We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a quick bite”
Review of Stables Restaurant - CLOSED

Stables Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Here at Stables we produce good quality food, using a variety of local suppliers who have they're own individual expertise in food etc. We have a dedicated team of staff whose number one goal is to make sure every customer leaves the restaurant with a smile. Visit us and find out for yourselves.
hull uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK for a quick bite”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very busy as there was a party in, it seemed we as a table of two were forgotten at times. The food was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stables R, Manager at Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the meal you had with us. We are disappointed to hear that you felt like you were forgotten about whilst you were here with us at Stables.

As mentioned, it was a busy evening with a large party dining; HOWEVER, this is no excuse for not paying attention to ALL of our tables, large or small. We always endeavour to provide the same great level of service to all our guests, whether a couple enjoying a quiet dinner, or a table of twenty celebrating a birthday together, and our guests usually feel that this is the case.

This feedback will allow us to look at our staffing levels and will also help us to concentrate our efforts evenly throughout the evenings, so as to avoid a repeat of this incident.

Thanks you one again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you all here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    44
    29
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing to get exited about”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Maybe a little bit harsh with my title as food was very nice only downfall it seemed to be out of a tin instead of being fresh . We did enjoy our meals but service wasnt great prices arent bad and the place is clean and looked after so would return

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stables R, Manager at Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit, and we are glad that you enjoyed the food. We would like to assure you, and all of our guests, that all of our meals are freshly prepared on premises using, where possible, locally sourced fresh ingredients. To find out more about our local suppliers, please visit our website at www.stablesinbarton.co.uk/about-us/our-suppliers/

We are very sorry to also hear that our service was not great on this occasion. All of our staff try to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience on every visit, but rest assured, your comments will be taken on board and passed on to our staff so we can make sure that on your next visit you receive the best possible service.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope your next visit will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food! A chance visit.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend visited this resturant last night, just by chance and were not disappointed. We had not booked a table but they manged to squeeze us in, just! I would advise to book.
There was plenty of choice on the menu. Italian - pizza, pasta...etc, burgers, steaks and plenty more choice!
I had the beef burger which was lovely. 100% beef and homemade. It came with a side salad and chips which were crisp on the outside and fluffy in the middle. I had bacon and cheddar on my burger which was an extra. My friend had the lasagne which she said was very tasty. We only had soft drinks as we were driving but there seemed plenty to chose from on draught - peroni, rekorderlig cider.
All in all we had lovely food, in a great atmosphere, which was excellent value for money. This place is an absolute gem!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area by far!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Being a vegetarian (a rather picky one!) stables offer a really good variety of appetising food that never get boring like some restaurants and are always happy to alter other meals if requested. My family came in on Sunday for my brothers birthday and everyone's plates were virtually licked clean. I also went recently for a girls night out which was a really lovely evening with a busy atmosphere on a Saturday night! Stables always have a good selection of meals on the specials menu as well as their main and lunch menus. Also their desserts are always home made and mouth watering - especially the chocolate fondants when on the menu! The restaurant has recently been expanded to upstairs with its own bar as well as downstairs for busy nights or private parties. Highly recommend for any occasion!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barton-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“For where it is”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a local 'restaurant' that we have used a fair bit as we live nearby - this is really the main reason we go back, and that in the main it is fairly priced for what you get. It's really a pretty fancy cafe bar with what looks like a promising menu but turns out to be rather average overall; Pizza's are the best thing on the menu. Had a vegetarian meal the last time we went and it was undercooked - not a big fan of undercooked aubergine. When asked by the waitress if everything was OK we told her the food was undercooked she said 'Oh' and that was that. No reduction in bill, no offer to bring something else, zilch. Didn't feel like spoiling my night with a colleague so left it at that. Very disappointing. Now doing a steak menu at a higher price range which looks ok, so as long as things are cooked well it will help extend the better end of the menu I guess. Drink prices are a bit above pub prices but acceptable in a food based environment. Service is average. Sometimes see the chef in the dinnig area and he looks just a bit shabby with dirty shoes. May be that in a busy, hot kitchen this is acceptable but not a good look in the dinning, bar area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fromhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Restaurant also viewed

Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing