We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was fantastic and they where very welcoming .”
other travelers have booked this property
Dog and child friendly decking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dog and child friendly decking area
Thank you to everyone who's left their feedback living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
161 reviews
Dog and child friendly decking area
Thank you to everyone who's left their feedback
living room
Multi fuel stove. Logs supplied
kitchen/dinner
double room with en-suite
twin room with en-suite
hall/entrance
our private hot tub
Winter Wonderland
Our private hot tub
Plenty of parking space for car, boat or jet-ski
Rear lawn and storage shed
Indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room (passes required)
Gym (passes required)
Out-door cinema
Splash park
Aqua Park
Fly-boarding on jet-ski lake (have a go)
17lb carp caught Duck Lake
Donna Nook seals
Floor plan
How to get to Shoveler
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tattershall, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 161 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew V
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was fantastic and they where very welcoming .”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed at tattersall in October and we had a fantastic time .
The log cabin that we had was shovlerlodge and we where made very welcome we have been there three years running and we are looking forward to returning next year.
We had our daughter with us to and there was so much things to do in the cabin and also at the club house it was fantastic the people that own the cabin were really nice they made us feel welcome and everything was showed to us and also they where very polite and also allowed us to use there fertility if we needed it and also we are fisherman and they also let us use there garage so we could store. Thank you Stacey Andy Bethany .x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tube and the help fulness and also the lengths that they did for my disability .
Liked least: That we had to go home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lellis198...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a weekend in the log cabin, for my partners birthday. Couldn't ask for a more relaxing and cosy place to visit! Like home from home!! The cabin is clean, warm and so homely. The underfloor heating was heavenly!! Everything we could have asked for was provided. The hot tub was just amazing in which we enjoyed a lovely glass of wine to celebrate my partners birthday, generously given by the owner Gary- so helpful and friendly!! Was always at hand if needed (which wasnt much as everything was clearly explained when we arrived!) Gary was full of info about the area ie where to eat, visit etc! So overall we had a perfect weekend and couldnt have wished for a better one!! We will definately return and highly recommend this log cabin!! Aaron & Louise

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecivika
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could do with a bit of work, not bad but will not return”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Once a year myself and my partner stay for a long weekend in a log cabin. We were a bit gutted that the site was more like a Haven site, however, as it was the end of season it was quite.
The lodge was nice but looked quite tatty due to the furnishings. For example, the bedding didn't match the curtains, the sofas didn't match, it just looked like it was furnished with spare furnishings from their house.
There were a few bits and bobs that were annoying such as the washing machine was broken, didn't report it at the time as it was our last night. The patio blinds were broken and tatty, and we were told on the day of arrival that we could not go out and leave the dog unless we had a cage for her, which we didn't have. I thought that this should be something that is highlighted on the website?
We were also suprised that towels were not provided ( this is mentioned on the website, but I missed it) we have stayed at 8 different lodges across the country and this was the only one that didn't provide towels (not nice drip drying in the winter)
There was also a problem with the bathroom radiator and the bathroom was freezing. I also think the privacy of the hot tub was not very good and some additional trellis would stop people staring in as the walk past.
Finally, the TV in the main room is smaller than a computer screen and I think this needs to. Be swapped with the slightly bigger TV in the twin room.
All the owner kept going on about on the first day when he showed us about, was the cost of electric and saving money etc etc and I think his scrimping and scraping has had a negative result on what could be a perfect lodge. fixing these minor problems could make an average review into an excellent review, without much cost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The location of the hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2013
It's a pity that this customer didn't raise these issues with us directly rather than through this media as they could have been easily resolved or explained.
Dogs are welcome, but in common with most private property owners, we ask that they are not left unattended for obvious reasons. Guest are reminded to make sure that the hot tub lid is replaced after use, not only to retain heat for subsequent use but for environmental reasons, it's not about saving money. The hot tub is in the only postion available and further screening would limit the light and views for the living room. We have a free standing privacy screen available for guests, if they ask. Since the faulty items have been brought to our attention they have been replaced or repaired. We would gladly have supplied towels if we'd been told that they hadn't brought any.
As you can see from our other feedback we do our best to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay and would have done so on this occasion, if we had been given the opportunity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigapple8
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Wicked Weekend.....!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Shoveler Lodge, I rarely go back to anywhere for a 2nd time, but this lodge is so warm, cosy and welcoming I couldnt wait to go back! The weather was miserable, what can I say, perfect weather for what we wanted, as we are all usually on the go, we wanted something that said "stop, sit down and just relax" and this is exactly what we did...!

The lodge is so clean and warm, with every single thing you would want, you open drawers and there is cards and dominoes, you open the cupboard and its full of games, you sit back and relax and sky tv is on hand, there is dvds, cds, you name it they have put it all there.....so whether your on your own, in a family or a couple, this lodge has something for everyone....

We met Gary for the first time on this trip, what a hilarious character he is, he started our weekend off with us all laughing hysterically, he showed us what we would need to know and it was nice being greeted by him :)

We kicked back and opened the wine, with the hot tub on the go, I couldnt imagine wanting to be anywhere else, you have the ducks greeting you in the morning outside, as they seem to know we would be soft spots and give in by handing them our breakfast bread, but the kids that came along loved it!

We sat in the hot tub with the sound of peace and quiet last night in the rain, this is something everyone should try, last time we went it snowed and again its an experience in itself, in fact we had that much fun we sat in it for 3 hours.....

There is plenty to do on site, although we mainly go for the relaxation.....

We got soaked at the Jet Ski Lake on the Ringo ride, We went to a car boot on the site on Sunday morning, we went in the sauna, we went in the arcades, we had gorgeous food at Tattershall Park, we lazied around and watched the entire box set of Psycho, wine, beer, games, laughing, over eating of snacks and junk food every single thing we wanted to get away to do :)

I had the best nights sleep I have had in a long time after all the relaxing, the beds are so comfy, I love the fact the lodge even has snuggle blankets on each bed, and found we all over used them....both times I have been here, I have found the lodge has such a welcoming feel that you actually do feel more than at home, I know 100% I will re-book this, this month, and will most definatley book twice for next year as I now look forward to my escape weekends here....this time next year I will be calling it my 2nd home!

Thank you for having us Shoveler Lodge, we cant wait to see you after Christmas :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Log Cabin is absolutely gorgeous!!!!
Liked least: Nothing I didnt want to leave....!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie4664
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chill axing”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Greeted by Gary and was shown around the lodge.the lodge was lovely and clean.it was nice to have ensuites with both bedrooms.there was loads of storage for your clothes too.the kitchen was nice and spacious all utensils you needed. just bring your food.nice large television instead of looking at a tesco till screen.gary even provided DVDs,books,and takeaway menus.games and jigsaws.billy the dog had treats and a bowl provided.he says thank you.top off the bill is the hot tub.that makes the holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: No wi fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lillyvnic
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“sleepy!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

had a lovely stay here, such a homely lodge, in lovely surroundings. the lodge is very well equipped with everything you need, including tea, coffee etc, all you need are bath towels. greeted by gary whos a great guy, very welcoming, and always on hand to help. All rooms were spotlessly clean on arrival, and very comfortable. location great too, very relaxing, exactly what we needed. hot tub is fab, loved it!! its also cleaned daily by gary which we liked. we visited shoveler for a relaxing weekend away, and thats exactly what we got, great place and will definiteley be returning, thankyou to gary and chris for making our stay so good, and thanks for the wine, lots of lovely touches that make a holiday the best :) hope to see you soon, kirsty and kev (chef!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best lodge w/hot tub we have ever stayed in!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect in every way. From arrival the owner kindly showed us around and how to work everything, he couldn't have been more helpful also providing us with a complimentary bottle of wine - which was an extra touch of class. Lodge is superb and the hot tub is the cleanest and best we have ever been in. It is cleaned daily by the owner which makes such a difference - really well maintained. Cosy, warm rooms and comfortable beds all with very clean sheets, bathroom modern and clean, kitchen facilities good - cannot fault this at all.
Although the lodge is part of the site it is secluded and relatively private. Location is great and is nearby to lots of hotspots such as Gibraltar Point, Skegness and Lincoln. An hours drive from the lodge is Hibaldstow Airfield where I completed a 15,000ft skydive for my 30th birthday which is highly recommended. Jet skiing on the site is great fun in the sun too.
All in all a fabulous week we will definitely be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing