We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hurray. The old team is back at The Bell”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Restaurants in Hampton
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hurray. The old team is back at The Bell”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

So pleased to have gone back and seen Kate, Joe and team are making this the best pub around, again.
Food at lunch - light bites - were delicious. Service was great.
We will definitely put this on our regular list again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    66
    29
    34
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“such a shame....”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had been to The Bell a couple of times before and even had a birthday party here, but decided to go here prior to going on holiday, the pub was not busy for a Monday night, ordered our food, starter ok, waited ages for mains so very disappointing we waited ages for peppercorn sauce for 1 of the mains, we had to send 2 main courses back, as cold and looked awful, when they re- appeared looked just as bad,and still no peppercorn sauce! having spoke to the Manageress( as there appeared to be No Manager on site!! ) we accepted the 'free of charge bill,' having decided that we didnt want to wait any longer and also take the chance on the food quality. Its such a shame as it has all the potential of being a good Pub, as bar area is good, like some of the other reports,wont go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lynette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice staff, poor quality food cooked badly. Ive had better mcdonalds than the burt burger and greasy rock hard roast potatoes my girlfriend had wont go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lots of character, warm ambience, good service, nice menu.. And parking”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The menu offers a lot of variety, homemade pie; roast chicken; cod; haddock steaks, lamb burger and a couple of veg options in addition to what I selected which was the Slow cooked lamb shank for Lunch, and I was not disappointed.

The lamb was cooked to perfection and well proportioned, the mash was enjoyable and complimented the lamb. All washed down with a nice pint.

An enjoyable lunch, worth a revisit to try a bit more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russe11Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited this pub a couple of weeks ago and having lived in the area for 10 years should really have been here before. We had a spatchcock chicken and the pork, onion rings and fries. The food was well cooked with the chicken still moist and plenty of well cooked fries. The park was well cooked but the onion rings were a bit of a mix. The Indian spices we good and unusual but the rings were very oily and a bit greasy. Overall pretty good food.

The service was really good, we were greater by a slightly shy waiter who showed us to our table and was very attentive. Our drinks were served quickly as was the bill so all in all a good experience.

This was a good meal which was slightly let down by the onion rings but I would definitely go back as the food was pretty good and the service equally so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildsnoopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing