We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother.”

Caherconnell Stone Fort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Caherconnell Stone Fort, situated 1km south of Poulnabrone dolmen in the heart of the Burren Ireland , offers you the opportunity to visit an exceptionally well - preserved example of the stone forts or stone ringforts which are to be found in the Burren Ireland.The fort is in its original state. Its position, overlooking virtually all-surrounding areas suggests a defensive settlement. Archaeological excavations take place each summer in association with 'CAFS' - Caherconnell Archaeological Field School- an International Field School accredited by NUI, Galway. As well as a trip to the Fort, visitors can also take in the Burren's Premier Sheepdog Demonstrations at Caherconnell,enjoying the combined skills of the farmer and the border collie as they work in the natural habitat of the Burren.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Dublin
Level Contributor
218 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have visited many Archaeological sites throughout Ireland. Most of these are free to visit. To be charged €7 to visit a National Monument is a disgrace. The area around the Ringfort has been reconstructed with stone walkways and stone video viewing room and stone toilets similar to the fort, blurring the effect of the original fort. The large tearooms and craft shop also take away from the experience. There is very little to see for your €7 that cannot be seen from the nearby road. We saw it in less than 10 minutes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BOXtheFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caherconnell_1, Employee at Caherconnell Stone Fort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi boxthefox,

Firstly, thanks for your review, it is always good to hear the experiences of visitors so we can continue to strive to provide the best possible experience. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience. In relation to your comments about the audio visual room, the stone effect of the building is intended to blend in with the karst landscape rather than ‘obstruct the view’. In addition the Fort is 120 feet in diameter-a difficult thing to cover up. The 20 minute audio visual itself was professionally produced and provides information on many local monuments including Cahercommaun Fort, Poulawack Cairn and the world famous Poulnabrone Dolmen. Had you taken the time to see this maybe your experience may have been somewhat different, as it also provides a 5 minute virtual animation tour which brings the fort to life, helping visitors to re-imagine the Fort as it would have been. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again so you can visit the full site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    53
    26
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

For £7 per person admission we were very disappointed. You can take all the photos you want from the outside without paying admission. The 'guide' we were provided with was underwhelming to say the least and provided very little info. The site doesn't seem to be being kept in very good condition, with lots of make shift wire fencing and ropes taking away the 'feel' of being in what should feel like a very special place. We left feeling really annoyed that we had paid the admission fee!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caherconnell_1, Employee at Caherconnell Stone Fort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Sez83,

Thanks for your review. Everyone’s experience is important to us so we can continue to try to provide the best service to our visitors. It is unfortunate that you felt as you did. The photos are lovely here. We like to think we have more than that though. The Fort is over 1000 years old and there is something magical about walking in the footsteps of our ancestors. The guide that you mention is an A5 24 page full colour gloss booklet(costing €5 but provided free with the admission) produced by one of the finest archaeological directors in the country. It is many things, but light on detail is most definitely not one of them. The site is maintained up to strict archaeological code-We could not provide Archaeological Field Schools were that not the case. The make shift wire fencing and ropes that you mention in your review are there for 2 very important reasons- to guide visitors around the fort whilst keeping them away from the archaeological digs when they are in progress and also to keep visitors away from the dig areas, once the digs are completed as it is important that the ground is allowed to settle naturally. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience as we work very hard to make sure our visitors can experience the true magic of this unique site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great day; great place to learn about ringforts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a great day here as a family of 6. This is backed up by the fact that our eldest daughter (aged 9) approved the review marks. The family ticket is excellent value for money. Although we have been here twice before, there is always more to learn as the kids get older and can take in more themselves. You get a helpful booklet on the way in which is a useful guide. The sheepdog demo is a must see, but do ring in advance to check out the time, as it is only done once a day. We saw it last year but it is an amazing thing to watch. Last year's dog had died and the dog we saw had only been trained since March! He was very impressive. We landed just before lunch and were hoping to grab a bite to eat in the cafe. But they were expecting a large bus tour very soon and couldn't serve us until 2.30! They were very nice about it and luckily we had supplies to keep the kids going. But they could do with some more staff for peak demand. Overall, highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank toruairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I don’t agree that private landowners should be allowed to charge €7 per person to view a national monument. Not worth the money in any case and then an additional charge of €5 to see sheepdog demonstration is a rip off.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caherconnell_1, Employee at Caherconnell Stone Fort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Veronica305,

Thank you for your review. It is clear that the admission is your chief concern and I am disappointed that you did not feel you got value. I can only say that with your admission you received a 24 page guide(costing €5 but provided free with your admission) produced by the sites archaeological director as well as access to a 20 minute audio visual experience which includes an animated virtual reality experience. Finally touch screen presentations are provided to detail the archaeological discoveries. Also, it is worth mentioning that if you wish to visit both the Sheepdog Demonstrations and the Fort, a joint ticket is available at an adult, student/senior and a family rate, the adult and student/senior rates costing a lot less than the €12.00 that you have mentioned in your review.
The sheepdog demonstrations are a separate aspect of the experience provided at Caherconnell and aim to illustrate the cultural history of the area.This is a very popular among our visitors and I can only say I am disappointed that you did not feel the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“There was nothing, really...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'm in visiting my boyfriend and friends and we decided to take a small day trip to Clare, and this was our first stop of the day. I was actually very excited to visit a stone fort, and was really looking forward to stopping here because I knew excavations were ongoing.

Upon our arrival we walked through a lovely gift shop and paid a massive (Yes, I don't mean that sarcastically) 6 euro to enter the fort. The fort itself was very small and the markers (stones with numbers painted on them) on the ground were marking basically a couple rocks on the ground. Which was interesting in its own right because of how old it was, but there was no information other than the two or three sentences in the booklet.

Overall I was really disappointed that there was just nothing to see, and it's really not a good value for your money at all. We spent maybe 30 minutes total here (including the 20 minute video) and didn't really do anything. We looked at ancient rocks on the ground.

The cafe looked lovely, and the prices didn't look horrible, but we didn't stay for food, so I can't vouch for that.

I wont come back fro a second visit, and I probably wont tell anybody to visit, either.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AliciaMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caherconnell_1, Employee at Caherconnell Stone Fort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Alicia Monique,

Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to hear the experiences of our visitors. In terms of your review I would just like to say I am delighted to hear you are interested In archaeology. It is very important to us here as caretakers of the site. We seek to be unobtrusive in our information provision and hence there are no info boards in the fort itself. The booklet is however a 24 page a5 full gloss booklet containing more than ‘a few sentences’, that has been carefully put together by the sites Archaeological Director and is currently being updated for visitors to Caherconnell in 2014. We also provide touch screen presentations at the site. Finally I’m glad you liked the look of the café. The food is even better and should you return we would be delighted for you to experience this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caherconnell Stone Fort also viewed

County Clare, Province of Munster
 
Doolin, The Burren
Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to Caherconnell Stone Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing