We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant place, full of attentive staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oxwich Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A pleasant place, full of attentive staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in an idyllic spot, I can see why it is a popular wedding venue. We stayed as a group of 6 with 2 dogs and were accommodated in a cottage a little away from the main hotel. Although a cottage, it is still laid out as a hotel with individual rooms and is ideal for dog owners as soft furnishings are kept to a minimum. There are wood floors in the rooms, again ideal for the staff to keep clean after dogs have stayed there. We were in the Horton suite, which had a few problems, the radiator would not adjust, I reported it but nothing happened, so I stripped down the valve and carried out a repair to the adjusting mechanism. I repaired the toilet flush also.
The cottage would benefit from a coconut mat in the doorway, so as to wipe the sand and mud from boots.
The food was OK, and rather overpriced for the offerings, but I enjoyed it. Breakfast was good, especially the poached egg on toast.
The staff in the restaurants were always on hand and helpful. The beams and wood burning stoves in and around the restaurants added a great atmosphere. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drusiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your review and very kind comments.

We do pride ourselves on our staff and what they added to the atmosphere of the hotel, however we do have a rolling maintenance schedule that is to continually improve and upgrade the hotel and grounds, I shall certainly mention about a coconut mat!

Thank you again, and hopefully see you soon,

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    255
    131
    75
    56
See reviews for
253
417
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have just returned after our 5th year staying at The Oxwich bay Hotel. We always go at this time of year (November) and stay in room 43 in the Old School House which is ideal when taking your pet/dog with you.It has an enclosed patio - reached through patio doors and so is really easy to let them out when they get the call of nature.It is situated near many excellent walks - our favourite is to walk behind the dunes in the nature reserve to the small estuary - over the bridge and walk to Three Cliffs Bay (When the tide is out) then walk back along the beach-usually in solitude at this time of year to the Hotel where we retire for well a earned beer or a coffee and cake with the dog more than welcome. In the evening we leave our dog in the room - (or you can take your pet to the hotel) and have our evening meal at the hotel - where the new Chef has transformed the menu - and all meals are excellent.The staff here are second to none from the owner to the cleaning staff who are all a credit to this fabulous hotel.Whether you want a walking week-end or get married (or both) - they will cater for you with open arms.brilliant can't wait to go next year

Room Tip: Rooms at the Old School or the cottage cater for pets - whilst there are luxury and normal rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glansychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you ever so much for your very kind review of our hotel, and we are very happy to read your comments.

We do pride ourselves on being a dog friendly hotel , and we are of course accompanied by one of the only dog friendly beaches in the area!

We are also delighted to read your comments about our staff and food, and look forward to seeing you for year number 6!

Thank you again, and see you again soon ,

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were travelling form Australia. This hotel is a bit out of the way but right on the beach. It was a good base to do day trips from. We had booked three nights, half board, which was a good move as there are not too many other choices close by for meals. (especially in the winter months.) The food was good and the service good also. Nice and warm. The Rooms could have been a bit larger as it was a bit cramped by the time we got our large bags in the room. (There is no lift which made it difficult for us older folk travelling with large suitcases.) We would throoughly recommend the hotel as a base, or a relaxing place to stay for a few days. I expect that it gets very busy in the summer months. Internet only available in the common areas.

Room Tip: If you have large bags (we were away for 5 weeks) ask for something on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us.

I am happy to read that you thought the food was good, as our menus are designed and created by Dan Williams. Many people enjoy using us as a base to explore the wonderful surrounding areas and walks that Gower has to offer.

I am also pleased to say that WIFI is now available in almost all of the main Hotel bedrooms. With the others being planned ASAP.

Hopefully see you again soon,

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

When this hotel says they are dog friendly they really mean it! I have just returned from a lovely weekend and stayed in one of the cottage rooms that accommodate pets. When a well known brand of budget hotel charges me £20 a night to take my Westie, I couldn't believe here was only going to charge £5 per night and were more than happy to have me eat in the 'snug' area of the restaurant, dog along too!
The room was a good size although quite cold at times as the central heating goes on and off at set tunes throughout the day and night which I didn't like. The radiator in the bathroom didn't work so they were quick to bring along a small fan heater and profuse apologies. The cottage rooms are located about 300m from the main building which would only be an issue in the rain or if you didn't have a torch to light your route at night (it is pitch black!!!!)
The food in the restaurant was excellent although I was a little disappointed the menu was the same both nights.
The beach is stunning and pretty much deserted in November so it was the perfect spot to do some walking with the dog and take in the sea air. The weather was amazing for the time of year which added to the overall experience.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this place and the deal they did for my 2 nights is undoubtedly one of the best I've enjoyed in years.
Highly recommended for you and your four legged friends.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank One-and-Only-Aly-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you ever so much for your review, and I am very happy to hear that you would recommend us to your friends.

We do pride ourselves on being one of the only dog friendly hotels around, and we are of course accompanied by one of the only dog friendly beaches in the area. We are glad we could be of assistance to you and your Westie.

I am also very happy to read your comments about our food, as our menus are designed and created by Dan Williams. Our a la carte menu changes as regularly as possible, to use local and seasonal produce when he can.

Hopefully see you and your dog again soon

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were invited to a 60th birthday party in the Chestnut room at the Oxwich bay hotel. On arrival my family and I were very pleased with the attentive welcome from the Consierge host who was waiting just outside the venue to greet guests. It was so nice to be greeted courteously by a very gentlemanly man who escorted us into the venue, showed us where to leave our coats, and took us to the hosts of the party. If only more venues went back to offering good old fashioned charm and professionalism. The Chestnut room was superb for holding a party, it has a big old log burner lit inside the room which was lovely on a cold winters night. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniemSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear that you would recommend us.

Our Chestnut Room has been a great success, and we are glad you were able to enjoy your party and made to feel so welcome by Ben on the gate.

Hopefully see you soon,

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My partner and I visited oxwich bay for our wedding consultation on Saturday, and I must say we were extremely happy!!. Stuart the wedding co-ordinator was more than helpful having all the answers we needed,we saw the marquee , chestnut room and the snug which were gorgeous and very well decorated and the atmosphere in the restaurant was very relaxed which made a lovely evening. Unfortunately we where unable to see the bridal suit as they had been booked. We went on to have a fantastic meal in the restaurant where the staff where very polite, the meal we had was perfect and could not be faulted.we went on to have a chat with Jonathan the head of house who again was very friendly and helpful, needless to say we will definitely be returning to view the rooms and fingers crossed book our big day :) thank you very much, Thanx again to Stuart we will be seeing you soon Bronwyne &Richard

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you every so much for your review. I am so very happy to hear that you had such a good viewing with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel itself, the atmosphere and that you left happy.

Our head chef Dan Williams takes great pride in his food, with an amazing menu that is reflected with his restaurant food and wedding breakfasts.

Hopefully see you again soon,

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My partner and l arranged an appointment to discuss a wedding reception. From the first telephone contact, staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating.
Both the Chestnut Room and the Marquee would be excellent reception venues. All areas were clean and well presented with lovely furnishings.The hotel also has informal seating areas- the Snug and the Lounge,with log fires.
Our tour of the hotel was very helpful, rooms were decorated to a high standard, and represented good value for money. Stewart had answers for all our queries, and made us feel that we and our wedding guests would be well cared for.
Our meal was delicious, the only downside being that l couldn't make up my mind, such was the choice! Waiting staff were attentive but not intrusive.
We will certainly return.




  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bride2BSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you had such a good show round with us.

I am also very happy to read your comments about our food, as our menus are designed and created by Dan Williams.

We are glad you enjoyed seeing the venue - we have a rolling maintenance schedule that is continually improving the hotel and grounds that ensures that the chestnut room and marquee are in tip top condition for your special day.

Hopefully see you again soon,

J Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
2.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.6 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxwich Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Property: Oxwich Bay Hotel
Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oxwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing