We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”
Review of The Butchers Arms

The Butchers Arms
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Pontardawe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday on our way back home to London
Have been before as it breaks our journey up and it's always excellent value for money
As usual I had the Pembrokeshire Turkey which was yummy, my only gripe is I never get enough roast potatoes, would prefer more and to have less new potatoes!
Next time we travel home will definitely be calling in again and hopefully it will be a Sunday again :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    53
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor this time”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at the Butchers many many times before and have always had a positive experience. This time was a different story though. We decided to go out for Sunday lunch with my mother in law 7yr old and 10week old baby. We called to book but needn't have as the place was deserted when we arrived at 13.45, however Wimbledon final day may explain this. We sat where we wanted and were served very quickly. Music was very loud and after some time my husband had to ask them to turn it down which they duly did. Our Sunday lunches were poor. All vegetables had been reheated in the microwave, including the roast potatoes, beef was very nice but gravy had absolutely no flavour at all and may just have been thickened water. After our lunch I took our baby to change her nappy. The baby changing facility consisted of a plastic changing mat on the tiled floor placed directly next to the bowl of the disabled toilet. After washing my hands I then realised there was no facility to dry them, poor effort regarding hygiene provision for both disabled and parent and child. Will think twice now about returning

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalesUK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Too good to miss”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

On a visit to friends living in Garnant,we were taken to the Butchers Arms,it was a good thing that we had booked a table as i could not believe how many people where at the pub,service was very good ,There were four people at our table and all ordered different meals,its not often that i finish my plate of food as i am a small eater and asked the Waitress if it was possible to give me a smaller amount,which they did .it was a curried Chicken meal and very nice too,I thought the pub was very cosy and friendly and i would certainly go back,Just one thing i would like to say,some meals where a little expensive as others have said,,But we still enjoyed our visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pub food!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went here last weekend to celebrate graduation results with the family! Had a few drinks on the lovely decking area with great views of the area before going inside for our meal. I had a classic pub meal - lasagne, which was delicious and the homemade garlic bread was also amazing. My dad had the rump steak, mam had the duck and my boyfriend had the chicken. We all really enjoyed our meals and left with full bellies! Only negative is that some meals are a bit pricey! Will return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and beer”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went last weekend with the wife went Al fresco, eating out on the decking the views were terrific brill enjoyin the early evening sun.
Went for the steak which was cooked as asked and was was a quality piece lovely and tasty washed down with a butty bach . heaven !!
My wife went for the chicken which was also top quality well impressed !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pontycarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butchers Arms also viewed

Pontardawe, Vale of Glamorgan
Llanedi, Carmarthenshire
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Pontardawe, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing