We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Creg-ny-baa

Creg-ny-baa
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Onchan
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This pub does marvellous meals and has a hospitality package during the TT races on the IOM in June. Their service is superb and i would like to acknowledge that.
Lake District UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Good old-style, out of town pub, with a large car park and a traditional menu. Interesting Pies and other specialities displayed on blackboards. We were a party of 4 adults and visited mid-week for lunch. We were surprised at how busy it was, it’s obviously popular, we were greeted with “have you booked? No problems follow me”. The food all arrived in reasonable time served by a pleasant smiling waitress and was of good quality, hot, and well presented. All agreed we enjoyed our meal. Recommended

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buggerthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    70
    26
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onchan, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“chips where dire”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went there a week ago at lunch time with some friends hoping for a nice meal, we all ordered the same meal Quirkies fish and chips which at £10.50 was not cheap.
Fish was quite nice though not hot chips where the most awful I have ever had in anywhere on the island - dire. They where I expect pre blanched then plunged in warm fat for seconds - as they where almost raw - horrible with a slight crunch of raw potato- so inedible, peas where marrowfats and where like bullets. Our plates where left on our table for nearly an hour while they cleared tables near us -obviously didn't want to clear our table with other customers within ear shot in case we complained - we decided not too but vote with our feet by not returning.
Such a shame after there refit that the food was not up to scratch- had thought it would have improved from being there approx a year before when meal then was only so so then.
other pubs in the area there food is cheaper and cooked properly

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch on the 9th after seeing that it had been refurbished. The place looks nice enough but doesn't wow you as it is still a traditional looking establishment (nothing wrong with that).

Had Sunday lunch and it was ok, the prawn cocktail I had was fine if nothing I couldn't do myself and the main course of roast beef was again quite reasonable and a decent portion for the price.

Having said that it's location means it is a special trip out of the way and I just didn't think the food was good enough to make me go out of my way to go there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhumsaa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent family run establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visited the Famous Creg-ny-baa last Friday for lunch, luckily we arrived early as all the tables were taken by 12:30pm. Despite the restaurant and bar being full our meal was served pretty quickly, we had the fish and chips which were cooked to perfection, followed by lemon meringue pie and coffee.
The Creg has recently been fully refurbished to a very high standard, it is has a contemporary feel in the restaurant whilst retaining the traditional charm of a country pub.
I would highly recommend a visit, well done Sandrina, Mark and the team.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful day up the mountain.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Creg has recently been refurbished, so the day we went for lunch it was absolutely packed, the staff were very attentive, and within 15mins we were all seated with refreshments, our order was taken fairly quickly, and half an hour later we were all served with piping hot fish and chips which was delicious, the home made batter was nice and crispy and the fish inside perfect, without being obtrusive the waitress was attentive, and we had a lovely array of desserts to choose from, I would certainly recommend the Creg for a down to earth priced good pub lunch,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creg-ny-baa also viewed

 
Ballaugh, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Creg-ny-baa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing