We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Gower Coast”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Slade Barn Gower

Front parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area
Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Master bedroom
Master bedroom showing en suite
Seating area viewed from kitchen
Seating area towards kitchen
Three cliffs bay 10 minutes drive from cottage
Slade sands 5 minutes walk from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oxwich, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gower Coast”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very relaxing stay in a fab barn conversion. Martin was extremely helpful from booking process through to greeting us on arrival with fresh milk in the fridge to have a cuppa while we waited for our Sainsburys order to arrive. We went with our 2 year old and 7 month old and as the barn is so well equipped we felt relaxed even with two small ones. Most amazing time spent exploring the coast, stunning bays and walks and we were very lucky to have clear blue skies everyday. Fantastic mini holiday, thank you Martin and Jamie.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay , would be great to welcome you back anytime !
Regards Martin .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlaireMD
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Break and Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Really lovely barn, clean, warm with excellent facilities. We had booked a long weekend as we were attending a wedding at the Oxwich Bay hotel and wanted to stay close by. Martin the host gave us a great welcome and local knowledge for our stay, including local Taxi information and good places to eat with the kids. The personalised welcome book and the welcome pack was great with wine, welsh cakes, milk and homemade jam. The facilities are all you could ask for with WIFI, washer and dryer and the 3 bathrooms were a great plus. The garden and views were lovely and a good setting for a nice meal al fresco (we had great weather). The walks from the barn are good and the welcome book details quite a few routes. Overall we had a great stay with our extended family of 4 adults and 3 young boys. I would not hesitate to recommend this place and would hope to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely, clean and modern interiors beautifully refurbished
Liked least: Nothing (no mobile signal on 02 was a plus)!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
Thanks for your lovely response , So glad you had a great time ,and at the wedding ,the sun continues to shine ! Thanks again. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbylou2...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Barn is special”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This property far exceeds all expectations of a holiday home. It really is well designed, equipped and comfortable. Lots of extra touches eg toiletries, flowers, prosecco, bread, hot cross buns , welsh cakes, tea. coffee and milk ensured our holiday began from the moment we stepped through the door. A lovely location in a great area for walking and access to many unspoilt beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Barn was even better than expected
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joan79
Grantham,lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Can't reccamend this place highly enough,lovely welcome by Martin who owns the cottage,lovely flowers,Welsh cakes,strawberry jam,also milk in the fridge,beds were very comfortable,cottage situated in a lovely scenic area,highly suitable for walkers.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartieBr...
Bristol - UK
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Slade Barn is a fabulous barn conversion, everything there is to a very high standard, from fittings and furnishings to bedding and bathrooms! Enjoyed a great stay here....great location and lovely and quiet. Martin and Jamie very welcoming and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. Would love to return. Stayed here with family and Sidney the dog who enjoyed the enclosed garden and great nearby beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2015
hi Lisa and party ,so glad you enjoyed ! would love to welcome you back anytime .regards Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukeadvis...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage!”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A fantastic place to stay!
The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard and is situated in a great location. Everything you need is at the cottage.
Martin (the owner) is a very nice guy and made me feel very welcome.
I understand the cottage recently won an award which is of no surprise.
A friend of mine held his wedding at the Oxwich Bay Hotel during our stay. The Oxwich Bay Hotel is a short walk from the cottage.
I would 100% recommend this property as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannarob...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay - will be back!”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This converted barn is just beautiful and made for a lovely break away. Martin was really welcoming and friendly when we arrived and it was very clean and first impressions were great! Little touches such as a chilled bottle of prosecco in the fridge, a pack of welsh cakes, home made chutney and fresh flowers on arrival were very well received! The barn is so well thought out and all bedrooms are nice and private - all bedrooms have a large en suite to themselves which is a real treat! It's a very cosy place and we enjoyed spending our evenings in. The kitchen is so well equipped to cook any meal you like. An awful lot of thought, love and care has clearly been put into this place for us all to enjoy. The location is great and we had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Oxwich Bay Hotel which is a short walk away. We will definitely be back as there is so much to still see and it was such a good value for a long weekend. Can't recommend it highly enough. Thank you Martin for a lovely stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing