We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem of a Restaurant”
Review of Martins Place

Martins Place
Ranked #4 of 142 Restaurants in Uxbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Best fillet steak at good value
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I can't believe the last review !! We've been coming to Martin's Place for a number of years now on a regular basis. It is without doubt one of the best restaurants Pat and I have ever been to. Not a big restaurant but cosy and intimate and when it comes to Martin's cooking coupled with the friendliness of the staff (Charlotte in particular) you just will NOT find a better place to eat- his Fillet au Poivre is the best ever.The ambience is welcoming and you usually end up getting to know other diners. From my experience most of the customers are regulars which says just about everything you need to know about a restaurant. Please don't change a thing Martin.
Jim and Pat Ruislip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandPatofRuislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    28
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My dining companion and I have wanted to try Martins Place for ages and so seized an opportunity a couple of days ago....well!! we were quite shocked after reading all the marvellous reviews I have to say !
It was like eating frozen food from Iceland ..the shop not the country !
Frozen veg ,frozen chips, sauces that seemed to have come from a jar and sinewy steak !A weird watery weak sauce on calves liver and lack of garlic on garlic mushrooms.
Redeeming moments ..very good house wine recommended by Martin ... not sure if he has a super dry sense of humour or is just surly ? And I would have to give full marks for the lemon mousse..To be fair Martin didnt charge for the shoe leather steak but he clearly couldn't wait for us to leave ..the bill was presented before we had requested it!
It could certainly do with a spruce up ...cobwebs in corners are not conducive to me having confidence in the overall hygeine... we really were quite shocked at how dire it was ..like having lunch in a badly catered old peoples home ! Wont be going there again Im afraid!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank lilyf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“hallo hallo”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

the english policeman in hallo hallo thats martin good chef good host food always good and hot.My wife and I have been going to Martins since 97, and if we can get in, go once a month, but now have too book, two weeks in advance such is the power of Trip adviser. Go if you can its well worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank meganash11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best food ever tasted”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The best food and very very reasonable price.
The best chef,Martin is charming.
The service is super over all.
Highly recommended.
Small but lovely restaurant
and very romantic settings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessiemalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good night out”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Took ages to book, but worth the wait, food was excellent as was the ambience and the humour coming from the kitchen. Trying to book again but busy for some time, but I'll wait it's worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martins Place also viewed

Uxbridge, Greater London
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
 

Been to Martins Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing