We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lorraine is a star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mines Tavern

Mines Tavern
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Laxey
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lorraine is a star!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Once again Lorraine, you have done me proud! I have been eating at the Mines for the last 10 years - over the past few I have developed an addiction to Lorraines Queenies in the Manx Sauce. I rang Lorraine just over a week ago, in preparation for my visit - and Lorraine didn't disappoint! There were plenty of Queenies for not just me, but my friends as well,on more than one visit - Lorraine's Queenies are one of the best dishes I have ever tasted - up with food from the River Cottage HQ. You HAVE to visit the Mines Tavern - TOP pub, TOP food. Thank you Lorraine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieWhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tip top TT chilli”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a day out on the bikes exploring Man, we're all tired and needing some good hot food. Not keen on the standard pub grub (burger n chips, fish n chips, gammon n chips... get the picture?), we took a chance on the Mines Tavern. The pub's tradition - wood bar and furniture, good local beers, mindwarp carpet. It was jammed outside. Good sign. (There was a live band on later on too. Something on every night of the TT, I think.)
A round (beers, g&t, shandy) and a quick dinner decision: all four of us had the 'Bonneville special' chilli - two veggie, two beef. And jackpot! Exactly what we needed: arrived quickly, piping hot, and tasty. Re-fuelled and warmed up ready for another night in the tent. Thanks Lorraine (cooking in the kitchen, and served us too) - we'll be back this weekend to try your mushroom stroganoff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sooze_SUA_VLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
“Superb food & superior service! Loved the old memorabilia of the railways! Make it a part of your day in Laxey!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped at the Mines Tavern for lunch after our visit to the Laxey Wheel. This Public House is conveniently located just next to the Laxey Station along the tracks.

The rounded bar is really cool….it looks exactly like the exterior of a Manx electric railway tramcar!

We loved the décor – the vintage IOM travel posters and the old photos on the walls showing the Ant & Bee from the Laxey Mine Railway and the Laxey wheel.

They have really nice daily Specials written up on boards which we tried and had no regrets! The food was delivered really fast and tasted delicious! The service was superior!

Food options are very limited in the area, so you may not have a choice but to eat here if spending the day going to Laxey and Snaefell. However, even if there were other pubs, we would still choose Mines Tavern again for the ambience and the stellar service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“friendly pub”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came here on the electric railway from Douglas, and then went up to Snaefell and returned to Laxey for lunch. The Mines Tavern is very convenient for the station. We had a warm welcome, and, as time was of the essence, settled for beef sandwiches and drinks. The real ale was excellent and well looked after. Sandwiches came with salad and crisps. Good value for money and prompt service. Old fashioned, friendly place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for the specials board”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

As a previous reviewer has said, the standard menu is a bit...boring? Jacket potatoes and burgers being the main items. However the specials board is something different again. There were four main course specials. I had the Manx queenies with bacon and garlic, served with chips and salad. Husband had steak and ale pie, again with chips but with veg not salad. I can't remember what the other two specials were.

Both dishes were very good value for money and served with reasonable promptness. The queenies were cooked just right and the pie was also very good from what I was told. We ate outside as it was such a warm evening and you can't fault the surroundings as the pub is right by the Manx Electric Railway station at Laxey. Normally there isn't any traffic on the line in the evening but on a Wednesday night, when we were there, there is, so we had that interest to occupy us as well.

The menu didn't have any desserts on it but if you ask, they sometimes have some, apparentl. There were two or three available the night we were there but in the end we were too full to take advantage.

Not bad value for money at around £11 a head.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anji D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mines Tavern also viewed

 
Laxey, Isle of Man
Laxey, Isle of Man
 
Onchan, Isle of Man
 

Been to Mines Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing