We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Life is a bowl of cherries”
other travelers have booked this property
Open plan living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living area
Kitchen Downstairs Shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Open plan living area
Kitchen
Downstairs Shower room
Upstairs landing looking into the twin bedroom
Double room
Twin room
Upstairs lavatory
Parking immediately outside the front door
Outside 'Suntrap'
Pictures of the area taken by the owner decorate the walls
Rutland Water is a ten minute walk from the cottage
Walkers will have detailed infomation to lesser known beauty spots such as this one, 3 miles away.
The White Horse is one minutes walk away
The local Pub has both dog friendly and dog free areas.
Barbara's Stores (one minutes walk away) is open every day.
The history of the building and it's political connections are on display in the cottage.
Sir Robert Peel was unimpressed that ladies were able to be part of a political organisation!
A gift from a kind guest on a painting holiday in Rutland.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Empingham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SteveandA...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Life is a bowl of cherries”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owners, Simon and Catherine, kindly allowed us to stay 3 nights between other lets. The house is a beautiful old converted hall that has been tastefully refitted to accommodate modern living. I have only 2 criticisms. Road noise and a lack of wifi which would make life much easier. Other than that the place is well appointed with free view TV. It is within walking distance of the pub, the shop and Rutland Water itself. What is immediately evident is that Simon has worked in the hospitality trade before. There was milk in the fridge, treats for the dog, a bowl of sweets, fresh flowers, a bottle of beer, a bottle of wine and a huge bowl of fruit with, you guessed it, a bowl of cherries. Great stay and great hospitality. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBI62
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here whilst visiting elderly mother in Oakham. Primrose Hall is beautifully laid out and has been sensitively adapted into a holiday cottage. The interior design is flawless and well thought out, beds and bedrooms comfortable has shower/wc/utility room & wc next to bedrooms. Catherine the owner supplies milk, tea, coffee, wine, duck eggs and dog treats! Very dog friendly and wonderful walks nearby, owner also visits on day of arrival to check you are okay. Lots of wonderful walks in the area and again lots of information available in cottage on local amenities and walking routes. Decorating the walls are stunning photographs taken by Catherine Davy. We had a marvellous time and hope to visit again. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfortable feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Liked it all - no problems at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kensalgir...
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved Primrose Hall! We will be back!”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Without doubt the best holiday cottage we have stayed in - clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated, warm and spacious. In fact it had everything we needed. We loved the thoughtful touch of the owner leaving wine and fruit for us and even treats for our dog. It had the feel of a nice hotel. The beds were comfortable and the linen was lovely. I was unwell when I was there and when you are unwell and away you usually are keen to go home, but I wasn't, it was so comfortable and peacful. We also loved the area (first time in Rutland), the local pub was great, Stamford a really nice town and Rutland Water was fantastic for dog walking and our teens to do water sport. As I said, we will be back and we will definitely try and stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor, the well equipped kitchen, the lovely touches
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen H
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation for sailors at Rutland Water”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We chose this cottage because of it's proximity to Rutland. Like another reviewer has said so well, the accommodation exceeded expectations. The cottage is beautiful, comfortable and very well equipped. There were excellent laundry and drying facilities for sailing kit. What made our stay so special were all the little extras, nice bottle of wine, fresh duck eggs, tea, milk and coffee, newspaper, robes, candles and probably lots of other things that I haven't remembered here. The owners were warm and friendly and made us very welcome. We will most definitely book here again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully presented, well equipped and warm welcome
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binksh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Primrose Hill was beyond all our expectations. Fantastically kitted out, we wanted for nothing. Very comfortable beds bad spotlessly clean. Our booking was dealt with extremely efficiently. It was lovely to stay in a property so steeped in history and yet so stunningly restored. We would definitely recommend it to friends and our dogs loved it as well. We'll be back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Empingham♥”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Primrose Hall in September.Lovely building, well restored.Beautiful area and loved the local pub-The White Horse.Lovely spacious cottage and lots of very thoughtful touches, tray with wine, beer and even treats for our dog!Really nice base for Rutland Water and would deff come back to the area,not sure wether it would be here though as felt cottage could have been cleaner.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2014
I deeply apologize if you found the cleanliness was not as good as it should have been and would like to assure you that the standard we provide is normally extremely high. However, as you are aware I broke my ankle a couple of days beforehand and was not out of hospital until the evening of your arrival when my husband and I visited, and you assured us you were more than happy with everything.
As your arrival day was a Monday, my husband had to take unexpected time off work to get the cottage ready in my absence, and in his rush may have overlooked something. So again, my apologies.
We would like to thank you for your lovely note left on departure and are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freyaalex
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous location and a really beautiful cottage. Owner extremely caring and clearly very welcoming to our Labrador as well as to myself and teenage daughter. Lots of very kind welcoming touches left for us - will definitely come again.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing