We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellant B&B for the wildlife lover. Treated as part of the family.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Acorns Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodgreen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Acorns Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Woodgreen B&B and Inns
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellant B&B for the wildlife lover. Treated as part of the family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Hidden away along a small track, this was one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. We had a wonderful reception from the owner Chris. The room was clean and comfortable, with a decent sized en-suit. The grounds are amazing. A beautiful rear garden led to a wonderful fairy tail wooded area with dear in the field behind. On the first evening we saw five badgers, one fox and bats on the rear lawn, and three badgers, a fox and bats on the second evening.
Chris and Reg provided a wonderful breakfast.
The local pub provided an excellent evening meal, within walking distance.
On the second day, Chris and Reg even gave us an anniversary card, and this was our first visit to them! It made our anniversary extra special.
We will definitely be back again soon. Although not rated this is definitely a four star property to us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you love nature, you will adore this place. Chris and Reg have a lovely home and garden that attracts so much wildlife. There are numerous bird feeders around the property and Chris also puts out food to entice the badgers for an evening snack. We came back from a lovely meal at the pub down the hill (within walking distance) and waited patiently in the guest lounge to see a badger saunter on to the lawn for his snacks. We also saw a fox, bats (ask Chris to hear the sonar) and a buck in the garden the following morning.

The bungalow is immaculate with lovely cozy rooms and the breakfast certainly sets you up for the day. Little Acorns is in the village of Woodgreen but tucked down a lane so you really feel in the forest. The garden is wonderful with a blue bell wood at the top and you can tell it is a labour of love.

What makes this place extra special though is the warm welcome you receive from Chris and Reg – we felt immediately at home there, they are wonderful hosts and make you feel very comfortable. When we come back to the New Forest, we would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

What a peaceful place to spend an evening. Chris and Reg were lovely hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

My friend and I stayed for just the one night and loved every minute of our stay. The room was extremely clean and had everything you need. Little Acorns has a guest lounge which overlooks the rear garden and it's a great place to meet the other guests and to watch all the wildlife in the garden. There are birdfeeders hanging from every conceivable branch or hook and so as you can imagine, birds absolutely flock to them. On the day we arrived, Chris informed us that there was a deer in the garden and so we sat in the lounge and just watched it's coming and going's. That night, an outside light was put on and some food put down for the wildlife and we got to see more deer and badgers. Just amazing! Breakfast the next morning was substantial and delicious. I love the fact that guests can state the time they'd like to eat breakfast and then you get to share a table with the other guests at one table...it made for some great chatting in the morning. Little Acorns is a really well run and very friendly place to stay...I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: There are three guest rooms. Two doubles and one twin. The twin overlooks the rear garden and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Django987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I can only repeat what others have said. Lovely place, but stunning wildlife just feet away, and Chris and Reg obviously know about and care so much for them, why wouldn't the birds, deer and badgers come? (The hospitality for human visitors is equally good, by the way! )

Room Tip: The twin room at the back is where you stand best chance of getting a late-night badger / deer sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

we stayed at little acorns several times every time is better chris and reg are so welcoming the place is spotless you couldnt ask for better a* for everything worth visiting if you have never been perfect break thanks again

Room Tip: front room great view of wildlife and the horses we been in the back room as well that has excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sean a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

A very lovely place to stay. Immaculately clean and tidy with a very warm and friendly welcome from Chris and Reg. One of the nicest things about Little Acorns is the guest lounge, where you can sit, chat and look over the gardens and just watch a wide variety of birds feeding.

The breakfast was first class.

If you are staying in this area, then you won't find a better place to stay than this and we wouldn't look any further than this lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodgreen
12.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.9 mi away
Dale Farm House
Dale Farm House
#1 of 1 in Dibden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Acorns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Acorns Bed & Breakfast

Property: Little Acorns Bed & Breakfast
Address: Little Acorns Lower Densome Wood, Woodgreen, New Forest National Park Hampshire, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Woodgreen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woodgreen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Acorns Bed and Breakfast is situated in the picturesque hamlet of Woodgreen in The New Forest National Park. Enjoy the peace and tranquility of the 2 acre woodland garden with it's bird and wildlife or simply explore the magic and mysteries of the wonderful ancient New Forest directly from the house. Little Acorns Bed & Breakfast is a relaxed informal forest home, ponies graze outside the gate and birds sing all day long! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Acorns Bed & Breakfast New Forest National Park Hampshire/Woodgreen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing