We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pleasant Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel Chipata
Ranked #1 of 3 Chipata B&B and Inns
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Pleasant Hotel"”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here on a short stopover en route to South Luwanga for one night and it was a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff upon arrival welcomed us and settled us very comfortably in the well furnished rooms. All rooms non smoking which made our stay there more pleasant . Food selection very good although menu items were missing ,but there is a huge opportunity to make the food from "just great" to "excellent". I would definitely stay there on my next visit to Chipata , highly recommended when looking for accommodation in Chipata.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Rodney,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should therefore like to thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay with us and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Chipata and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After a long hot trip up from Lake Malawi in a fleet of old classic cars the hotel was a welcome sight. We, thirty people, were well looked after. The poolside was wonderful, the rooms were great and the restaurant bar service was excellent.
The best stopover on the east of Zambia.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chipata and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I travelled with apprehension to Chipata wondering where I how I was going to live for three weeks. Was pleasantly surprised when I found this lovely hotel, well furnished, very polite and friendly staff. The rooms are good with comfortable beds and nice beddings. A decent variety of DSTV channels. The food is okay, not excellent, but not bad at all. My three weeks here will pass comfortably.

Room Tip: I don't think there's much difference with the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muchinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Muchinga,

Thank you for words of appreciation regarding your current stay at Protea Hotel Chipata. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It is our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here three times over a period of a month and what a pleasure! The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Peter at the front desk was very professional: he is very guest focused and nothing was too much trouble. Restaurant service good and food tasty and well presented. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the shower had plenty of very hot water and great pressure - very welcome after the long, dusty trips to get there. Location excellent and the property safe and secure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PR-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata.

We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Peter in particular are highly valued and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated him for doing such an outstanding job.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chipata again soon.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Protea on business. It could be a beautiful place, open aire dining, swimming, cultivated gardens and beautiful weather, but it was lacking something. There was no life or atmosphere in the place.
Having said that the food was reasonable and the staff weregood and helpful.

Room Tip: They cannot accept Amex. You cannot open the windows in the rooms at the front of the hotel, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for writing down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

my wedding took place at protea hotel n it was amazing. the manager who was der at that time,silvia was of great help n made my big day my dream. they dont allow weddings der anymore n thats a shame coz its a beautiful hotel. i spend few nites as well der n the rooms r nice. i had visitors staying der as well who came for my wedding n they enjoyed it, ive had quite a few meals der n the food is good too. thanks protea for making my wedding day a memorable one. thanks to silvia as well for everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarifa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Chipata.

We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Ms. Arnold in particular are highly valued and i wish to assure you that we have congratulated her for doing such an outstanding job.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chipata again soon.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff members were super friendly and the food was very good. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. Having your dinner with amazing scenery of Mother Nature is simply relaxing. And if you wake up hungry, breakfast there will make you full!

Room Tip: Didn't imagine to have such an experienece in Chipata!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Egyptian_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chipata and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Chipata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Chipata

Property: Protea Hotel Chipata
Address: Plot 3126 Great East Road, Chipata 10101, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Eastern Province > Chipata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chipata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Chipata 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Chipata is located on the outskirts of Chipata town and near the Umodzi Highway; the entrance to Chipata town from Katete, only 15km from the Malawi border and 130km from Lilongwe; the capital city of Malawi. Chipata is a scenic town surrounded on all sides by hills, hence its name meaning “gateway.” Ideal for both leisure and business travellers Protea Hotel Chipata offers 40 bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, electronic door locks, electronic safes, satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone as well as free wireless internet access. The modern Mulombe Restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner has an outside terrace area overlooking the swimming pool and spacious gardens. There is a sports bar at the hotel, called Kumana Lounge, which is open from 10h00 until 22h00 daily. The nearby Kanjala Hill offers panoramic and spectacular views of almost the entire town and region. The Central Mosque poses as the most marvellous building in the town. The structure reflects unique and exquisite art and architecture. This mosque is located along the Mosque Road. Travellers can also take a tour of the South Luangwa National Park which is approximately three hours’ drive from Chipata. The national park has an abundance of exotic wildlife of the region and features a wildlife sanctuary where one can go for safaris, game viewing and bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel Chipata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing