We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and relaxing place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deans Hill View Lodge
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a stopover in Chipata on our way to South Luangwa National Park and Dean's was a perfect place to stay. Up and out of town it was a welcome relief to the busyness of Zambian travel. The views across the valley are stunning.

The rooms are basic but the pricing fair. We ate there two nights in a row and the food was simple but tasty and affordable.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Deans Hill View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

The grounds were beautiful. Some of the buildings seemed a little dated but still great value for the price. A newer kitchen that was available for guests to use. Toilets and showers that were basic but functional. The rooms were comfortable, though the walls were a bit grimy and the mosquito nets were old with holes. We stayed here for a night before we were picked up by Kiboko Safaris (I highly, HIGHLY recommend them!) for a safari at South Luangwa, and the location was perfect. We were also able to walk from here to the center of Chipata to buy groceries with no problem. Friendly and helpful owner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAPjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The place seems like its going downhill. The bathrooms only had one working shower and no windows/curtains in them. Rooms were plain and adequate. The owner was nice, but not very helpful. If looking for a cheap place to stay overnight its fine, but more than that would be a stretch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcgle956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Dean's Hill View Lodge is a good place to stay in Chipata. The rooms and toilet facilities are clean. They have a small kitchen that cooks burgers and chips for dinner. They are located a short walk from the main road, and another short walk for the center of Chipata. The staff is good and helpful. If you are looking for clean basic accommodations to spend the night, you will be happy here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Definitely had a different experience than the other reviews on here. The place is cheapish but I guess you get what you pay for. The rooms are old and musty, the staff weren't very helpful and we had to pay to use the kitchen and even then we were rushed out of it by 8pm. We asked about getting to South Luanga and they called a guy from Budget Safaris to talk to us, the guy was rude and ended up cheating us - not the fault of Deans Lodge but just a word of warning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The property and buildings were very nice. Basic but adequate showers and toilets. The rooms were comfortable, but the mosquito nets had some holes and were not the greatest. It had a full kitchen that we were able to use to cook our own meals, which was very helpful. We met the owner who was friendly and offered to help us later when we were trying to contact the safari company.

Only negative: the walls could have used a good scrubbing. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiigod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you are looking for good, basic, quiet, friendly, cheap accommodation in Chipata, this is the place.it's not the Ritz by a long stretch, but for the price, why would you expect that? The rooms and dorm are clean, the beds have mosquito nets, and the food is quite good. If you're a vegetarian, you may have to go into town to eat. To top it off, the garden is beautiful and there is a lovely view over the city. I stayed here twice on the way to and from South Luangwa. There was a power cut the second time, and it is pretty dark up there and the stairs from the dorm are steep, so make sure you have a headlamp and you will be all set. As noted by a previous commenter, with a bit of legwork, you can arrange cheaper transport to the park on your own, Dean's just has its own price. It's really up to you to work out what you want to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashgar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deans Hill View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Hill View Lodge

Address: Chipata, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Eastern Province > Chipata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chipata
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing