We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last meal before boarding ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port Jack Chippy

Port Jack Chippy
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Onchan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fantastic fast food takeaway and diner - traditional fish and chip menu offering options for everyone - pensioners, and kids meals and lunchtime specials
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Last meal before boarding ferry”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

It has a great atmosphere and all so friendly. Been coming to this chippy for nearly 50 years its a must every time I visit the Island. It was my Dads favourite place too. Good value meals esp for the older generation. Great views over the sea. Real handy for meal before boarding the ferry or when just arriving. Never an issue parking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Camperslastlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    58
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Chippy”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Used to come here as a kid whilst on holiday well over 10 years ago and have fond memories eating fish and chips whilst the trams whistled on by. Went here recently having coming back to the island not really expecting much. i was wrong, the food was good, service friendly and over all experience left me leaving happy and nostalgic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“half price fish and chips but needs to go up a notch with premiumn products”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

go regularly on a Saturday to save cooking - as a chippy it is convenient for us and having trid the mobile chippy in corkills car park - cant understand the fuss about them as its nothing special at all
Port Jack is suffering with the weather and this mobile chippy ( again why its not great) - think Port Jack is up and down and rather than offering half price food need to up their quality control as fish can be very dodgy sometimes and a strange colour with a smoked taste - not nice then other times its good.
Would like to be able to have a choice of fish like on the mainland where you can have cod, plaice or haddock not some pollock or whatever - yes keep that but offer the customer the chance to pay for a premium product and sell quality - thats what people want and expect and this would make it stand out from other basic chippies

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charly1, Owner at Port Jack Chippy, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on Port Jack Chippy.

I am very sorry and disappointed that you did not enjoy our Fish.

Our family have been serving fish & chips in the Isle of Man since 1980 in this time we have only ever used the best quality fish and potatoes and whenever possible, local and sustainable produce is used. All our fish is cooked freshly & our quality control on our fish is monitored on a daily basis by our experienced and trained fryers who prepare the fish each day.

The fish we provide is Cod & Haddock we have never served Pollock as you mentioned.

We have tried to sell other variations of fish but we have found in the past years since we have been in business that our customers at all three of our fish & chip shops mainly buy cod & haddock. They are the most popular.

We would be happy to fry any kind of fish you would like, please call us and let us know, we can try and source it for you and prepare and cook it when you visit, we have done this for customers before.

Please let me clarify that we are not suffering with the weather or the mobile chippy that you also mention, we are a thriving family business that keeps busy all year round with great regular customers like yourself and a large population of holiday makers that visit us each year.

We offer specials all year round in the diner and takeaway in all our three fish and chip shops and have done for many previous years. We like to provide specials to please our regular customers and to provide value for money.

I have spoken to all of my fryers regarding your comments on the quality of the fish and we take your feedback on board in order to improve your experience, and hope to welcome you back to Port Jack Chippy and to be able to serve you again in the near future. Please contact Port jack Chippy on 622487 and ask for the manager on duty if you need any further information or
requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fish and chips by the sea, quality!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Been craving proper fish and chips whilst travelling, so amazing to be able to come home and treat the family to a dying culinary experience. You can keep your fancy restaurants, for me this place is proper food, simple but fantastic. Staff were uber friendly, very accommodating with my small children, always had a smile. We will be back very soon!!!! Five star fish and chips

Helpful?
Thank Mrfamily79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Chippy”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Eaten here many times and almost always excellent. Had one average meal but usually excellent. Service always excellent both in restaurant and take away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Jack Chippy also viewed

Port Erin, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Port Erin, Isle of Man
 

Been to Port Jack Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing