We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Empingham B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recent visit”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We recently stopped overnight , not in the pub, but a separate building just a few yards walk. The room was very nicely decorated ,comfortable, and we thought good value for a Saturday night. The pub seems to specialise in food, although there is a very cosy separate bar, with sofa's etc, and an excellent selection of beers. The only food we had was the breakfast which was very tasty and well presented with excellent service, in fact the staff, including i believe the 2 owners could not have been more helpful, attentive and friendly. Will definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 958GMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review...we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    56
    30
    24
    9
See reviews for
47
89
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Popped into the white horse after a short walk from normanton park hotel and enjoyed a lovely glass of mulled wine. We only visited the bar as our boots were covered in mud and we received a warm welcome. Our next visit will hopefully involve having a spot of lunch as the food being served did look very appetising and well presented.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tanchan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review...mulled wine was a big hit over the festive period. Hopefully you will come back again soon and dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went for an evening meal here with family and friends. it was close to the end of December so i didn't expect a full house. but we were only one of a handfull of people. The service was good the bar staff attentive but the food, whilst good, wasn't fanatstic.. that would have been fine if we'd been paying "pub grub" prices, but no, it was all bannered under "Gastro food" .. don't get me wrong it was all tasty but the bill was high for what we had.. Would we return ? Yes i'm willing to give anyone a 2nd chance..!! please look them up and if you in the area and see if things improve..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzydisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch after a wet and windy walk around Rutland Water with some friends and the kids. A lovely refurbishment of the pub and a nice atmosphere, but the overall experience let down by a few elements. The pub clearly now targets food clientele rather than drinkers, and the pricing dictates ones expectations should be reasonably high. Most of the party's food was ok, low lights being the chicken & ham pie, which as per previous review consisted of chicken and ham in a slightly thin sauce with a square of puff pastry served on a plate, whitebait which were a little warm and flaccid and not breaded as stated on the menu and a crumble topping which was rather strange. On the positive, the fish and chips were enjoyed and the kids sausage and mash was good quality. Would be nice to have available ground pepper mill, instead of fine black pepper shaker in somewhere of this perceived quality and puddings arrived without any cutlery. All in all, if pricing was a little lower (Mains were c £11) then wouldn't have been so critical, but at this level just expect a little more finesse. Sure the little things can be rectified and would probably try again in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your constructive review...all your comments will be taken on board and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk and Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Was served up the most pathetic pie imaginable. Essentially, a watery stew (we'd have been better with a spoon than knife and fork) with a piece of puff pasty on the bottom. The wafer thin pasty quickly turned to mush. The peas were overcooked and reheated. Basically, an embarrassment to the management. I couldn't be bothered to complain as this was the second time I've eaten there - the first time the squid still had the plastic wrapper on it.......which the plate carrier tried to tell me was the squid's membrane .........classic.

Anyway - wont be eating there again. Nice pint of Amstel though - it hard to make a mess of that.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review...sorry that our Steak & Rutland Ale pie did not meet your expectations. It is a great selling dish for us, however, your comments will be taken on board. Not sure how to respond to you about your comment about the squid...I remember you raising the issue at the time. We serve breaded calamari rings as a special sometimes. There is no possibility of a 'plastic wrapper' and we tactfully tried to explain this to you at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a lovely meal last week, what an improvement on the last time I visited. No stale smell of chip fat or uninterested staff. Had beautiful Belly Pork with a delicious crust and duck also with a crispy top as requested. The staff were attentive and friendly and we would definitely return and possibly stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange-S64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad you enjoyed your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

It's a real shame to say, but what has happened? The atmosphere and staffing has changed dramatically, I did enjoy my meal, but the real characters that made this a pleasure to visit are no longer there and the new management obviously have never worked in the public house trade before. I hope that the service improves. Good luck, unfortunately, I think it will be needed.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reon202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you point out that the place and the staff have changed dramatically ....rest assured this is very much intentional on our part.
Since Claire and I have taken over, the overwhelming feedback that we receive on a daily basis is that the dramatic change was much needed and is very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empingham
2.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
868 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Property: The White Horse Inn
Address: 2 Main Street, Empingham LE15 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Empingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Empingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Empingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing