We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected joy!”
Review of Vasco

Vasco
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Fanore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected joy!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Vasco is certainly a pleasant surprise: fresh, locally sourced ingredients, a stunning and excellent menu, in the middle of nowhere! No idea why they chose Fanore, but we were the recipients of a great meal to celebrate the end of our week! Tangier-style lamb, locally caught haddock, and a seafood chowder/soup to die for... and dontbskip on the desserts. All top notch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallmanlt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    18
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High prices, lovely location...”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This tiny cafe on the west coasts beautiful Burren is beautifully positioned to capture passing trade. While having been a bit of a regular last year the draw to come back was strong. However the disappointment was high. Having had Lemon Sole, Lebanese flat bread and scallops to share with three cups of coffee, the bill was just north of E50. Very expensive for a casual snack. The coffee was E2.35 for an americano and an unbelievable E2.85 for Cappuccino. Having spoken to the owner we were told that the coffee is a boutique rosterie and all of the food is sourced locally etc, etc. Trouble is that we know wonderful restaurants within 20 miles that do produce great local food with artisan rosterie coffee for significantly less cost. Food was reasonably good but not for returning to with those prices.....pity

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Burren2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fanore Find”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fanore's main claim is that it may be the longest village in Ireland! Whatever - don't go past Vasco's Restaurant tucked in next to the shop. We were attracted by their ethic; freshly caught fish, local ingredients and NOT pub food! We treated ourselves to dinner there on our last night over on the west coast and we weren't disappointed. Lovely food, beautiful views and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouisaHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a diversion ...”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a great find on the coast road from Galway down to the Cliffs of Moher. Didn't see any advance publicity, just hungry along the drive, noticed the fresh look from the outside and decided to give it a try. Great food. Only disappointment is I could only eat one meal; the menu was varied, fresh and exceptional. Worth a diversion if in the area to give it a try.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I read about this place on the Michelin website and as I was going to be staying in nearby Doolin for the weekend I was determined to eat here. The drive out through the Burren was dramatic and beautiful with the fading light over the sea. Driving back through the night was even better - desolate doesn't even begin to describe it. After a quick Guinness in the pub across the road we sat down to a shared flatbread of goats cheese which was good but nothing special. The main course of tagine-style lamb stew was fabulous though and I really liked the touch of presenting the couscous in the format of a slice of cake. The restaurant itself is very stylish - it was a shame that it was so empty on a saturday night - it certainly deserves more patronage.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ascado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vasco also viewed

 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Vasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing