We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Stables Restaurant - CLOSED

Stables Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Here at Stables we produce good quality food, using a variety of local suppliers who have they're own individual expertise in food etc. We have a dedicated team of staff whose number one goal is to make sure every customer leaves the restaurant with a smile. Visit us and find out for yourselves.
North Linolnshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have visited The Stables for lunch and dinner many many times over the last few years and it was our choice for family get together's but sadly no more.....

I have to say the one thing which always let The Stables down in our opinion was service. Staff just seeming not quite focussed or that bothered but the food had always made up for that, until our last visit.

As a group of 6 we ensured we had made our reservation in plenty of time to be accommodated on a Saturday night, I think we booked about 2 weeks in advance.
On our arrival we were pointed up the stairs to the 'function room' where another family were already eating and had taken over most of the space with young children racing around the dance floor area,
We felt a little like we were invading their space.
Our table was perched right inside the doorway at the top of the stairs, with no decent lighting and barely any space to move.

When our drinks order was finally taken (after we'd been seated over 20mins and had to go downstairs to ask for drinks at the main bar) we were then handed menus. Specials were scrawled on a mirror above the other group's table (way across the other side of the room) and were barely legible. It was also impossible to read this without giving the impression we were staring at the other table.
We gave up and looked at the main menu. This had altered from our last visit with some favourites removed. One of our group decided to walk across to look at what was written on the mirror in the way of 'specials' apologising to the other group for having to stand over them to see the mirror. He then relayed to us the choices.

A member of staff returned to take our order and as we started putting in our requests we were informed some of our choices were sold out. So having waited almost 40 mins to order we find there are items not available. How about telling customers this as you give them the menu?
2 of our party ordered one of the specials, a venison cottage pie, only to be told abruptly and with a roll of the eyes that its only available on a 'set' menu which isnt on this night.
We pointed out the mirror with specials on to the staff member who huffed that 'no on tells her anything' and walked off with the order, not even noticing that by now we have several empty glasses on the table and maybe, perhaps, would like some drinks.....

Food... when it came....was nowhere near the standard which we had experienced here and which made the terrible service tolerable in the past.
My stroganoff was tough and had about 4 pieces of beef in it. But worst was the venison cottage pie. You'd have thought it was cooked in 2 different kitchens, both were heated to a temp impossible to eat and one was thick with lots of meat whilst the other was watery with barely any meat.
No one asked how the meal was so when we managed to stop someone and ask for drinks we mentioned the difference in these dishes. The waiter said it was because theyre homemade?!?!?!? and walked off.
So one dish is all watery gravy and barely any meat and the other is thick gravy and packed with meat and its because they're 'homemade'?!?! He then returned with a dish of gravy for some unexplained reason! Perhaps runny and the potato swimming off in liquid was how they were supposed to be served!

On finishing our meal we asked for the bill, told the waiter again it was not the best experience we'd had there and were again given an excuse, its really busy and we have a newish chef!!

After waiting another 20 mins and STILL no sign of the bill we got up and walked downstairs and asked to just pay at the bar.

Staff training is SO important, uninterested staff give an impression that there are no standards and that customers don't matter.
When I worked in the hotel industry my staff were thoroughly briefed on menu options, kept customers informed and were attentive to detail. They used their initiative to look for empty glasses and take drinks orders, to act on comments regarding food and to ensure customers were comfortable.

Sadly we never expected great service here but now the food isnt good enough to keep us coming back either

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank moowliscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stables R, Manager at Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
I do extend my most humble apologies to our reviewer, who by all accounts had a very bad evening with us back in May. It does appear that there have been a catalogue of errors on this occasion, and all of the issues that have been raised have been discussed with all of our staff so that we can hopefully avoid these kind of situations in the future.

As far as the specials board is concerned, I have made sure that the specials are now updated promptly and either displayed more prominently or relayed to the guests at the table if there is any difficulty with them being able to view the board. We do also like to update our main menu once every 2 or 3 months so that it stays fresh, and unfortunately we do lose some popular dishes on these occasions, but we always hope we are introducing new favourites as well.

The comments in regards to the food itself have been passed onto our head chef, and any necessary adjustments will be made.

I do agree that staff is training is a vital element and will be making sure to focus on this on a continual basis.

It is always upsetting to hear that we have failed on such a grand scale, and we will be doing everything in our power to ensure that this kind of evening is not repeated for any of our guests.

with deepest apologies

Martin Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    44
    29
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DUMFRIES
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Visited here recently for evening dinner and agree with previous review that service was not the best. When queried that order had not been taken after a lengthy period were told kitchen was busy and order would be taken shortly. If this was explained at beginning it would not have looked like nobody was bothering about us. Food was very good and beautifully presented and would recommend a visit.
To be fair staff apologised for delay. Good value for money

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WOLFACHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stables R, Manager at Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your comments, which will be extremely helpful in improving our service to our guests in the future.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the meals you had with and will be sure to pass your comments on to our kitchen team.

I do have to apologise as it seems we did not communicate very well with you in regards to the delay taking your order. We should have explained the situation to you from the outset, as you mentioned, and I feel that it may have been myself who kept you waiting, which I am very sorry for. We do need to work on this aspect, as it has happened on a few occasions, and we do not seem to have addressed the situation adequately. We do take all of our customers comments very seriously, and I will try to do better!

I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your evening and I do hope we will be seeing you again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scawby,
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We have been to The Stables on many occasions and every time cannot fault the service, food and ambience. On this visit we took some friends who were over from Leeds for a meal and drinks on Saturday evening.

The restaurant was busy but we were made to feel very welcome, the drinks were excellent with good offer of real ale, lagers and wine. The food choice is exceptional with traditional pub fayre or more italian themed dishes and the choice of freshly baked pizzas.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and will no doubt be visiting on plenty more occasions in the future.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stables R, Manager at Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
We thank you for your continuing custom, and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed this most recent visit.

It is always nice to hear from our guests who have enjoyed their dining experience, and that they appreciate the range of food and drinks we have available.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

With thanks

Martin Gilbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food Excellent, Shame about the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have now visited this restaurant twice, once on an evening and once at lunchtime. The restaurant is nicely decorated and laid out although can be a little noisy due to the wooden floors.
The food on both occasions was excellent, nicely presented, very tasty and well worth the money. The only downside on both occasions was the service. The staff are pleasant but do not seem to be very well organised. Had to wait quite some time for our order to be taken and again for plates to be cleared away. Tea and coffee was obviously forgotten and when we reminded another member of staff were made to feel as if we had interrupted a good gossip at the bar.
Would visit again, but if service not improved will go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suebromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stables R, Manager at Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your meals and both occasions that you have visited. We have a an excellent young team of chefs, and it is always good to be able to pass on to them how much the meals have been appreciated.

I do extend my apologies for the poor service received from our front of house staff. We are always attempting to improve our levels of customer service, so your feedback on this occasion is invaluable. We are making every effort to improve our organisation during the busy periods and also to make sure that all of our guests feel welcome, and that they are the focus of our waiting staff whilst they are with us.

I do hope we will be seeing you again, and I am hope we are able to improve on this poor showing.

Thank you again

Martin Gilbert
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good friendly service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a delighful restaurant. It's always busy and I can see why. We've been a few times now and the food has always been good and plenty of it.
I had the pasta last time and this time had the beef stroganoff. My husband had a steak and even though it wasn't quite cooked enough, the staff willingly took it back and cooked it for a few minutes longer to make it just right.
Very nice place. I'll certainly go again and recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stables R, Manager at Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
So glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent visit to Stables in Barton. We are always striving to ensure all of our guests have a great time whilst they are with us, and I will be sure to pass on you lovely comments to our staff.

We are always happy to make any adjustments and corrections we can whilst our guests are with us so we can make sure that everything is done to make their visit enjoyable. I am pleased to hear that we were able to quickly rectify the error made and we look forward to future visits from yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Restaurant also viewed

Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing