was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable but the shower could ha...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited the New Forest area in November (2013) and stayed at the Wayside for 2 nights with a view to visiting friends and family in the locality. This was an ideal stay. Excellent, comfortable room with nice outlooks to the front of the building. The hosts were very receptive (including the dogs!) and were very obliging in providing a welcoming pot of tea with the most delicious Dorset Apple cake to accompany it. The breakfasts were outstanding, with home produced jams and honey aplenty along with a very full range of cooked menu options. We would recommend the Wayside as an ideal stayover for the New Forest area, but with one small proviso - the road in to the cottage is unmade and in November, in the dark, this required a little bit of care to preserve the body work on the car. Some of the holes were big! However, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brewer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed here for a long weekend and it was absolutely lovely! we booked in for 2 nights and enjoyed it so much we stayed for 3 and took an extra day off of work. the host were very nice and made you feel very welcome. the breakfast was lovely and good quality! rooms were clean and warm. we recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.4 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
702 reviews
6.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The White Buck - Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Burley Inn Hotel
The Burley Inn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Burley
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cottage

Address: 27 Garden Road, Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Price Range: $127 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wayside Cottage, a wysteria-covered Edwardian cottage in the New Forest village of Burley, where Ponies, Donkeys and even Cattle wander down the streets, and the loudest sound is the bird song in the trees. Janet and John West have created the perfect haven for a relaxing weekend, or a longer stay. There are six rooms to let on a Bed and Breakfast basis, all rooms are ensuite with either a showerroom or bathroom. There are pretty gardens to sit in and a guest lounge for evenings or bad weather. Cycling, walking and horse riding opportunities are within 5 minutes walk. The village has several Pubs and Hotels, shops and all the usual amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wayside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Cottage Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing