We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long day out”
Review of Pulau Ubin

Pulau Ubin
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.70*
and up
Singapore Bike Adventure around Pulau Ubin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The island to the northeast of Singapore is the only place to see an example of the traditional kampong villages that once covered the city-state. It’s a go-to spot for cyclists and hikers with miles of nature trails that weave through old rubber plantations and seaside ecosystems no longer found on the main island. Get there from Changi Point Ferry Terminal via a traditional bumboat for $2.50 a seat – captains will leave only when all seats are sold or if you pay the difference.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Long day out”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are staying in centre of singapore hotel suggested we went to Ubin for the day. We went so far by train, then shared a taxi with another couple to the ferry terminal. Hotel to island took around two hours. Island very pretty we walked from the ferry drop off point to the visitors centre, took just over an hour, we assumed the visitor centre Would have a snack bar, they do not. There is a vending machine for old drinks but you need change, suggest you take water with you.
Big plus we saw a Hugh lizard, monkeys and a family of wild bore really close, made our day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PamY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    281
    49
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A cycle ride back in time”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you really want to escape the urban landscape of Singapore, head out to Pulau Ubin. Apart from looking at the small waterside village, the attraction is cycling along roadways or mountain biking on special trails. Mostly level cycling with some gentle rises on the sealed roads. If you go offroad, then there are three levels to match your cycling skills.

The village consists of a few traditional restaurants and shops jam packed with Mountain Bikes. Literally hundreds of them! We paid $12 for two bikes for around 3 hours.

No beaches to speak of so don't expect to go swimming or anything. Also no ATM's or money changing facilities. The bumboat trip at the time of writing is $2.50 pp one way.

Pulau Ubin is described as Singapore 30 years ago. The most amazing thing is that it is still the way it is. Lets just hope it does not become another Sentosa Island.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Kaalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best place for cycling”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The best place for cycling in Singapore, it is also a place for camping with your friends and family members. The price there is quite ok, especially canned drink. However, it is difficult to buy food when we already entered the kampong area. We couldn't buy any biscuit when we reached the information kiosk although we were very hungry.
Moreover, the restroom, near the jetty quay is terrible, no water and the smell is... (no word to say about it)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Truc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A place for adventure lovers”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Pulau Ubin is a small island near main Singapore land. Its around 15-20 minutes ride on a steam boat from Changi...

A place, for lovers of adventure and Nature. When you land up here, you get a bicycle for rent along with a map of Pulau Ubin.

Using the map you can explore the island on bikes. Amazing opportunity to turn up as Map reader. The trails are magnificient, kind of untouched and offers you excellent views.

You get a feeling of getting transported into an untouched world of old days. A very peaceful and place to connect with friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepti_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A true fun day of adventures : mountain biking trails, wildlife, beautiful lakes, quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This will certainly be one of the highlight of my visit to Singapore!
A great day trip for the ones looking for either a peaceful and quiet place or for the ones like me looking for some real adventure.
All you need here is a bike and you're all set for the day!!! You can rent one on arrival for about 8$. ( test the bike and make sure it's in good conditions, especially if you want to get off the main roads)
This islands is a cyclist heaven!! There are praticaly no cars, except for maybe 2 or 3!! And there is really something for everyone here.
The main roads are well maintained and will take you to the mains points of interest of the island.
My favorite parts were the ketam quarry lake and mountain bike park on the west side of the island and the Chek Jawa wetlands to the east.
2 very different experiences on one island!
For some serious adventure do the whole mountain bike trails that goes all around the lake. It will certenly not suit everyone as it is serious mountain biking. Felt like I was part of amazing race :) make sure you bring water and wear appropriate clothes and shoes.
Yes it's tireing and preapare to swet a lot but it is so much fun!!
The est side of the island is more quiet and peacefull.there is a walking trail going above the water, the mangrove and in the jungle where you can see all sorts of animals if you are patient.

Overall it was a great day and a good surprise a shot trip away from the city

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Etihadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulau Ubin also viewed

Pulau Ubin, Singapore
 

Been to Pulau Ubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing