We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect English country pub”
Review of The Kings Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The perfect English country pub”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have just booked again for the third time to stay at the delightful Kings Arms in Wing. The rooms are so quaint, the restaurant serves the best meals and the hosts James and Ali are so obliging, friendly and good fun. Don't miss out on the breakfast and you must book for dinner as it is so popular. The village of Wing is so very charming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petanott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    45
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
122
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had not been to the Kings Arms for quite a while, what a different stay this time. We had been many times in the past as the food is great, although we alway's felt that the rooms were very dated and cold, we overlooked this as the meals made it worth the compromise. Well I am glad to say the rooms are now re-furbished, most comfortable, well equipped, very warm, and also have a proper sized TV. So now it is the most perfect place to stay, superb accomodation and yes the food is as good as ever. Can't wait to visit again soon. We highly recommend, if in the area don't consider other Hotels, stay at The Kings Arms Inn you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed for one cold Saturday night in early December and the Kings Arms provided a comfortable haven. Food (locally sourced) was delicious and beautifully presented. The emphasis is on meat and game but the menu offers other options. Our room (Quince) was large and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. The pub / restaurant was warm and inviting, with subdued lighting, a few nooks and crannies and an open fire. All members of staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Wing is handily placed for walks and cycling around Rutland Water, so that you can work up a good appetite! We will return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had to stay in the area for work and always try and stay somewhere with a bit of character as opposed to the big chains and I was not disappointed by the Kings Arms. I booked online and arrived at the time i stated to find that the staff had my key ready and welcomed me with my name. After dropping my bags in the room I went to the bar to try a real ale or two! The pub was fabulous, with roaring fires and a really friendly, local feel. The staff and the locals were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was great and I loved the fact that everything served in the restaurant was sourced locally.

I highly recommend the KIngs Arms!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived, the room was cold, the room was damp, the condensation on the windows, the lack of air flow in the bathroom ....
The quilt thin, the pillows tatty, and flat.
The light low, the hot water cool, .......

We had a wonderful evening out, and returned to our room for the night

We froze, the heating went off, the quilt was so thin and made of hollofibre
We played sardines in a freezer - sorry cuddled each other in bed ..

My partner got dressed and came back to bed ....

Need I say more ....

The breakfast was nothing special to write home about either. Certainly not worth the 10£ we had paid for it. Coffee to strong, food chilled quickly in the cool, but not cold bar.
Orange juice regularly ran out on the breakfast table, the waitress could not correctly write orders down, refills of coffee ordered but failed to arrive.

Oh and by the way, a music free zone as advertised .... certainly not for breakfast.


We complained -

We had our complete monies returned.
We have instigated a complete refurbishment of the room - 6 months early.

James the Chef, hides behind his chefs hat, and fails to declare on the premises that he is a partner in the pub

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Midlands_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent two wonderful days at The Kings Arms Inn in Wing in November 2012. The room was extremely comfortable with a comfy sofa and a lovely en-suite. The pub itself was all you could ask for; wood burning fire, high backed leather armchairs, friendly and welcoming staff. The chalk boards tempted you with delights from the kitchen. We tried different dishes from the menu and every one was a taste experience. After the dinner we couldn't wait for breakfast the next morning! All the food items offered were locally sourced and home made with information posted on the pub walls for anyone who might be interested. The location is ideal for walkers and bike riders. Here is somewhere we will certainly be revisiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, Owner at The Kings Arms Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to post your review with trip advisor. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

James & Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in the King's Arms Inn in April 2012 while on a painting holiday run by Charles Evans (www.charlesevansart.com) and based at the hotel. We went out some days to paint but on wet days we were provided with a comfortable indoor studio. Nothing was too much trouble! The bedrooms were luxurious. We were given a packed lunch every day (with special consideration to any special dietary requirements) and the food in the evening was amazing, all from local suppliers (and the eggs from their own chickens). James and Ali couldn't have been better hosts. I'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, Owner at The Kings Arms Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for finding the time to leave your review. We know it goes a long way to helping prospective visitors in making future decisions. We look forward to seeing you all next year and will cross our fingers for a few more dry days.

James & Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wing
4.1 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
3.9 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
559 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Inn

Property: The Kings Arms Inn
Address: 13 Top Street, Wing, Oakham LE15 8SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Wing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Culinary Heartbeat of Rural Rutland.The Kings Arms is a 17th Century Inn situated in the peaceful & secluded conservation village of Wing. Surrounded by beautiful buildings of local stone and Colly Weston slate this quintessential English Inn nestles amidst rolling green hills and picture postcard villages. Within easy reach of Peterborough, Stamford, Melton Mowbray, Uppingham and Oakham and only 2 miles from Rutland Water.A laid back, relaxed ambiance is complemented by award winning cuisine created by our team of chefs dedicated to providing the finest food in the area. Villagers and visitors will be found side by side at the Kings Arms creating that wonderful British country pub ambience. Our friendly and motivated staff serves traditional, artisanal and innovative pub fare on rustic wooden kitchen tables, surrounded by beamed ceilings, flagstone floors & open fires. All this alongside a large selection of fine wines, local ales, ciders and traditional soft drinks and you have an experience worth coming out for.The Kings Arms Wing also offers a total of 8 Bedrooms and Suites rated 4 Star by the AA since 2004. 4 rooms in the adjacent ‘ Old Village Bakehouse’ and 4 more in ‘Orchard House’ further up the long private drive. All of our spacious bedrooms are ensuite, with large flatscreen televisions and wi’fi is available throughout.At the top of the long private drive surrounded by a small young Orchard, fruit cages and our laying hens, we have a large off-road car park which can also accommodate small boat trailers, horseboxes and even motorhomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kings Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Wing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing