We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond terrible”

Chaudhry's TKC Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 94 Restaurants in Southall
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Barbecue, Chinese, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It all started on a crisp November morning over 50 years ago when the late AM Chaudhry had a brilliant idea: to make fresh jelabi (crispy batter dipped in hot sugar) outside the Dominion Cinema in King Street, Southall. The home sick, newly arrived bachelors from India and Pakistan, couldn't get enough and soon Mr. Chaudhry purchased an old cobblers shop on Southall Broadway to offer traditional home cooked Punjabi food and sweets. We still operate for the same premises! After more than four decades of hard work Chaudhry's TKC's ethos still remains to offers excellent home cooking at affordable prices without compromising on quality.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beyond terrible”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I can safely say this is the worst food I have ever eaten in a restaurant. Could be because we had the buffet upstairs, but i dont think that should matter. Very poor quality, flavour everything!!! I dont know about the cost etc as it was a private party.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    40
    23
    24
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“yum”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

yummy food,, generous portions. loved the cultural atmosphere ..great location ..a tad pricey but a good place to visit with the family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jo123451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Food, Poorerst Service, Worst Health and Hygiene”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

What a awful day it was when we have decided to celebrate our daughters first birthday in Chaudhry's TKC in Southall. We have booked a table on phone in the afternoon. once we reached there, the person standing on the counter did not have clue about our book. eventually after standing there for 10-15 mins, One person guided us towards a corner table. The table wasn't cleaned and we can see the food spill on the table. after 15 mins someone came and took our order. food was served in no time. but it was tasteless. too salty. when we complained the counter person offered some discount.........

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Altaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over rated living on past reputation”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

came here for dinner one evening food was very standard not very fresh as saw peoples food being heated up in the microwave not the most reassuring sight when your waiting for your food.

when our food arriived was nothing special and fell well below expectations

will not recommend or visit this place in the near future

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank saja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,771 reviews
453 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,119 helpful votes
“Food in Southall”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The restaurant looks like a family run establishment that has been going for five decades and grown over time. It still has the roots of a little place that is rough around the edges and maybe not as polished as more modern restaurants.

The menu has options of traditional Indian food, to grilled and Chinese food. I went for the grilled tandoori, lamb chops, kebabs and it was delicious. The family also enjoyed the eclectic choice. They had a separate sweets counter which we did not go for as we wanted to try a nearby ice cream parlour.

The price is more reflective of the slightly more expensive London prices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaudhry's TKC Restaurant also viewed

Southall, Greater London
Southall, Greater London
 
Southall, Greater London
Southall, Greater London
 

Been to Chaudhry's TKC Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing