We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Possibly the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a lovely surprise we got on arrival at the Hermitage Court Farm! We arrived late at night to a very warm welcome. Our room (St Catherine's Suite) was gorgeous, immaculately clean and perfectly appointed. We especially loved the fluffy towels and beautiful bed linen (on our enormous bed!) The homemade biscuits and little fridge with bottled water and soya milk especially for us were fabulous touches. I hadn't really thought too much about where we were staying before we travelled and I was thrilled at how gorgeous everything was - highly recommended!
Jane and Chris were exceptional hosts - friendly, genuine and easy going. Breakfast was outstanding with a great choice of fresh food that set us up perfectly for a) a long day at a wedding and b) the morning after!!
The setting of the farm is amazing, wonderful views, ideal for a quick run over the hills in the morning!
I really can't praise this place highly enough, it's impossible to find fault with anything - thank you for a wonderful weekend - hope to see you again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
277
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our fifth visit to the Hermitage Court farm and it just gets better every year. Nothing is more relaxing than waking up to the birds singing and the most amazing view across the countryside to the sea. The rooms are so luxurious I can never wait to return in the evening to just relax and watch the huge flat screen tv from the comfort of the bed! The breakfasts are amazing cooked and served by the hosts, Jayne and Chris who always aim to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sheer chance we found this lovely B&B but what a find. Great welcome, very well cooked and presented breakfast, clean and comfortable room with view back to the mainland and situated at the meeting of three footpaths. With notice, Jayne can cook you an evening meal so you could stay for a few days and not use your car if you are into walking. We are sure to be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

an absolute gem of a place, would highly recommend letting Jayne and Chris spoil you with their homemade breakfast, cakes & delightful accommodation.

room was modern and spotless with excellent views across the countryside.

a perfect way to spend our bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saint125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A brilliant place to stay away from it all, in a truly fabulous position on one of the best walks on the Island, with stunning views. The room was even better than it looked from the photos, spotless and comfortable, and attention to detail was evident throughout. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, and made us feel at home straight away. We'll be back!
Bobbie M

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

You would have to go a long way to beat this perfect B&B -in fact it is probably impossible to do so! My partner and I stayed here for six nights in August and would not hesitate to return. Jayne and Chris were exceptional hosts , adopting just the right balance in their approach to guests- they were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area but not at all intrusive. They so obviously care about their guests and work hard to maintain such high standards!
The location is wonderful- as another reviewer has said it is off the beaten track but well worth it. There are marvellous views and plenty of wildlife even on the lawn of the property! Whilst breakfasting we saw a woodpecker, partridge and stoat and driving back up the track one night we saw badgers and a fox, and a buzzard on the way out one day. It is so quiet and peaceful and the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. We stayed in the Niton Suite which was immaculately clean and beautifully serviced each day. How lovely to have so much space-a large modern en-suite and also an adjacent sitting area . As for the breakfasts, there is plenty to choose from and they set you up for the day as the portions are very generous. The fridge in the suite was very useful and it was great to have water and milk provided. Although we were out and about during most days we did appreciate the free Wi-Fi and Sky TV. If you are looking for a B&B on this beautiful island, don't miss the chance to stay here-you will be planning your return before you even get home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Friendly, helpful, generous hosts, a location of rare peacefulness, wonderful walks on the downs right out of the door and badgers, rabbits, woodpeckers and swallows just outside the door. With well placed for access to all parts of the island you can book with confidence and look forward to a memorable stay. We will definitely be returning to this B&B.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
259 reviews
5.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
289 reviews
5.5 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Enchanted Manor
Enchanted Manor
#1 of 1 in Niton
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Property: Hermitage Court Farm
Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Whitwell, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing