We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fanore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Fanore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Orchid House is the perfect stay for the Burren or for being close to the sea. A warm home for everybody. Gill and Pat are very friendly and the breakfast is wonderful. Every room has a sea view, ensuite and a Tv in it. I can only highly recommend for everybody. A very relaxing place and the Pub is is walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Orchid House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We decided to go for a weekend trip coming down from Galway. As we love the Burren, Fanore Beach and Doolin this B&B was the perfect choice as all top locations are close by. We found the B&B on the web, rang Gill and arranged to arrive within the next 2 hrs - no problem at all. We really enjoyed our stay in this warm and cosy B&B. The breakfast menu has a lot of choices - we had the potato cakes, scrambled eggs ad beans - the potatoes are grown in Gill's organic garden. Yummee! :)

Room Tip: We were staying in room number 4 but I'm sure all rooms are ae great as ours was.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkusVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is the best B&B we´ve stayed in in Ireland. Apart from the perfect location - Atlantic in front, Burren in the back - it´s a beautiful house with a great garden and lovely rooms. They even have internet connections in every room. Gill and Pat make you feel very welcome, and the brakfast Gill serves will do you for the whole day. We´ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed in orchid house bed and breakfast in august. Noticed how friendly the owner was when I booked! When I mentioned that I might be late arriving as I was on a bicycle, she very kindly offered to pick me up if it got late or I was lost! I arrived to find a house almost within touching distance of the sea! Lovely room with everything spotless! Ended up buying food to eat in the house and was supplied with cutlery and a wine glass!!
Next morning had the best scrambled eggs and breakfast on my week's cycle! Worth going for the breakfast alone!
Also got a donation for my charity cycle which was my first and only donation from hotels and b and b's on route!
Will deffo go back to cycle and hope to see the sea next time!!




  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pezenas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We wanted a quiet place to spend a couple of nights and sense the tranquility of this beautiful part of Ireland. We found Orchid House on the 'net and it looked ideal - just out of town (Fanore is tiny, anyway!) close to the sea, with hills just behind. When we arrived we just knew we had chosen well. Gill is a most charming and welcoming host, our rooms were spacious, bright with stunning views of the coast and surrounding hills. Breakfasts were so amazing our daughter was moved to photograph our table, the settings and the food on the plates.

We came home with so many wonderful memories of Ireland and staying at Orchid House certainly is one of them. Thank you Gill.

Room Tip: if you want to see the sea, get a room at the front, if you want see the hills, get a room at the ba...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a fantastic place...beautiful natural scenary...impeccable and full confort accomodation settings. No 1 complaint. Gill makes your stay like home..Many compliments to Gill (the owner)...The Orchid House was just perfect. (1 night stay in March2011 in our way to the Cliffs of Moher). Great location between Galway and the cliff's tourist site).

Son & Coco (Weston,Fl)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had the good fortune of spending two nights at Orchid House and were extremely pleased. We initially planned to stay in Doolin, but found it to be an overcrowded sea of tourists. We traveled down the road a bit, found Fanore, and stopped by Orchid House by chance. It's a lovely, clean, friendly place and Gill was most gracious. It was so pleasant that we decided to stay for two days. The breakfast was great and be sure to ask for the homemade gooseberry jam.

We were able to walk down to the rocky beach, visit nearby church ruins, and walk to the local pub where we had some of the best seafood you could ask for (get the seafood chowder!). The sunset was great, the entire place was gorgeous, and it was one of our favorite places to stay in all of Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fanore
0.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.0 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annaly House B & B
Annaly House B & B
#4 of 5 in Fanore
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Fanore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Fanore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fanore
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing