We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”
Review of Oxwich Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Certificate of Excellence
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great three days in this hotel and well worth a visit. Arriving on Mothers Day and it being good weather, and with the beach less than a stones throw away and in an idyllic location, of course it was busy but that's expected. It soon settled down. There are good walks in the area, varying in difficulty and if in doubt about stamina, a walk along the great beach is perfect, as well as over the sand dunes. The view of the beach is spectacular. Most of the local limited amenities didn't open until Easter or some 1st April, but the hotel doesn't capitalize on its local monopoly far from it. The service was excellent other than an annoying wait on mothers day evening which required attention, but was well dealt with by the staff. The food was cooked to perfection three meals and all beautifully cooked. The room had a fantastic view and the spa bath in our bathroom was a luxury. There was a wardrobe but no drawers so we were cluttered with cases and bed cushions which was a shame. But overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 18 excellent views limited space around the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of your stay with us here at Oxwich.

I am delighted to read that you managed to enjoy the location, walks and weather during your stay. We pride ourselves on our good food, and efficient staff, with Dan Williams creating excellent and original menus throughout the year.

Many thanks for your comments regarding room 18, I have taken these on board, but I am so glad you enjoyed the spa bath and fantastic panoramic view.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    271
    141
    76
    60
See reviews for
267
447
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dartford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We first visited here for our friends wedding in 2005 and have been back most years since.We always try and stay in the old school house and visit the local heritage centre where last year we enjoyed a fabulous Halloween party.The staff are always more than helpful and the location is beautiful.I am hoping to have our blessing here as this place holds so many happy memories for us.visit after visit the food and staff have been wonderful

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insaneinez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Many thanks indeed for your recent review of your stay in October 2013, it is always great to hear from our visitors.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Old School House cottage, and you enjoyed our food so much. I am so glad we hold so many happy memories for you, and that our staff can continue to uphold these whenever you visit us.

We look forward to seeing you soon,

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a great hotel with some of the friendliest and attentive staff that we have met. John is excellent in the level of attention and support that he gives and the reception staff couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a great stay. The restaurant has a small menu, but everything we had was well cooked and presented and the breakfasts were excellent, especially the Welsh breakfast which includes laverbread and cockles - took me back to my youth.
The only small niggle was that there were no drawers for storage in our room, which meant that we had to live out of suitcases. Unfortunately, there is nowhere handy to store the suitcases, so they sat on the floor. Lastly, the bed was covered in 6 large cushions which had to be moved and stored somewhere, so by the time we were ready for bed, we were falling over suitcases and cushions :-).
If there had been in-room storage, we could have left the empty suitcases in the car, so just as a small hint to the hotel, put a chest of drawers into room 18 and get rid of the unnecessary cushions - then all would have been perfect.
Having said that, it was a small niggle and we will definitely be looking to return, as we didn't manage half of the great walks around Oxwich in the 3 days that we stayed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel and all of the rooms seemed to be good with great views. There is no lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us, and I am delighted to hear that our staff were attentive and friendly.

It is great to read that you are going to be definitely returning to stay with us, and that the weather held out so that you could appreciate the great walks around Oxwich Bay.

I have taken on board your comments re storage/drawers, so that you and I shall look to get something in the works for you, so we can make sure it is perfect!

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel has a main building but also has some separate cottages adjacent to the hotel with around 4/5 rooms in each. The location is fantastic, just off the beach and there are some wonderful walks close by. The hotel and restaurant are good and there is a nice outside area that looks over the beach. We had breakfast there one lovely sunny morning, and I have to say it was brilliant. The waiters came around this area regularly too, which was excellent. Rooms were good but the bunk beds supplied for my granddaughters could have done with a coat of paint - they were a bit tatty, but the bedding was clean and comfortable. We will be back, but get that paint brush out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you ever so much for your recent review of our hotel and I am delighted to read your comments regarding our food and our staff.

We have a rolling maintenance schedule that is to continually improve and upgrade the hotel and grounds, and I thank you for your comment regarding a bit of paint – I am happy to mention that we are currently in the process of getting new put-up beds to make everyone more comfortable.

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have always been fond of Hotel for lunches but never stayed here until this February when we booked a room in Ivy Cottage. It was very comfortable but perhaps a little tired, eg no toilet roll holder. That said, the stay was fantastic, weather great, food plentiful and well cooked, service excellent and friendly too. It was also a great value for money deal and perfect for the dog too. Definitely be back.

Room Tip: The cottage doesn't have sea views so don't expect one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We have a rolling maintenance schedule that is to continually improve and upgrade the hotel and grounds, and I am happy to say that the issue you have raised is being resolved and we are sorry about the inconvenience.

Our food is one of our great assets, with our head chef taking a lot of pride in him menus and sourcing food as locally as possible.

Hopefully see you again soon, and kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife, 2 children (9 & 8), dog and I decided to go to the Gower for a couple of nights over half term. As we approached the hotel I was not overly impressed, which gave me a low expectation but as soon as I stepped inside this changed. The staff were very helpful and the wood burners were blazing giving the place a very welcoming feel. We were staying in one of the cottages, about 50m from the hotel which turned out to be perfect, particularly with the dog. The accommodation was good and I understand that it is being refurbished which parts do need but this did not distract from the place. the new restaurant with the hollowed out tree for the wood burner is beautiful. The head waiter and staff were very good. The location next to the beach is superb. I can only imagine that a wedding ion the marque which be almost fairy tale. My wife was ill on the day of checkout and the staff were happy for us to do a late checkout without charge. Hope to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you ever so much for your review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad to read that our staff were very helpful and the wood burners made you feel welcome

We pride ourselves on being dog friendly and I am very happy to hear that you such a good family break.

Many thanks and hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have stayed at the Oxwich a couple of times and are due to marry here in June 2014 so it's surprising that I haven't reviewed it yet. I will repeat previous comments about it's position on the bay and the views because they are just stunning and to have a walk on the beach after breakfast is a fantastic start to any day.

The reception area is actually quite nondescript and this may bother some people.

We have stayed in both non refurbished and the boutique refurbished rooms. We had a non refurbed room in the cottage last year and I would agree that they are a little tired and need updating ( especially the bathrooms ). However the bed itself was brand new and the bedding was spotless. The rooms themselves are cleaned to a good standard but I think they do look a little grubby simply because they are so dated. For a 1 night stay they offer really good value for this part of the world but I wouldn't want to spend more than a night in one if I'm honest.

The refurbed rooms are lovely - we have stayed in room 10 which is essentially the bridal suite and has spectacular views over the bay thanks to the large windows. There is a little seating area, it has a lovely big comfy bed and is decorated tastefully. Nice bathroom with lovely tiling and a jacuzzi bath with separate rainfall shower. If you wanted to be super picky ( and I suppose you might be if you're in a 'premium' room ) then the finishes is some areas are not perfect ( where the bath meets the tiles ) and the furniture in the bedroom ( dresser and wardrobe ) could be of higher quality.

There are some nice common areas in the hotel - a lovely snug with log burner and cosy chairs/sofas for pre dinner drinks if you don't fancy the bar/restaurant area. The walnut room ( I think it's called ) is cosy, with candles lit all round during the evening; you can choose to have dinner seved here as well as the restaurant which we enjoyed ( the restaurant has fabulous views over the bay so great at breakfast but when it gets dark the walnut room is nicer ).

Food is great - the breakfast isn't huge but decent ingredients well cooked for the full English. The continental selection is quite limited but this isn't something which bothers us. The lunches and evenings meals we have had at Oxwich have been lovely - they are not cheap but really worth the money for a great quality meal. Wines are not too badly priced either ( for a hotel )

I would still give this hotel an excellent rating although it isn't 'perfect' because the staff here are, without fail, friendly, happy to help and professional which makes such a huge difference. We have a had a great experience with the wedding planning team who seem to be very organised and professional ( as you would expect ) and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The rest of the staff from reception to bar to waiters are also great and seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs ( or they're very good actors! ). We look forward to staying here, feel very comfortable and well looked after and will definitely return to Oxwich time and time again. We are so excited to be getting married here and feel that we will be in very safe hands.

It's worth noting that although the boutique rooms are quite expensive in peak season the hotel does some great low season offers - we got the bridal suite ( room 10 ) for £79 bed and breakfast with £50 creit towards our evening meal in February.

Room Tip: The boutique rooms are more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lpbirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your review of your stay and we look forward to your wedding in June this year.

You will be happy to hear that the reception area is being re-vamped, with a new full time receptionist and hopefully when you next come down you will notice the improvement.

Our head chef Dan Williams prides himself on his delicious and original menus and he tries whenever he can to source the food locally and change the menus accordingly.

Thank you again, and see you in June

Kind regards

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
3.8 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
363 reviews
2.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
159 reviews
2.6 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
168 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxwich Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Property: Oxwich Bay Hotel
Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxwich Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Oxwich Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing