We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't rely on it being open!”

The Horse and Groom
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Woodgreen
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pub/Bar
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't rely on it being open!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our first experience of the Horse and Groom was not great. After a days walking, we thought we'd stop off at the nearby Horse & Groom for a pint. The lights were on and we could hear music playing in the bar, however, despite the sign on the door clearly stating their opening times, it was all locked up.

We asked a local if they knew what was going on and they said that they had heard of this happening on at least one other occasion and some else said that they once went there at 8.30pm to eat only to be told that the chef had been sent home because they were quiet.

We did eventually eat there and the food was above average for the money and the beer was good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet_southorn, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Whether a good or a bad review, we treat each review as a gift. It enables us to look at ourself from others perspectives. As you say, Sundays are a busy time for us so I'm glad you meal arrived without delay. We try to cater for most appetites, offering 3 portion sizes for Sunday roasts, priced accordingly. £9.95 standard, £8.45 for smaller appetite and £6.95 for children. It is possibly that when extremely busy you were given the wrong size meal by mistake, but we will gladly rectify any such mistake if we are aware. Waiting staff usually remember to invite customers to request extra portions if they desire, but it appears that they were remiss on this occasion. We can now reiterate the importance of this to our staff. We understand your frustration at ordering food at the Food Counter and drinks at the bar, but we adopted this procedure in response to customers comments that they were being kept waiting at the Food counter by customers who had ordered their food and were then ordering drinks. Your review has been valuable to us, and we do hope you return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    10
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small but good location”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed about 10mins walking distance up the road. Went for lunch there the 1st day...was hoping it will really good as the weather wasn't that great...
Found the food good/okay. The service was good and helpful.
Its dog friendly which is always a plus for us. The eating area is larger than the pub area...we didnt go back as it was just too small for us.
Lovely pub though!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet_southorn, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it does only take a few moments but reviews are invaluable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great location, classic English Pub”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

About 26 (and five dogs) of us dropped in for lunch having camped at Sandy Balls for the weekend. Our party was 12 adults and 14 children which would have presented some issues to a lot of places. Apart from one fish plate all of the food was well presented and of good quality. We all sat in the garden with the Alpacas and the hostess was perfectly happy that we re-arranged the garden and somewhat took over the place. The food was a bit chips with everything but the company was great, the location was fantastic and all-in-all we would recommend it as worth a detour.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fender1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet_southorn, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I'm only just getting used to using this website, so excuse the delay in responding to your review. We are delighted that you and your party had an enjoyable experience with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know, it 's a great morale booster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Village Inn”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Excellent food, large portions and very reasonable prices. We were staying in the village on a walking holiday and having such a good local pub made the holiday even more enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggienmal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet_southorn, Owner at The Horse and Groom, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Great, thanks for that review, we hope you come again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse and Groom also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Odstock, Salisbury
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing