We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* cottage in an excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan yr Eglwys Cottages
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5* cottage in an excellent location.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is our third stay in this cottage & we love coming back.
The cottage itself is in a gorgeous little village. It is well maintained, clean & has all the facilities you could possibly need.
As for the location it's in the perfect spot to explore the beaches in the Gower & also the breathtaking Brecon Becans + the Neath valley water falls etc.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen r, Owner at Tan yr Eglwys Cottages, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. We have enjoyed seeing you return and seeing the family growing, lovely to meet the new addition. Pleased that the toys appealed to all ages, we hope to view further family progress. Should you return again, you will require the larger cottage, more space, more games, toys and activities to keep all amused.
We are fortunate with location, so many places of interest in all directions, making the cottages a great base for touring South Wales. We guarantee to find you new places to visit.
Best Wishes, Helen and Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and these cottages are an ideal base to explore South Wales. We are a family of 5, which include 2 teenagers and one preschooler. We travelled to the Brecon Beacons, the Show caves, an historic house and the town of Neath. Had dinner in a fabulous pub and every night came back to this beautiful cottage with it's wood burning stove and well equipped kitchen. The hospitality of the owner Helen is wonderful and warm. We were made to feel very welcome. The cottage is in a beautiful part of Wales with amazing views and walks. It is fully equipped with everything you would need and there is an amazing amount of tourist information available. What ever the weather there is something for the whole family to do. Very easy to get to from the M4. Very clean cottages. We have no hesitation in recommending these cottages.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5News
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen r, Owner at Tan yr Eglwys Cottages, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at the cottage, we are delighted that you found things that appealed to the varied ages of the children. If I recall correctly, you experienced 3 contrasting weather days around Easter, snow, rain and blazing sunshine, a steam train ride in a blizzard, a day inside Dan-yr-ogof Caves when it rained and enjoyed a day of sunshine at the Gnoll Country Park - well planned!
The tourist info we collect truly reflects the huge array of places to visit in the area. I'm sure you will agree that there's enough to occupy a family for several weeks / many holidays. We hope you will return to experience more.
Kind regards, Helen & Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at the smaller of these two holiday cottages for two nights while attending a friend's wedding nearby. We are a group of 20/30-somethings - two couples and one single lady, so this cottage was ideal for us as it sleeps 5.
The facilities are excellent, lovely kitchen which we enjoyed cooking together in, and a nice dining room/lounge. We really liked the cottage and the bedrooms were good-sized with comfortable beds. Lovely log burning stove in the lounge, books, board games and freeview TV. Very clean and tidy, suggestions were given for local activities, restaurants and shops. Very nice bathroom too and space for all three cars. A real home from home! The only downside is that there was only one bathroom, an extra seperate loo would have been great when everyone was getting ready at the same time!
Would highly recommend for groups of sharers and for families as the cottage also supplies toys and children's books and high chair etc.
Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saritacarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The cottages were very comfortable, located at the bottom of a little lane - looking out over the fields...it was truly a home away from home - Helen has great taste and both cottages reflected that. I especially liked the smaller cottage at the front of the property - there was a wonderful cozy feel to it that made you feel safe and protected. The extra special touches of having fires laid and making sure that there was coffee and tea available were great and the homemade cake was wonderful..

Helen was very welcoming and we ended up staying an extra night. I would stay again in a heartbeat - thoroughly recommend the experience.

Room Tip: I really liked cottage 1 and the little bedroom on the first floor has a really comfortable bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_Arad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The house is most comfortabale, very clean and comfortable with everything supplied. Helen and Allen were very welcoming and friendly. Should you want anything or needed information all you had to do was ask.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The cottages are really comfortable and in a lovely location. There was nothing you could want that wasn't provided. The owners were really helpful and welcoming. They were friendly and have a wealth of local knowledge. I have booked to go back again this year and will probably go back again next year. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hueysdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We’ve just returned from another fantastic stay at Tan Yr Eglwys, never disappointed and very highly recommended. As a Travel Agent I deal with cottages all over the UK, and for South Wales I would say for location and standard of accommodation these cottages are pretty hard to beat.
We’ve stayed once in Cottage 2 and twice in the larger Cottage 1, both are homely, peaceful and welcoming. Bedrooms, kitchen and living areas are a very good size (above average for a South Wales holiday cottage). Cottage 1 has a wood burning stove which provides a cosy evening, and we believe that Cottage 2 will be having one installed soon as well (wood is free and plentiful).
Within half an hours drive is the Gower, Swansea, Brecon Beacons Waterfalls, Henrhyd Falls, National Showcaves, Mumbles, Waterfalls at Aberdulais and much much more.
The cottages are in a small hamlet with a handful of other properties, and there are public footpaths for scenic walks on the doorstep. The owners Helen and Allen live very handy, and are warm, welcoming (we always arrive to a freshly baked fruit loaf and welshcakes) and are extremely informative about most areas within an hour or more drive. With 2 small children we often pop over to the owners property to feed the chickens, collect eggs, stroke the horses and goat, which they never seem to get tired of.
A car is an absolute must for these properties, although shops, pubs etc are only a short drive away.
All in all, the past 2 or 3 years we have felt as though we have found a hidden gem and will definitely be retuning next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookmytrip_co_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontardawe hotels
1.4 mi away
The Dillwyn Arms Hotel
The Dillwyn Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pontardawe
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swansea Valley Holiday Cottages
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Dynevor Arms
#2 of 4 in Pontardawe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pink Geranium Village Hotel
Pink Geranium Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pontardawe
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tan yr Eglwys Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan yr Eglwys Cottages

Property: Tan yr Eglwys Cottages
Address: Church Road | Cilybebyll, Swansea, Pontardawe SA8 3JP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontardawe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pontardawe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tan Yr Eglwys Cottages are two semi detached self catering holiday cottages in the idyllic hamlet of Cilybebyll between neath & Swansea. Ideally located for M4, Brecon and Beacons, Gower beaches and many other attractions. all mod cons including log burners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tan yr Eglwys Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing