We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
The Byre is a new build stone cottage and forms the West end of a Barn complex on an old farm yard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre is a new build stone cottage and forms the West end of a Barn complex on an old farm yard.
A private entrance to the Barns and Byre. Evening at the Byre and The Barns.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Byre is a new build stone cottage and forms the West end of a Barn complex on an old farm yard.
A private entrance to the Barns and Byre.
Evening at the Byre and The Barns.
You can open the double doors to enjoy the evening sunshine. The Byre faces West.
A stable door provides air conditioning on those (5?) really hot days!
Ste of the art freeview TV and docking station allows you to watch movies or get your music on.
The double doors in the kitchen, open onto the old farm yard.
Double vaulted - the bedroom is roomy!
The Kingsize bed is a zip and link to two singles on request.
The bedroom faces west for the evening sun with ample storage for your gear.
A 'Mira' power shower will wash the mud off you walkers and mountain bikers!
The Floor plan. One of the sofa's in the living area is a sofa bed.
A rustic Pic Nic table in your own garden area in front of the Byre.
A secret staircase leads to an elevated sun deck and star gazing platform. We are a dark skies area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Santon, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DouglasFP...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A really lovely apartment. Extremely well equipped kitchen, lounge with state-of-the-art TV, etc., nice big bed, great shower and beautifully furnished.
Would recommend this place to anyone wanting quality accommodation on the island. Very conveniently situated between Douglas and Castletown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Thank you. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the Isle of Man “liquid” sunshine! Err rain ! Come again soon! N and L.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2017
Thank you for your thoughts and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Perfect guests and very welcome.
Kindest Regards N
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NoxyT
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage !!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Barn is absolutely top class rental accommodation with lovely owners Nigel, Lorraine and son Guy. It is spacious, fitted out to the highest standards, and with everything you need especially in the kitchen. It feels deep in the country with the steam railway at the foot of the garden - the trains pass regularly and all very atmospheric - but is only half a mile from the main road to Douglas for ferries, and in the other direction 15 mins from the airport. There are no shops or restaurants nearby so a car is essential. Not cheap but worth every penny - probably the best self catering accommodation we have ever used. Highly recommended - when we return to the IoM we will use again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Thank you so much guys - we do our best and you are model guests! Come back soon and enjoy! N and L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sense of space and comfort
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Thank you - So glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DTandAT
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accomodation”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved the accommodation especially the high vaulted ceilings of this recently modernised barn conversion. The flow of the rooms was great which are all at ground floor level. There is a lovely spacious farmhouse kitchen, a very comfortable living room, separate hall and bathroom with modern shower, and a large and spacious master bedroom. We also had access to the garage with automatic doors which we used to store our push bikes over night. The garden was huge and well maintained, and the steam train ran parallel with it and the station is only a short walk away. The Accomodation is rated 4 star, and it definitely exceeded our expectations.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Guys - thank you and really glad you enjoyed your break, auf wiedersehen! N and L.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShayEddy
Scunthorpe
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Faultless Accomodation with the perfect hosts”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I booked the Byre for myself and my father, who is not so nimble any more.
Having everything at one level, with easy access and a large walk-in shower was ideal for us.
Despite a very early arrival we were made most welcome and even had a food and wine parcel left for us.
The accommodation was faultless and as comfortable and well appointed as you could wish for. Everything is included to make your stay as easy as possible.
I cannot recommend this place enough.
We will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Such lovely people are easy to welcome. So glad you enjoyed tie Byre. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben q
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

excellent home away from home environment, the hosts were wonderfully welcoming, friendly and accommodating, the scenery was picture perfect and the Mira shower was really unnecessarily decadent. We loved every minute of it and would love to go again. Would reccomend to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful getaway not too far from everything. Out of the handful of self catering places I've stayed at, this is my favourite. The photos of the cottage don't do it justice.

Many thanks,

Ben, Heli and Jen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nigel
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Guys - really kind - it was lovely to have you around and hope all goes well for you this year! Cheers
Nige
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing