We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening!”
Review of Swan & Bottle

Swan & Bottle
Ranked #10 of 149 Restaurants in Uxbridge
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: UB8 1ZL. Its a Chef & Brewer chain food pub
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant for my mothers birthday. We hadn't booked a table, but the girl who met us made sure we had a comfortable table for us all. The food was excellent, served at just the right speed (not at all rushed but at a comfortable pace to enjoy ourselves and our company). The girl who served us was very friendly, and always available for us to replenish our drinks as we needed. The team worked really well together, and seemed a very happy team. The lady in charge was also excellent, a great host and made sure we were all enjoying ourselves and had everything we needed.

The restaurant was very busy the whole time we were there, but everything seemed under control at all times and the team were enjoying looking after the many people that were dining there.

This restaurant deserves to do very well, and by the number of people in there it looks like it is. We shall definitely be returning, and look forward to it. Hospitality at its finest!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 352 of 385 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

3 of us visited this restaurant yesterday. Had to ask for table to be cleaned - although place was not busy. Had to ask about the 2 steaks/wine meal as it was not advertised in the venue. Mother in law ordered sirloin steak. Meal deal and wine when it eventually arrived was stone cold and Mother in law's steak inedible, mainly gristle and fat, for which she demanded a refund. No one came to ask if food was satisfactory. We have an excellent Chef and Brewer close to where we live in Northampton so expected a similar standard. Staff look demoralised and would suggest a change of leadership as there must be good reason why other restaurants in Ruislip are are full to overflowing whilst The Swan and Bottle is almost empty on a Saturday lunchtime. Will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Swan & Bottle, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Maureen S,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the food you have received at the Swan & Bottle. I have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely pub, nice position by the canal. Waiter worked hard but was let down by luke warm food and incorrect timing. A shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulvnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Swan & Bottle, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear paulvnurse,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the service you received at the Grange. I have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A group of about 14 of us ...table booked. Food acceptable. Those who had ordered "starters" were served within about 40-45 minutes. Some only ordered main courses and all main courses took about one-and-a-half hours to arrive. Considerable annoyance and complaints to staff regarding appallingly slow service and won't be using this restaurant again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bymiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Swan & Bottle, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Bymiddlesex,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for the speed of service you have received at the Swan & Bottle. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

First time I have been to this pub/restaurant. we went there for our xmas meal, and i was impressed with the food.

Being a vegetarian, the xmas option is always disappointing, but I was impressed with what I had.

I would come back to this pub/restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan & Bottle also viewed

Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
Uxbridge, Greater London
 

Been to Swan & Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing