We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful barn in lovely area.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Slade Barn Gower

Front parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area
Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Master bedroom
Master bedroom showing en suite
Seating area viewed from kitchen
Seating area towards kitchen
Three cliffs bay 10 minutes drive from cottage
Slade sands 5 minutes walk from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oxwich, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TravelKin...
Canbera, A.C.T.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn in lovely area.”
Reviewed January 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We - 5 of us - spent Christmas in this beautiful and very comfortable barn conversion with under floor heating and all mod cons including a log fire although the weather was quite mild and we didn't need to light it as the under floor heating was so efficient. The master bedroom and 2nd double were large and it was great having 3 good size bathrooms. Slade Barn is in a quiet area, close to the beach and with lots of walks from the door.

The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that the hot water was inconsistent. The hot water in the lower shower was mostly only just warm first thing in the morning, whereas the middle and top bathrooms mostly had hot water except for a couple of occasions where, in the afternoon, the water was actually cold even though we only showered once a day and the barn sleeps 6. We mentioned this to Martin, the owner, who adjusted the temperature but it didn't seem to make any noticeable difference. I also thought the towels were a bit small - bigger towels would have been so much more luxurious.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2017
Thanks for staying with us , sorry we had an issue with the hot water , this has developed and has now been rectified ,there has turned out to be a faulty part , now replaced .We do use large bath sheet towels in the king sized master bedroom and smaller in the smaller bedrooms ,but still five in each . so sorry that it meant that we have had a deduction in your opinion of us .
Kind regards martin .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staylor89
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Marks”
Reviewed December 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful renovation completed to the highest standard, in a lovely bit of the world.
We were met by a very welcoming and friendly owner who made us feel at home upon arrival, but left us to have our own space from there onwards. Prepared for guests was a terrific compendium detailing everything on offer in the area, from local eateries to country walks and OS maps.
The location is just far enough off the beaten track to experience a slice of tranquility, and a stone's throw from the beach, but still easy to find.
Would love to stay again and take some friends with us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review ! It was great to meet you both , and you would be more than welcome back as a full house !!! Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliemoff...
sussex
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A truely fantastic barn and great location”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here with family and 4 dogs and had a fantastic time. The barn is beautifully converted with a good kitchen and seating area, and 3 lovely en suite bedrooms. Everything you could need is here from a TV, wifi, radios in the bedrooms, toiletries, maps loads of local info and even a cold Prosecco in the fridge! One of the best things if you have dogs is that you have a fenced garden and patio area.
Loads of walks and an empty beach 5mins away. All the local pubs are dog friendly which makes life very easy. Cannot recommend highly enough! Martin the owner was extremely helpful and although we didn't need him for anything we knew if we did he'd be there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2016
Thanks for the great review it was a pleasure welcoming you to the Barn ,We are blessed with such a great area , especially for dog walking !
Thanks for your custom .. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S
England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We wanted a few days away with our dogs, and couldn't have chosen a better loacation. Coastal walks right on your doorstep. The accommodation was beautiful, high spec, and the owners had thought of everything. There were some lovely touches, fresh bread, jam, waffles, milk and prosecco in the fridge with a personalised manual giving you all the information you could wish for. Martin was always on hand if you had any questions, we were made to feel very welcome and didn't want to leave. A perfect place in a perfect accommodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2016
Hi Tracy , Thanks for your review ! So glad you enjoyed and had such perfect dog walking weather ! It was a pleasure to meet you all ! thanks again , Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeath_1
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband, our toddler and 3 other friends stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding at the nearby Oxwich Bay Hotel. The cottage is absolutely stunning and in a gorgeous location with views out over the bay. It's well appointed and the rooms were very comfortable.
Communication from the owner was great in the run up to our visit and they were very helpful during our stay. We wanted to stay longer as we were having such a good time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable with an excellent location
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
So glad you enjoyed! Part of your party have just 're booked for next summer , glad the wedding went well ! Thanks again...Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbvLondon
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I agree with the other reviews - excellent”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Martin is charming and thoughtful and rightly proud of his barn conversion which has been very well done. No problems,access to lovely places, walks etc.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to do a lovely review , We are proud of the barn and maybe even a little smug ! Thanks again for staying with us .
Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen N N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical Gower , Stunning Slade barn!”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect converted barn . We had a magical family holiday . Rugged beach , excellent for rock pooling 5 mins walk from the perfectly designed holiday let. We are a family of 5 and couldn't have found a better place to stay and explore beautiful Gower .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thanks All for staying with us ,so glad you all enjoyed ! and glad you had such super weather to enjoy the beach and Gower`s Glories !
Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing