We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daphne's opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Bit of a come-down after the Bromsgrove Hilton !!!!!! Beautiful surroundings with good access to whole island.We were told it was the best hotel on the island but there was no attention to detail.The staff were very friendly and helpful. The menu was disappointing,and I missed my fried eggs for breakfast ( a once a year holiday treat) but when brought one ,which was ordered separately,it was awful:I stuck with the scrambled egg for the rest of week !!! One had to go outside to reach the restaurant:fortunately it wasn't cold in September.The rooms were O.K. but there was nowhere to dry clothes when one got soaking wet !!!! (only the towel rail). The TV could have been better.

Room Tip: Block where the restaurant was situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you so much for the feedback, something we always welcome and of course thank you for staying at Mount Murray Hotel and Country Club. We are the best hotel on the island and we vow to strive for improvement where such is warranted or where we have been found wanting.

This specific review does not accurately reflect certain aspects of our complex. Our guests from the principal accommodation wing can choose to go to the restaurant by passing from that wing under an expansive and fully covered arch to the building containing the many amenities of the complex, this includes the bar and restaurant. However the restaurant can also be accessed by taking the elevator in the accommodation wing to a higher floor and walking across the enclosed connecting corridor to the other wing and walking down the main staircase to the hotel foyer.

A drying area for wet clothes is not a common facility in hotels but it is certainly something we will consider.

Thank you again,

E. Speekenbrink
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 172 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent accommodation, staff very friendly, leisure centre excellent , great views over golf course from bedroom, easy to find only 15 mins from port, plenty 0f parking space .breakfast and evening meals well presented and plentiful . all in all cant find anything to complain about

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was led to believe that this was THE hotel to stay at whilst visiting the Isle of Man. Sadly, I wasn't impressed. On a positive note, the hotel is situated in a beautiful area and, if you like golf, on the doorstep to a golf course. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts were very good.
On a more negative note, my room was dark with no temperature control. There was a radiator, but that was it! The lighting in the bathroom lighting was dire. Very difficult to have a wet shave and no good for my wife to apply her beauty treatments!!
The pool was very cold and looked more like a public baths. That said, I loved the hydrotherapy area.
This is a hotel that promises much, but delivers a lot less.
I visit the IOM about once a year and will not use this hotel anymore.

Room Tip: You can pay extra to get a bigger bed, however, it you really don't need it, then don't wast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for four nights mid August for a 'relaxing' break. Upon arriving at the hotel after a long day of travel on the coach/ferry were informed that due to refurbishment the pool was closed- refurbishment in August??!! There was no previous communication regarding the closure - why not?! Apart from being very disappointed at not being able to swim, the hotel although set in a pleasant position had very little to offer. Our room on the lower floor had no view - small window looking onto a wall although we could see the sky! The lighting in the room was so dim that you couldn't read in bed and the pillows seemed like hard sponge - no alternative as you can get even in low cost Premier Inns. The food was acceptable - breakfast better than the evening meal. The public rooms were dim and uninviting. As the hotel is a number of miles from Douglas and a little isolated, we needed to use the coach every day to see anything at all.

The one plus point for the hotel were the very helpful and friendly staff. The kind waiter who helped one of members of the party who was unwell over the four days to chose her meals, carry everything for her and generally cheer her up. The gentleman on the reception who tried to find us a better room and the gentleman who got a tray and took our breakfast to our table on the last morning of our stay before a very early departure - thanks!

Room Tip: Beware of rooms in the annexe on either level 1 or 2 as there is no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights recently. Our first problem was the fact that we were informed on check-in that the pool was closed - we were unaware of this before our arrival and clearly the management did not feel it necessary to inform guests already booked for the period in question that this was the case. Would an email have been too much? In the early hours of our first night there the fire alarm went off and the hotel was evacuated - this turned out to be a false alarm. The following night the fire alarm went off at just after 11pm but as we were leaving the room the alarm stopped - presumably another false alarm but we weren't notified. The following morning I received a phone call from reception asking if everything was ok - apparently the fire alarm for our room had gone off at reception. When I told them everything was fine and there was no reason for the alarm to have gone off I was then asked whether we had had a shower!
It turns out that despite the bathroom door being shut, the steam from the shower had activated the fire alarm. The receptionist told me to 'open the window'!! There was no window in the bathroom so we had to leave the window to our room open. There are clearly issues at this hotel with the fire alarm system and obviously the staff are aware of this - hence phone calls to rooms. I suggest an overhaul of the bathroom ventilation systems as a starting point.
Generally, the hotel obviously mainly caters for coach and wedding parties and the emphasis seems to be on satisfying these guests before any others.
On the plus side, breakfasts were good!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank buntyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A party of 4 we booked a table at Mallards Restaurant here. There were only about 10 other people eating when we arrived. Having decided not to have a starter we ordered our main course and a bottle of wine. As we waited over half an hour for the food to arrive we had finished the wine ! We ordered another bottle and despite repeated requests this only arrived as we finished eating. So we sent it back.. The manager then arrived asked what was the problem and said he had had to go to the cellar to fetch the wine and as he had 170 guests stopping in the hotel he was rather busy! Other diners were also having to wait and one man eating alone made the mistake of going outside to smoke to find his table had been cleared while he was out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for four nights whilst on a coach trip to IOM. Room excellent although many on the floor so lots of noisy people retuning to their rooms at all hours. Restaurant small so food almost served in sittings. But great choice, lots of it and well cooked and served. Staff amazing...nothing is too much trouble . Very busy over the weekend though as weddings and other functions happening all at same time. Disappointed as swimming pool out of action.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view as many had rooms facing another wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicadyBeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santon
0.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club

Address: Ballacutchel Road, Santon IM4 2HT
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Santon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Price Range: $99 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to the Isle of Man is for business or pleasure, Mount Murray Hotel Isle of Man offers a multitude of facilities for the discerning traveller. Perfectly set in 200 acres of beautiful Manx countryside and ideally located between the airport and Douglas, this AA rated four-star Isle of Man hotel, has 90 of the largest bedrooms, superb health and fitness centre, hydrotherapy unit and indoor swimming pool.The Mount Murray is the only Isle of Man hotel with its own 18-hole championship golf course with spectacular views across the Island.Extensive conference and banqueting facilities offer a variety of suites to meet requirements for any event, be it a business presentation or a romantic wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Murray Hotel And Country Club
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club Isle Of Man/Santon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing