We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deans Hill View Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Chipata(Chipata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
17
15
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
15
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet placesouth luangwa national parknice viewtasty foodrooms are cleancampingtownlodgedogsablutionssafarimalawistopoverbudgetchickensanimalsroute
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 44 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Dean's Hill View Lodge is a good place to stay in Chipata. The rooms and toilet facilities are clean. They have a small kitchen that cooks burgers and chips for dinner. They are located a short walk from the main road, and another short walk for the center of Chipata. The staff is good and helpful. If you are looking for clean basic accommodations to spend the night, you will be happy here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Definitely had a different experience than the other reviews on here. The place is cheapish but I guess you get what you pay for. The rooms are old and musty, the staff weren't very helpful and we had to pay to use the kitchen and even then we were rushed out of it by 8pm. We asked about getting to South Luanga and they called a guy from Budget Safaris to talk to us, the guy was rude and ended up cheating us - not the fault of Deans Lodge but just a word of warning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The property and buildings were very nice. Basic but adequate showers and toilets. The rooms were comfortable, but the mosquito nets had some holes and were not the greatest. It had a full kitchen that we were able to use to cook our own meals, which was very helpful. We met the owner who was friendly and offered to help us later when we were trying to contact the safari company.

Only negative: the walls could have used a good scrubbing. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiigod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you are looking for good, basic, quiet, friendly, cheap accommodation in Chipata, this is the place.it's not the Ritz by a long stretch, but for the price, why would you expect that? The rooms and dorm are clean, the beds have mosquito nets, and the food is quite good. If you're a vegetarian, you may have to go into town to eat. To top it off, the garden is beautiful and there is a lovely view over the city. I stayed here twice on the way to and from South Luangwa. There was a power cut the second time, and it is pretty dark up there and the stairs from the dorm are steep, so make sure you have a headlamp and you will be all set. As noted by a previous commenter, with a bit of legwork, you can arrange cheaper transport to the park on your own, Dean's just has its own price. It's really up to you to work out what you want to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashgar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Situated high upon a hill above the town of Chipata in Zambia. This nice place has a personal touch. The service was excellent. There were no power upon arrival but the man in charge made sure to fix both dinner as well as coffee. There was a feeling that they were there for the new guest, each and everyone greeted with a smile. The small dog of the place was really a jem. Great rooms and beds

Room Tip: Make sure to stay more than one night. Enjoy what they have to offer
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews