We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Foggy but exhilarating

I ran up Snaefell, stopped for a bit on the top where it was extremely windy and then headed back... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
FellowTraveler826709
via mobile
A bit of a climb from the road but so worthwhile

The path up from the road is well worn so you won't get lost. the views are stunning and the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
jezbar50
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
Read all 353 reviews
  
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
197
125
19
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
125
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain railway laxey wheel isle of man highest point highest mountain summit hotel electric railway low cloud trig point walk up worth the trip journey takes brilliant views tram stop warm clothing lake district sunny day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I ran up Snaefell, stopped for a bit on the top where it was extremely windy and then headed back down on the mountain tram way. All around good experience but the restaurant at the top had slow moving queues so I decided not to wait for a drink.

1  Thank FellowTraveler826709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The path up from the road is well worn so you won't get lost. the views are stunning and the observation point has many points to look for. A must do, if you cannot walk up then take the train.

Thank jezbar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Extensive views from the summit (on a clear day). You’ll need to take a short walk from the station to reach the high point.
The cafe is nothing special, but is a refuge from the cold wind.

1  Thank Hasherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Took the electric railway from Laxey to Snaefell. Just lovely. Super cafe at the top and stunning views. Very windy! Highly recommended.

Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Snaefell, at 2037’ is the highest summit on the Isle of Man so is a magnet for the ‘baggers’. You can walk up, but most people ‘cheat’ and take the tram from Laxey.

On a clear day the views from the top are fantastic - and the websites make great play of the fact that you can see seven kingdoms from here - Isle of Man, England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Mannanan (or the sea) and Heaven!

The summit complex includes a cafe. It is a short walk to the trig point. There are several communication masts, including air traffic control,on the summit.

It is a delightful spot on a warm sunny day, but the weather can change quickly and the clouds can roll over the top or mist can creep up the sides of the mountain. You lose the views and it can turn very cold, even in the height of summer. Be prepared with an extra sweater!

1  Thank EESW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We caught the train to Laxey & joined a big queue for the snaefell trip. A lot more people got on than I expected as the 2 conductors went out of their way to ensure every seat was filled. There was recorded info on the journeys explaining what to look out for & some history of the area. The Mountain was very steep but views were amazing. At the top is a cafe selling hot/ cold food , drinks, cakes & snacks. It was very clean, quick service & food was good.

Thank utd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

The tram to the top is a lot of fun. The supper was good. Enjoyed the food and service was great. Views were rubbish! Scenic fog! But that can’t be helped. I’d still do it again!! And maybe we’d be luckier with the weather!

Thank Gingerjo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Visiting family in IOM my eldest son decided a climb up Snaefell would be good. Being almost 62 and not the fittest of people I went ahead. Had to stop a few times to get my breath and give my shin muscles a rest (Yes they were in a state of shock)but when i reached the top I felt amazing, totally refreshed. Cafe at top was good will great choice food, even had a little bar that pleased my hubby. Only downside was I decided to go back down by Tram. Only it it about 8 mins as it tooted down the hill but I was a little shocked at the price. 1 Adult and 3 small children . £15.00. Bit steep I thought.

Thank Playedlynny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Its easy to visit here by using the Electric Railway to go up the mountain. Once here the views are amazing - possible to see 4 countries of the UK on a good day, although the weather can change very quickly from sun to rain.

There is a cafe to shelter in if the weather is bad though.

1  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Aexcellent trip to summit of snafell, the train stops by Lady Wheel for some great views. On a good clear day the views are impressive from the summit.

Thank Seasonedtravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews