We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves one purpose .... cheap”

1130Harvester The Jolly Badger
Ranked #43 of 95 Restaurants in Edgware
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: At The Jolly Badger Harvester in Edgware food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Edgware, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Stanmore, Finchley and Northwood, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

There is no doubt that you can eat here very very cheaply and with a reasonable quality bearing in mind the price AND if choosing from the menu carefully. The trick is the time you arrive to avoid the type of customer described by other reviewers below! One reviewer mentions grandchildren attacking the salad bar and I am afraid some customers and their offspring do just that! Piling their plates so high that spillage on the table and floors is unbelievable and the salad bar quickly descends to a mish-mash of multifarious ingredients. The equally rough Pub across the road is of no help with attracting clientele and recently there has been a line drawn in the sand between Edgware and Mill Hill with Edgware losing out! Beers should are dire keg beers none of which were available in any event on my last visit on a Sunday afternoon; not a good time to use this Harvester I can assure you. If you have a couple of rugrats in tow and need to get them fed you can do a lot worse than this, at the price, providing you can put up with everything else. In support of this view see the number of people who review this badly and yet still return! My advice, in any event, is eat and withdraw quickly or drive past to the Harvester at the top of the A1 which, at least, attracts a better level of customer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WellCooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at 1130Harvester The Jolly Badger, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have replied to you personally as all the feedback we receive helps us to improve our service and we assure you we will pay attention to your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for 1130Harvester The Jolly Badger
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

After previous bad experiences I thought why not give this restaurant benefit of the doubht and try again. BIG HUGE mistake on our part! Yet again, we all experienced problems our steaks were full of gristle eventually having to request another be provided. This request was met with considerably opposition from waitress and another male staff member whom literally after politely requesting it I changed gave me the glad eye. Making me feel most annoyed and uncomfortable. Literally felt like getting up and walking out the door! Despite the fact we have visited so many other Harvesters and always enjoyed the experience and food this Jolly Badger leaves much to be desired. Extremely dissatisfied and disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keekoo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at 1130Harvester The Jolly Badger, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We have replied to you personally following your recent comments left on Trip Advisor. We aim to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Took my mother in law to the Jolly Badger today as I got a voucher for £5 off and usually quite enjoy a Harvester Meal, not the best cuisine but good value. The restaurant was very down market, the service non existent to the point where we just got up and left. We were shown to a long formica table which seated 6, we were a party of 3. Is there some sort of dress code for Harvester restaurants because I am not keen on eating my food viewing men in vests. I won't be going back to this particular location ever again.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Alex4994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at 1130Harvester The Jolly Badger, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Popped in for lunch on Friday , as we walked through the door we were greeted by the sight of a middle aged customer supping a pint in a 'Wife Beater' vest and a pair of baggy jogging bottoms, which judging by his bulk had never been jogged in. Then it went downhill. We were shown to a table through what can only be described as a 'fog' of charcoal grill smoke and a very strong smokey odour. The 3 of us were shown to a table by a young man who sprinted away like Usain Bolt on speed before we could even utter 'can we order some drinks'. We then watched a waitress clean and re-lay a table near us, whilst simultaneously blanking us and ignoring our cries of 'excuse me'. We were then ignored by an Irishman with jet black hair, I only know he was Irish as he he asked a couple who were hastily exiting if they enjoyed their meals. The table next to us was occupied by a couple of workmen in really filthy work gear. I looked around the place, as much as I could through the smokey haze and was unsure if we had walked into a downmarket 'workman's cafe'. All of the three staff that we had seen were still doing their level best to ignore us, so we decided to vote with our feet and leave. I have vowed never, ever to return, it was worse than awful. I will give it one star simply for the fact that the car park has a decent Tarmacadam surface that you can wheelspin out of as you make your way to a far better restaurant, we went and spent our collective £58 elsewhere for our lunch. Avoid!!

Thank Phoebe739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at 1130Harvester The Jolly Badger, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place has insufficient extraction on the kitchen so the place is thick with smoke, it's been like this for years..absolutely awful to eat in, our eyes end up streaming, clothes stink n no windows to open for ventilation.
The coffee machine hadn't been working for five weeks so no proper coffee or hot chocolate.
Jacket potato like been cooked for a week as was the bread rolls n peas..watch out for your teeth! Items often missing from salad bar.
Have to wait half hour for just a drink of water even though not busy.
Live local so have used frequently, each time anticipating better yet always as bad don't understand how they have any customers. Very poor management

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank schlumpf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at 1130Harvester The Jolly Badger, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1130Harvester The Jolly Badger also viewed

Edgware, Greater London
 

Been to 1130Harvester The Jolly Badger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing