We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They hate children!”

David Lloyd Hampton
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They hate children!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Horrible experience with children- don't do it! It would be better to simply say the whole club is adults only. As it is, they try to appease the adults who would really prefer no children around by endless notices in the changing rooms marking adult only changing areas, no children in the large, exciting spa area which you have to walk through to get to the swimming pool, where you find two thirds of the pool roped off for swimming lanes which are adults only. My youngest wanted to try to swim a length and even though the lane was empty we were immediately told to get out of it. My children love outdoor swimming but despite the outdoor pool being empty the children were- you guessed it- not allowed in it. (This was bank holiday Monday). My eldest daughter, having recently completed a school project on Nelson Mandela, commented that it was like apartheid for children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    7
    13
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“more of a creche than a health club!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The facilities are great but the spa is more like a creche than a health club. This situation is becoming worse with the adults area getting encroached upon. it is clear that this is where the money is. The changing rooms are a nightmare as kids are usually running around and/or screaming. in My opinion it would be far better if there were separate changing areas for families. The food is poor. My husband and I would definitely move elsewhere if the spa and swimming were not so good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank dikmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“poor”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

it was rubbish the food was poor and i am never going back there again in my entire life ever ever ever agin

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best David Lloyd Club”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a member of DL who travels a lot I have used several DL clubs around the country. This one has the best pool and spa area of the lot. The racquets and golf facilities make this an all-year round option for us too, which cannot be beaten :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Hudson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud Glos UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great health club”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The health suite is really well equipped and a great lace to relax. Good gym and loads of other excellent facilities. I don't think it is quite as up market as it was before David Lloyd tok over, but it is still a top class facility.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackothefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Lloyd Hampton also viewed

 

Been to David Lloyd Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing