We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its closed - don't bother going”
Review of El Encuentro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Encuentro
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
harefield
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Its closed - don't bother going”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good news - its now Stobys Fish and Grill. Best fish/chips for simply miles, well at least until their other place in Burnham. Bad news - no tapas!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank byeckmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a shame, very disappointed!”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I visited the restaurant a couple of weeks ago and were really looking forward to it. From first impressions we loved the way you could choose from either full meals or tapas. We decided to order tapas as a starter followed by a main. I had sardines and they were delicious however my hubby ordered the mussels. The mussels were either off, old or had just been in the freezer too long. The restaurant boasts fresh food but these were definately not. We sent them back and to be fair they did offer to replace them with something else but we declined the offer. The waitress was lovely and very apologetic and said she would remove them off the cost of the bill. We then waited for the main "paella". When the paella arrived we could see that the same mussels had been used as a garnish on the top and removed them. We could see that the ones in the paella itself were fine and were not the same ones so we tucked in. As I cut into the chicken I found that it was not cooked through and it was raw,pickness and blood were very visible. We showed this to the waitress asked for the bill and asked for this to be removed from the bill as well. She asked us to wait a bit longer while she showed the chef. When she came back again she said sorry and said that we would not have to pay for anything we had had. Bearing in mind the waitress was rushed and the restaurant was understaffed (been there 2 hours) I would not recommend this restaurant. The people sat on the table next to us said they had been there on numerous occasions and never had issues but even they could not believe what they had seen. In the end we left very disappointed and still hungry.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cremins10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas restaurant. Love the food!”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The is one of the best tapas restaurant I have been to. The food is excellent, the fish is fresh and really good, the portion they serve is really good and the price is in line with what they give you.
The service is great and the staff is really nice.
I will recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves tapas and who want to have some great choice of food for a reasonnable price.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandylachabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Our Sunday was not going according to plan and four of us needed to find a a plan B! As a part time resident of marbella we were attracted by the sign "Tapas and Restaurant". What a delight, genuinely friendly staff, an interesting menu with a wide choice including genuine tapas. and main dishes. This turned into a wonderful evening out. Great food, great value wine and excellent food what more could you ask. We would thoroughly recommend this place. you can come here for a drink and Tapas, just like the Spanish would, for £10 each or spend £25 per head on a full 3 course meal with wine - fantastic value.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarymarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Encuentro also viewed

Uxbridge, Greater London
Cowley, Uxbridge
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing