We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, great hosts, beautiful location”
Review of Ard Aalin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard Aalin B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Laxey B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Ard Aalin during TT 2011 and enjoyed the whole experience. The accommodation is top-notch, the rooms are clean and well presented, food is excellent, views are spectacular, good parking facilities and the owners, Dave and Roz, made us so welcome it was an absolute pleasure staying with them. In fact so much so, we've already booked up for next year.

Room Tip: The double room at the front has the best views
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevnjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Ard Aalin B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

After a long journey on the late and delayed ferry, we were greeted with a cup of tea and even driven to the local pub after Dave phoning to check they were still serving, for our first meal on the Island, which was very much appreciated.
We were placed in a very clean and comfortable room, even stocked with toiletries and a hair dryer which was very useful to my wife as we had limited luggage space.
We were treated to daily weather reports from Roseleen, which turned out to be invaluable & accurate! Breakfast times were arranged the night before for whenever and whatever we liked, which was a great help to get to some of the early race starts.

Manx electric railway and the bus route are within 5 Min walk and the Mines is a good pub for evening meals that is 15 Min walk, though the walk home is up hill (try the Laxey dash!).

All in all we had an amazing stay on a beautiful island with wonderful friendly people in what was a busy time of year. Will definitely be going for a second visit. Highly recommended!!! Many thanks to Dave & Roseleen .

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A lovely Bungalow overlooking the Bay, with first class facilities, and the most comfortable of en suite bedrooms. Very accommodating hosts and it was a real pleasure to have stayed there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

A friend and I were walking around the Isle of Man. We had walked from Ramsey to Laxey and were dismayed to find no cafe open especially as we had to climb up a fairly steep hill to reach our B&B. The first thing we were asked on arrival was did we want a cup of tea!! Joy of joys and they so friendly. It was very much like being at home with friends. Both bedrooms were immaculate having only recently been totally refurbished and virtually rebuilt. We were given a lift in the evening to the nearby Liverpool Arms where we had a sumptuous meal and were duly driven back to the B&B. Breakfast was fabulous and served with stunning views over the coast. All in all, a little gem that deserves to succeed.

Room Tip: No worries - both rooms are equally good
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Famrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We've always liked Laxey as a base on visits to the island so were pleased to see another B&B had opened.

Ard Aalin enjoys an elevated position above the Douglas road with lovely views from the patio and Dining Room across the bay to open water. Off road parking is available and it's well served by buses and trams.

The whole house is newly decorated and spotlessly clean. Guest rooms are both en-suite and decorated and furnished to high standards. Beds were new and very comfortable. With more considerate guests in the adjoining room 'Sleep Quality' would have been 5* but, with no effective acoustic insulation between the rooms, we could hear noises (talk, toilets flushing etc) late night and early morning.

The owners (Dave and Roseleen) unobtrusively go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Breakfast time is very flexible and can be pretty much what you want and there always seems to be a 'brew' on the go. Guests are encouraged to 'feel at home' with no petty rules and an open door policy.

We really enjoyed our break and plan to stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: One twin and one double defines your choice.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank humlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

A wonderfully decorated B&B with lovely sea views.
Friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome and were happy to answer any questions about the Islands attractions.
Generous breakfast with flexible times.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevenCaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Beautiful location, lovely rooms with lovely views and fabulous breakfasts. Great friendly hosts, every thing you could wish for. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laxey
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#2 of 36 in Douglas
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Arches
The Arches
#2 of 11 in Port Erin
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellan Vannin
Ellan Vannin
#1 of 36 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Aalin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Aalin B&B

Address: Ard Aalin Pinfold Hill, Laxey IM4 7HW
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Laxey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Laxey
Price Range: $59 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ard Aalin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing