We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IOM TT week 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Stavanger
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“IOM TT week 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

First visit to Isle of Man and we got this hotel by chance.
They've had a fire in one section of the hotel so they only had 10 rooms now. But what a service!! Brilliant people! Brilliant surroundings and a fairly nice restaurant! Lovely people!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltus-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    69
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
47
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am tbe Secretary of the Manx Breast Cancer Support Group. We recently held a charity event at the Mount Murray with "Malcolm Pitt" as a Lionel Ritchie tribute singer and the brilliant band "Shoddywaddy" in aid of our appeal to raise funds to build a dedicated breast unit here on the Isle of Man.

I have to commend the Mount Murray on their service, it was second to none. The gentleman (I"m sorry didn't get his name) who helped arrange the smooth running of the evening's events was so polite, efficient and courteous, he is a credit to your hotel.

We also had a two course meal which was piping hot and thoroughly enjoyable.

We will definitely book any future events with you. Thanks again.
Karen

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Since the fire to the hotel wing Mount Murray is surviving on the restaurant and spa. They offer a lunch menu for £10, three course with coffee and for what you pay the value is unbeatable, The menu of course is limited but it is very good value and the quality is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 657maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I was in the Isle of Man for a family funeral and was planning to stay 2 nights but ended up staying a 3rd night due to a storm cancelled flight. Having just read of the fire a couple of weeks after may visit, I would like to extend my condolences to those employed there. The staff, especially in the restaurant and at reception made the hotel a wonderful place to be over a difficult few days for me.
The rooms were very comfortable and smelled of fresh paint. The food was good in both the restaurant and bar.
I wish all concerned the best while the work is being done to rebuild. I for one, would be happy to stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

On the 7th November 2013 the Mount Murray Hotel suffered from a catastrophic fire that has destroyed the accommodation block. The separate, second building which houses the bar, gym & function room was saved from damage and the owner said that they hope to have the function area, gym etc open for business again within days.

However the accommodation block will need to be entirely rebuilt (see my photos).

Very sad to see any business experience something as destructive as this.

Since my last review, I returned because a visiting colleague was staying there. The new manager was perhaps having an impact because the food & service was a massive improvement, which makes it even more sad that as they were apparently improving, this happens.

In short, if you are looking for somewhere to stay at the end of 2013 and for most, if not all of 2014 then you will need to look elsewhere. For Weddings etc they will hopefully be back soon.

Ratings based on my last meal there in Oct '13.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iom_keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor my expectations were low. Having stayed for a long weekend we found the hotel to be great (yes a little dated in parts) but overall a clean, adequate and with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has good facilities - gym, squash courts, swimining pool (which I didn't use) and a great golf course. My only niggle was that our room was on the ground floor with no views (we just got a standard room), but it was a generous size room and with a good bathroom. Breakfast was also great!
I would definitely return to the hotel for another stay and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I am local, also gym member, decided to meet my son and grandchildren for lunch in bar area, which has a child menu, ordered our food, waited well over half an hour for food, kids very well behaved but hungry, had to get serving staff to chase up food, eventually served, food good, then ordered ice cream for children, 25 mins later still waiting! Sob story from waiting staff, re only one chef etc, not our problem! Eventually Manager called, who sorted ice cream and reduced the bill! Happy to pay full bill, just wanted nice lunch with my son and grandchildren! This did not happen!! Will not eat there again,,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elmabt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santon
3.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
3.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club

Property: Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Address: Ballacutchel Road, Santon IM4 2HT
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Santon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to the Isle of Man is for business or pleasure, Mount Murray Hotel Isle of Man offers a multitude of facilities for the discerning traveller. Perfectly set in 200 acres of beautiful Manx countryside and ideally located between the airport and Douglas, this AA rated four-star Isle of Man hotel, has 90 of the largest bedrooms, superb health and fitness centre, hydrotherapy unit and indoor swimming pool.The Mount Murray is the only Isle of Man hotel with its own 18-hole championship golf course with spectacular views across the Island.Extensive conference and banqueting facilities offer a variety of suites to meet requirements for any event, be it a business presentation or a romantic wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Murray Hotel And Country Club
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club Isle Of Man/Santon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing