We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Primrose hall Easter stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Open plan living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living area
Kitchen Downstairs Shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Open plan living area
Kitchen
Downstairs Shower room
Upstairs landing looking into the twin bedroom
Double room
Twin room
Upstairs lavatory
Parking immediately outside the front door
Outside 'Suntrap'
Pictures of the area taken by the owner decorate the walls
Rutland Water is a ten minute walk from the cottage
Walkers will have detailed infomation to lesser known beauty spots such as this one, 3 miles away.
The White Horse is one minutes walk away
The local Pub has both dog friendly and dog free areas.
Barbara's Stores (one minutes walk away) is open every day.
The history of the building and it's political connections are on display in the cottage.
Sir Robert Peel was unimpressed that ladies were able to be part of a political organisation!
A gift from a kind guest on a painting holiday in Rutland.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Empingham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Primrose hall Easter stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just stayed at Primrose Hall over the Easter weekend and what a fabulous place it was! The best self catering accommodation we've ever been in. It had everything we needed and more! We couldn't believe it when we walked in to see wine, local beer, fruit, box full of different teas and even an Easter Egg waiting for us! There were plenty of towels, toiletries & kitchen equipment. The owner came round to see us on the first evening and gave us great advice over where to visit locally. Thank you for your wonderful accommodation and hospitality, we will definitely be staying again and recommending it to others! Empingham is beautiful and Rutland is brilliant. Make sure you see the ospreys at Lyndon visitor centre (spring/summer), Normanton church, Barnsdale gardens and Burghley house, gardens & deer park! We also did a fishing experience with Rob Waddington (Rutland fly fishing) and caught trout for tea which was delicious! There's so much to see and do in the area and Primrose Hall is the perfect Base to explore it from!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, pet-friendly and wonderfully welcoming cottage.”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Fabulous location for our short stay over the New Year 2016/17, for us to see friends in a nearby village.
We are a family of 5, two adults, two kids and our dog. Primrose Cottage looked perfect for us and we weren't disappointed. The cottage looked lovely in the photos, but it's even better in real life with warm, welcoming, cosy decor and furnishings.
We were welcomed by Simon, the owner, who was onsite when we turned up and he gave us a run down of the building's history, explained where everything was and showed us the welcome package...a coffee table laden with info on the local area, a bottle of wine, a large bowl of fruit and even a chocolate cake...fabulous!
Our dog was made to feel very welcome, with towels and blankets for us to use.

Everything has been thought out brilliantly by this wonderful couple, making our stay very comfortable. The shower room is laden with towels and shower gel, which is great and my kids were over-the-moon to discover WiFi in the cottage (very important when you're 12 and 15!!).
The local pub, The White Horse, was also lovely and we ate there on our first evening...its literally 5 mins walk from the cottage.

I would very much recommend this cottage as a great place to stay and I really don't think you'll be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickdenn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas at Primrose Hall”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Primrose Hall for a Christmas Break. The owners were more than happy to let us bring our ferrets with us too. On arrival the house was extremely well equipped with everything you could need, including lots of information on the surrounding area, places to eat etc..
We spent a wonderful 4 nights here and would throughly recommend it to anyone, and will look to come back here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This distinctive and spacious cottage made an ideal base for our holiday.”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very warm welcome and it was clear that considerable thought had been given to make our stay very comfortable.
The cottage made an ideal base for the run-up to our daughter's wedding. The cottage is spacious and well-located with easy access to Stamford, Rutland Water and the A1. There were helpful guides re local pubs, restaurants, walks and tourist attractions and the cottage was relaxing and homely 24/7

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanderx
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Primrose Hall. Catherine the owner was extremely helpful with all of the booking details and enquiries that I made. Although we didn't get to meet her, she seems like a lovely lady.
Everything was beautiful and clean and there were lots of finishing touches such as fresh flowers, plenty of tea and coffee, fresh milk and even a bottle of wine and some dog treats for my dog.
There is a folder with lots of information about the local area and details of walks for all abilities. We were extremely lucky with the weather and were able to enjoy everything this beautiful county has to offer.
Primrose Hall is equipped with everything that you could possibly need - a real home from home. When we come back to this area, we will definately stay here. Thank you Catherine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemont7...
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Character cottage and thoughtful owner”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Primrose Hall is full of character and it's nice that the owner has displayed information on its history and renovation. Very comfortable and clean and the finishing touches including milk, local beers and a large bowl of fruit for us, and for the dogs, treats, a filled water bowl and plenty of dog towels all made it seem special. Well stocked with DVDs, books, games and local information, nice and warm when we arrived (good for a cold March!) and the owner called around our first evening to make sure everything was OK for us. Downsides? Lack of windows with views downstairs and the only outside space is a very small courtyard, but outweighed by the character and standard of the accomodation and helpfulness of the owner and also the situation of the cottage in a pleasant village, with good local shop and pub and very close to Rutland Water.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myramay
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is undoubtedly the best stocked holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Thoughtfully decorated, with fascinating details of the history of this unique building, the brilliant pro photographer owner has foreseen most needs of even the most demanding of guests. From an exquisite tea box filled with a selection of tea to a good number of DVDs and books catering to many tastes. We will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very welcoming!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing