We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Court Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Court Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at Hermitage Court to attend a wedding at the local Hermitage Hotel. Chris and Jayne couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The room was large and very clean. The outlook is beautiful although we didn't get a chance to do any walking. I would certainly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Son123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
260
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
HULL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were greeted by Chris when we arrived and he showed us to the St Catherine's Suite - a beautifully appointed,well equipped room with bathroom and separate WC. It had a large flat screen satellite TV, fridge with complimentary fresh milk and bottled water, a tea tray with gluten-free biscuits for my sister, fitted wardrobe with plenty of hangers and dressing gowns!
Chris made us a welcome cup of tea and put out gluten-free biscuits for my sister and normal biscuits for me. He was very welcoming and friendly.

We went to visit our Aunty and came back and had a very good, quiet, comfortable night.

In daylight, the views from the dining room were wonderful - you are right in the middle of the countryside. We met Jayne, who was also very welcoming and friendly and cooked us an excellent , generous breakfast. We felt very welcome and in fact could have stayed chatting to them all day! We went to see Aunty and returned for another excellent, comfortable night.
The last day we had another superb breakfast and felt like we were saying goodbye to two friends.

My sister Chris also wanted to say a very special thank you for the trouble Jayne and Chris went to, to meet our special dietary needs - gluten-free and vegetarian sausages. In fact nothing was too much trouble!

We shall certainly hope to stay again next time we go to visit Aunty!
Thank you very much for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELSA s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. After such a long and difficult journey we are so glad you both enjoyed yourselves both on the Island and here at Hermitage Court Farm. We really do look forward to seeing you both again in the spring along with Aunty for a cup of tea!
Chris and I wish you and your families a very Happy Christmas and a Wonderful, Healthy and Peaceful New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Hermitage Court Farm. In much need of a good dose of quietness, me and my husband chose this B&B upon reading the many reviews written here, and are we ever so glad to have chosen it. Driving further away from main roads you get deeper into the farmland until you finally reach the farm. Surrounded by the downs, the scenery is absolutely stunning. If it weren't for the fact that it was our first time at the Isle of Wight, we could have easily just stayed at the farm and spent our weekend exploring the surrounding area by foot If you like quietude, nature, or to simply walk, you won't be disappointed, the farm is just perfectly located for that. If you also want a bit of buzz, a few minutes by car will take you to the nearest town.
The Stenbury room where we stayed was beautiful, very comfortable, spacious, and had amazing views over the downs. Waking up to those views was priceless.
Jayne is a wonderful host, and I can only thank her for accommodating so thoughtfully for my food allergies, breakfast as well as the treats left everyday in our bedroom were delicious! Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catarina-MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are delighted that you both thoroughly enjoyed your first visit to The Island and that you found your much sort after area of peace and relaxation. Thank you very much for your kind words we realise how valuable and precious time away together is and try to provide the facilities for you to enjoy yourselves and be comfortable. We really do look forward to meeting you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for the third time, in October. This time we stayed in the new Niton suite...it was huge and gorgeous...! Everything about Hermitage Court Farm is wonderful especially Jane and Chris who could not be more welcoming and friendly. We shall be returning at least twice next year and can't wait. It really is the best place to stay on the island, so quiet and beautiful, a definite must! Perfection!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank generallee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, it is always lovely having guests returning. Chris and I are so pleased that you all had a wonderful couple of days on The Island. Looking forward to your pre Christmas visit and the big birthday vacation in February 13.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was my mine and my partners first time in the Isle of Wight and Hermitage Court Farm, run by the lovely Jayne and Chris, contributed towards making our short break perfect.

Hertmitage Court Farm is hidden away in beautiful IOW countryside so enjoys fabulous views. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast is amazing!

Looking forward to going back there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammiek85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Chris and I are extremely pleased that you both enjoyed your first visit to The Isle of Wight. Although it was a short break we hope that you can return for some much needed R&R in the future. We really do look forward to meeting you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

For our first trip back to the IOW for at least 15 years, we were extremely lucky to have found such a wonderful spot to base ourselves for our reexploration of the island. I thoroughly enjoyed the journey up to the house through the farmland and away from any main road. Quietness is at a premium these days and Jayne and Chris's place has it - as well as great views and a wonderfully warm welcome (great cake!). The Stenbury Room that we stayed in, is really well decorated with a comfortable bed and excellent en-suite. We missed the badgers digging up Chris's lawn during the night! Breakfast was something to shout about - especially the wonderful bowl of fruit salad that was well received by us both but especially by Mrs Y. I, as befits a slightly tubby older man, thoroughly enjoyed the full English. Jayne and Chris are good listeners - part of their welcoming nature - just as well really 'cause we like to chat!

Room Tip: Great views from The Stenbury Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noeline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very glad that you both thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Hermitage Court Farmhouse and on The Isle of Wight again after such a long time. We really do look forward to you returning in the future and don't worry the Badgers will still be here - not sure about the garden though! As an exciting addition the Barn Owl has been around a lot in the evening which has been fantastic to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Jayne and Chris have created a perfect hideaway for peace and quiet. The drive up the road to the farmhouse is not for the fainthearted and I would not like to attempt it in bad weather but it was well worth it for the stunning views from the house. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable and the large screen TV was a big plus point for my teenage son! Breakfast was freshly cooked and absolutely delicious. I had a long chat with Jayne and Chris afterwards and they made me feel very much at home. I will definitely recommend it to my friends and colleagues and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate55murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage777, Owner at Hermitage Court Farm, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a real pleasure meeting you both and we hope you find your little hideaway here on the Isle of Wight soon.
Chris and Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
3.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chale Bay Farm
Chale Bay Farm
#1 of 4 in Chale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
5.6 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.9 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Court Farm

Property: Hermitage Court Farm
Address: Hermitage Court Farm St Catherines' Down, Whitwell PO38 2PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Court Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermitage Court Farm is the Isle of Wight’s most secluded and tranquil Bed and Breakfast accommodation: the ideal place in which to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living and relax for a while between the green of the downs and the blue of the sky, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.Perched cosily under the tops of the National Trust’s St Catherine’s Down, and gazing down over the beautiful rural Isle of Wight countryside towards the waters of the Solent, the ten-acre Farm is hidden away, well off beaten tracks and more than a mile from the nearest main road, on the southern side of the Island. From here, and from the Downs at our doors, you can see everything ... yet hear nothing but the odd rabbit thumping across the lawn, a pigeon chortling, or the woodpeckers dining in the trees.Our peaceful surroundings, however, hide the opportunity for plenty of action. The Downs of the isle of Wight are full of history-from ancient burial mounds and a medieval lighthouse to one of Britain’s most amusing Victorian follies - and full of opportunities for leisurely exploration. A network of the Island’s well-known bridleways and footpaths crosses various parts of the property, and there is direct access to over a hundred miles of the finest and best-maintained footpaths, riding tracks and mountain-bike trails in Britain.A twenty-minute stroll across the Downs (or a very much shorter car trip) brings you to the nearby village of Niton, with its charming shops and friendly pubs, while a little further on you come to the famously picturesque village of Godshill with its much-photographed thatched roofs and celebrated cream teas. The Isle of Wight coastal towns of Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor - famous as holiday venues from Victorian times -- with their glorious beaches and their cliff walks are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hermitage Court Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Court Farm Whitwell, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing