We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most luxurious penthouse in Gower with wonderful...”

Review of The Penthouse

Luxury open plan apartment sleeps 6 in style, 3 bedrooms, 2 en-suite and 1 shower room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury open plan apartment sleeps 6 in style, 3 bedrooms, 2 en-suite and 1 shower room
Three balconies with panoramic views over Langland Bay Master double bedroom with en-suite, private balcony and sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Luxury open plan apartment sleeps 6 in style, 3 bedrooms, 2 en-suite and 1 shower room
Three balconies with panoramic views over Langland Bay
Master double bedroom with en-suite, private balcony and sea views
Living / Dining area with balcony and sea views
Master bedroom
Twin room with separate shower room
Second double bedroom with en-suite
Dining terrace with sea views
Spacious living area, two large sofas, Sky TV, DVD, Wi-Fi
Well equipped kitchen
Well equipped kitchen
Dining area
Dining area
Master bedroom en-suite with twin basins and double shower
Master bedroom en-suite with twin basins and double shower
Langland Bay
Exclusive use of beach hut at Langland Bay
View from the beach hut
Inside the beach hut
Promenade at Langland Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JuliePBac...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding Apartment- Pity about the detail”
Reviewed November 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This apartment has the Wow factor with the most amazing views imaginable. The living area is huge and a dream to live in, with large balconies .
But.... we were holidaying as two couples and this apartment just isn’t suitable. It has a huge master bedroom with the fab views, tons of storage and a large shower room with twin showers. However the other double bedroom is quite small with a tiny bathroom. The apartment may be more suitable for families but the third bedroom, a twin has no wardrobe.
The living area is truly amazing and the kitchen fairly well equipped but the details were not 5* in comparison with most 5* accommodation I have stayed in. The TVs we’re not set up properly and we had no welcome pack! ( available at a cost!)

The bath towels were small, there were no bath robes, slippers, or tissues and in the master bedroom you could not see the TV from the bed ( it is round a corner behind the bed)
The apartment was not properly clean and I understand that the cleaner is no longer at the establishment. The balcony drain was blocked and the floor had to be swept before walking in bare feet. The tumble dryer was full of sand.

There were no parasols despite have 3 large verandas and no bbq, though the housekeeper found us one of each when we asked .

We had a lovely holiday and the shortfalls whilst disappointing, didn’t detract from a great week. However, the place doesn’t compare well to expectations of what makes a 5* holiday let. 4 star maybe

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2017
Thank you for you feedback and I’m pleased that you felt the apartment had the Wow factor, with lovely views and a large living area. We appreciate the other points you made and will try to respond to them now.
It has a huge master bedroom with the fab views, tons of storage and a large shower room with twin showers...[but] the other double bedroom is quite small
Yes the en-suite second bedroom is smaller than the master, due to the overall design of the apartment and the wish to maximise living space overlooking the bay. However, the website pictures show this difference clearly and most people are happy with the compromise.

The twin bedroom has no wardrobe.
We agree that it’s regrettable that the twin room has no wardrobe, but we have provided plenty of drawer space to compensate.
The kitchen fairly well equipped but the details were not 5*
We try to replace and upgrade the kitchen equipment on a regular basis, but we note your comments and will try to do even more.

TVs we’re not set up properly
We have Sky services in the living area and the TV’s in all the bedrooms are Freeview. They are all normally fully-functioning, but we apologise if, say, a previous guest had changed some settings. In any case, our Housekeeper would have been happy to help.

No welcome pack!
We always leave plenty of tea, coffee (regular and decaffeinated), sugar, milk and Welshcakes for guests. For known special dates or occasions we can also leave wine, chocolates and decorations in place. It is hard to know what all guests would like routinely and we find that most guests prefer to use Tesco or Sainsbury’s delivery services.

The bath towels were small
We provide hand towels, face-cloths and regular bath towels. Given your comments, we’ll also provide bath sheets in future.

You could not see the TV from the bed
The master bedroom is large and has two zones - with the bed facing the large window and looking out to sea, while the settee is oriented towards the TV. Unfortunately, in the large bedroom the TV cannot also be turned towards the bed.

The apartment was not properly clean and I understand that the cleaner is no longer at the establishment.
We have always prided ourselves on the cleanliness of the apartment so we took on board your comments immediately and, as you mention, the cleaner is no longer employed by us and we have restored the normal high standards.

There were no parasols despite the apartment having 3 large verandas
We used to provide parasols routinely. However, as I think our Housekeeper explained, we had incidents where light breezes (at sea level) were strong enough at the Penthouse to blow them off the balcony, endangering people and cars below. If parasols are needed, we can supply them, but guests have then to sign a ‘special responsibility form’.

The place doesn’t compare well to expectations of what makes a 5* holiday let
Our star-rating assessments are done independently by an official organisation that compares many properties very carefully. They use rigorous criteria and the apartment has been rated as 5* in every annual inspection since it opened in 2011.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L
Essex UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most luxurious penthouse in Gower with wonderful views.”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Huge luxury accommodation. Exceptional cleanliness and attention to detail.
Very well placed for all amenities in Swansea and the wonderful Gower beaches. Eat well at the Langland Brassiere within sight of two of the spacious balconies, but you will need to book. The third balcony is plenty large enough for breakfast, lunch and dinner plus guests! A stunning spacious master bedroom with double shower room on suite and the best view of Langland bay. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DavidStra...
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas/New Year holiday”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Was in the Swansea area to vist friends who live there over the holiday period and loved our stay at The Penthouse. When we arrived late in the evening, the property was all nicely heated, the Christmas tree and outside Christmas decorations were lighted up, the dinning table set for Christmas and Christmas mince pies as well as chocolates awaited our family. We were all wowed by this welcome!

In the morning in daylight we appreciated the panaramoc views over Langland Bay in the Gower and were able to enjoy the various walks along the coastline which is stunning.

All of the facilities in this property are first class and my 21 year old son and 17 year old daughter appreciated the wifi and Sky in the property.

This is a property that you very easily fall in love with and it was always a joy to return to our home away from home after being out visiting our friends in Swansea or from expolring the coastline.

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and liked the decorations. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and the view
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The steep hill at the end of a long day on the beach!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
escraven
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If I could give The Penthouse 6 stars I would. A fabulous location with wonderful views. The accommodation is first class with the highest quality fixtures and fittings throughout. It all adds up to be the place for a perfect holiday.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views are to die for
Liked least: Everything was fabulous
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing