We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What horrible staff!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market Place Fish & Chip

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Market Place Fish & Chip
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What horrible staff!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have visited this chip shop for years, only because the food is nice. However, the staff, especially the 'woman' who has worked there for years, is probably the most miserable, hateful, unwelcoming person that I have ever had the misfortune to come across. The rest of the staff come a close second in terms of appalling customer service. I will never go there again - as they make you feel like you are asking for the world - i only wanted a fish!!!!!I can't believe the owner still employs such horrible staff!! Obviously he doesn't care as long as people keep buying the fish and chips!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barton29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovly food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been a regular customer for years but as im a quite person iv never realy spoken much to the staff they havent generaly greeted me well just whos next.. thats it no good buy or thankyou ect . The grey haird man frying is quite rude at times to the staff and customers. My last few visits have been very nice there seems to be a new younger girl working there whos always very polite to me greets with a smile chats to customers nice to see a smile in the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food is good but staff are rude!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We always come here for our fish & chips and can't really knock the food but wouldn't say it's the best in the country! Although the food is nice, the staff always seem so rude, so bored and so unenthusiastic. This would automatically put your experience at this chippy on a downer. The last time we went in (and haven't been since) we were the first in line as they opened, we stood inside the shop for 10 minutes before any member of staff even spoke to us or even said hello. The man who cooks the fish at the back eventually shouted over to us - 'what do you want' just a bit rude! I asked him for a battered pineapple for my mum and he bit my head off and shouted at me asking why I hadn't asked for that as soon as I walked in as they take a while to cook. Maybe if he had taken the time to acknowledge his customers I would of felt more comfortable shouting over to him to ask!! I think they all just need to learn some manors and learn how to smile - then perhaps it could become close the being one of the best chippies!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barton-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“service without a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

the food was very good but the only thing that spoilt it was the miserable old women that was serving when we entered the shop would have killed her to smile or say hallo apparently it would have done because she didn't do either of these things. She said that they had no fish left and just as we where walking out a guy at the back of the shop asked us how many fish we wanted the look old the old women's face when he said this was absolutely horrified that she was having to work later and then as we waited for the order we could tell that she was slagging us off to another staff member. but we had the last laugh when she was forced to work even longer when a women came in and ask for 7 sausage and chips her face at this was so funny :) a suggestion would be to have a word about her attitude towards customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“best chip shop ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

best chip shop ever, great value and choice and very large portion sizes would recommend to all visitors

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Place Fish & Chip also viewed

Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Market Place Fish & Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing