We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time Glamping”

Tattershall Lakes Country Park
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in Tattershall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just come back from a great weekend glamping here, in a bell tent with 3 friends. Not too much room with the sofa bed out, but the tent had everything we needed and was comfortable for3 nights. The staff were very friendly and security very helpful, even dropping our breakfast pack off at 1am......! Full breakfast provided and much appreciated, although a little difficult to cook in the small kitchen.

2  Thank Gill2K_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Tattershall Lakes Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Great little review Gill that also carries a 5 star rating! I'm always happy to hear about our friendly staff and was especially please you got your breakfast delivered to your tent, even if it was 1am

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"log cabin"
in 13 reviews
"jet ski"
in 15 reviews
"fishing lake"
in 8 reviews
"hot tub"
in 23 reviews
"evening entertainment"
in 7 reviews
"outdoor cinema"
in 6 reviews
"raf coningsby"
in 16 reviews
"shop on site"
in 8 reviews
"water skiing"
in 8 reviews
"lovely site"
in 8 reviews
"weekend break"
in 7 reviews
"private fishing"
in 4 reviews
"swimming pool is"
in 6 reviews
"lovely break"
in 4 reviews
"sun holiday"
in 4 reviews
"welcome pack"
in 5 reviews
"washing up liquid"
in 4 reviews
Filter

326 - 330 of 376 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed here with our caravan several times over the past few years, but have not returned since a bad experience a couple of years ago concerning overcrowding & poor facilities. We have recently had 2 weekends here (12-14 July for Rock the Lakes, and 19-21 July for a friends 60th birthday). Sadly things have not improved.

For Rock the Lakes weekend we were crammed in like sardines - we actually had 3 units on 2 pitches (& we only knew one of the other occupiers!). In fairness, the entertainment was great & there was definitely a good festivale feel, so we let the overcrowding issue go (and assumed that, at £27 for 2 nights, the price had been reduced accordingly).

However on our return the following weekend, things had not improved. We were still crammed in (although not to the same extent). Had units surrounding our group not left early on the Sunday, our friends would not have been able to get out until the rest of our group moved. We saw no security for the whole weekend, and noise levels went on until well after midnight everynight - plus construction workers then arrived at 730am & started moving heavy machinery around! And we got charged just under £60 for 2 nights!

On both weekends the toilet and showers facilities were shocking. By Friday pm the main block was in a disgusting state and didn't appear to be cleaned all weekend. There is a woeful lack of facilties for the number of units they cram onto the site. My husband nearly threw up when he went to the elsan point to empty our loo - it was so filthy he couldn't breath properly & was a definite health hazard. And there was only 1 of them for the whole site!

We have given this site the benefit of the doubt & returned twice recently after an absence of 2 years. We will not be returning again and will not be recommending it to anybody. We have stayed on other sites where facilities have been well below par - but at least these didn't charge extortionate prices and didn't advertise their facilities as being modern, clean etc (i.e. we knew what to expect). Tattershall Lakes has a lot of work to do to make this worth the amount that they are charging.

Thank shazhopson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Tattershall Lakes Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

I am sorry that you were disappointed when you re-visited the park and the Tenting & Touring Manager has asked that you write to me direct so that I can thoroughly investigate the issues you have raised

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had never tried Tattershall lakes before but after looking at the brochure it seemed a promising place for a weekend break... Little did we know!!!! The camping pitches were over crowded with no proper pitches designated. All tents were squashed together with little room for people to spread chairs out and relax, We had concerns that this was a health and safety hazard!!!!. We booked the Woodland Retreat which is describe as Quiet Location. HOWEVER this is really not the case, we were some distance from the club house yet we could still hear the music very cleaner going on until 1am. This keep the little children we brought with us awake.. Then the following morning we were woke by the sound of work machines. Tattershall lakes had workman begin at 7am.... Another negative point was there was not enough toilets/ shower rooms for the amount of people allowed on the site area, the toilets become quickly dirty and were still like that when we left, there was no sign of any maintenance/ cleaning people. The toilet doors were poor, several had locks that didn't work or lights that were out during the evening.

The swimming pool was over crowded and had inadequate changing rooms (5) for the amount of people allowed in the pool. They have a band colour system which once your time was up everyone with that colour dashed to the changing rooms, you were left queuing for a while expecially as there was also other people trying to get changed to go in the pool!!!

Overall we did not have a very good experience at Tattershall Lakes and therefore would not recommend or be returning!!!!!!

Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Tattershall Lakes Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

This is such a shame Kim as the review underneath yours is so positive and you were both tenting & touring at the park at the same time. I must say that there are ample facilities on the park as confirmed by the Environmental Health Officer - of course it may be that you only found one block out of the three that are available to our guests. As you have already advised, it was an extremely busy weekend when you stayed with us and this will impact on toilet paper etc. The toilet seats and locks also tend to suffer due to the volume of guests using the facilities however I'm pleased to advise that as usual our busy Maintenance team have once again attended to these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely site which meets all age groups needs . It has excellent facilities for caravanning and camping with a club house that provides entertainment . When we stayed there was a rock festival . The showers and toilets where modern , clean and well maintained it also as a laundry facilitates
the log cabins are lovely that are permanently there are lovely . The other bonus you are only 25/30 miles away from skeggy etc . Would go again .

Thank wendy6627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Tattershall Lakes Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Great appraisal Wendy, short but to the point! I'm sure your comments regarding our facilities will go a long way to reassure guests new to tenting & touring

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My Son and i booked a fishing holiday for four days At the Hoeseasons Caravan park at Tattershall lakes park, We were informed that there were three lakes to fish. When we arrived on the fifth of July, We were informed that only one lake was fishable, this was bad news as we had not been informed, we fished the lake available but we soon found out this lake was full of snag therefore prone to losing tackle. We were lucky to find out that there was a fishery in Tattershall. on which we enjoyed three good days of fishing. We will not book there again.

1  Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Tattershall Lakes Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

I'm not sure who told you that you could only fish on one of our lakes Malcolm as you are most welcome to fish on all 3 as most other fishing enthusiasts do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tattershall Lakes Country Park also viewed

Tattershall, Lincolnshire
Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire
 
Tattershall, Lincolnshire
Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Tattershall Lakes Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing