We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Reviewed September 1, 2006

I was a bit worried before arrival because there had been some negative reviews on here a while back, but Almonds and Corals exceeded all of our expectations. If you want a beautiful, low key, natural setting with outstanding personal service, this is your place.

We have 2 kids, 10 and 14, with my husband and I. We all loved it, even though the weather in Oct was marginal. The new managment in mid-2005 was making great progress on improvements, and it was their personal attention that made all the difference. (My husband is afraid of heights, so Peter the co-manager took the zipline tour with us to make sure we survived).

Ask about a local guide named Florentino who can take you on an amazing private hiking tour in the jungle, filled with bugs and fruits and animals.

Not for people who want a sterile hotel atmosphere or gourmet restaurant, but if you really want to explore, this is outstanding. The outdoor bar with pool table was a great place for guests to gather and talk at night. When we were there, plans were in place to add a pool, but don't know if it was done.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wilma45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 216 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis MN
311
Reviewed February 18, 2006

A great and unique experience. Tent rooms were roomy and well maintained. No lack of things to do given the rainforest location and proximity to a great beach. Staff was exceedingly helpful, friendly and very patient with my fumbling attempts at Spanish. Food was outstanding, given the location, in quality, quantity and selection. No problem for any picky diner here. Our driver, Alex, from and to San Jose was outstanding, especially compared to the crazy people driving for InterBus. Would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Edmonton, Canada
319
Reviewed January 19, 2006

We stayed at 4 different places on this trip and Almonds and Corals was tied for 1st. Honestly, there is nothing at all wrong with the place and the staff and service was great. By 'slightly rustic' your should know that other than a small town that you can bike or walk down the beach to, you are more-or-less stuck at the lodge if you don't have a vehicle. There are a variety of day trips and activities and we were never bored but the nightlife was a little lacking. Be forewarned that it is extremely humid and there is no air conditioning in the tent cabins but the area is so beautiful don't let this minor discomfort stop you from going. Also, the beach has some mean riptides and you have to walk down the beach aways to find the safer spots.

We highly recommend the canopy tour and early morning nature walk. There are lots of other activities such as snorkeling, kayaking, etc. as well. Great place! Highly memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
332
Reviewed January 9, 2006

Almonds and Corals is a brilliant place to stay!

It was designed in a way as to have as little negative impact on the rain forest as possible. Therefore, you will see a lot of nature up close and personal. For example, on our entire trip to Costa Rica we saw all kinds of sloths up in the trees (this really cool animal that only climbs down the tree once a week to take a poop), but the sloth we saw at Almonds and Corals was seriously at the tree right next to us and we had the BEST view of it!

You will be amazed at how its all designed. It's like camping, but luxurious- with HOT water showers, delicious dinner and DESSERTS- ask about the suspiro limenyo? The front desk management are very friendly and accomodating although i asked for a wake up call at 6am and they didn't remember. No worries though, I woke up early, maybe to the sound of the howler monkeys?

What to do while you're there...
we were only there for a day but we rented bikes and rode them south about 10-15 minutes (a peaceful and smooth ride) to Manzanillo, another BEAUTIFUL beach! On the busy corner there is a large two story restaurant that has THE BEST LOBSTER! I was so amazed, it was like a religious experience eating this damn delicious lobster. I had no idea how good food could actually taste. (And I'm from San Diego and I've had many a trips down to Puerto Nuevo in Mexico for lobster, but the Afro-Carribean side of things is different, let me tell you!) Anyway, I went to the kitchen and personally thanked all the nice chefs that were back there and gave them another tip. Oh yeah, too, the restaurant is really open and so while we were on the second floor deck, we could watch all the people playing at the beach and just enjoying life, it was truly excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2005

We just got back from Costa Rica. Almonds and Corals was the first place we stayed.We loved this place so much we didn't want to leave.It was everything we were hoping it would be and more.The staff,the food,the accomodations were all fabulous. We would recommend this resort to anyone who appreciates nature where the jungle meets the sea.The rustic nature was one of the things that attracted us. I would say to anyone who wants the experience of living in a paradise with all it's sights sounds and smells, go to Almonds and Corals.
Thank you Patricia and Peter!!!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank al0ha6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, AZ
119
Reviewed September 9, 2005

I had visions that Almonds and Corals would be a unique experience in the jungle with a rustic but well ran "tent lodge" plus the added excitement of the Crazy Monkey Canopy Ride.

However, it was only partially true. First of all, the place is old and in need of maintence plus a total remodel of the kitchen, dining and bar area. The service and food was unbelievable bad, the bar was managed by unprofessionals as they played rap-music with its profanity and overtly sexual vulgar lyrics blairing, meanwhile the staff is wandering around in back out of sight. I think the poor conditions and execution are do to the management located in San Jose but still no excuse. Sadly, this place could be really great if they would put more focus on the lodge portion of the business.

We couldn't wait to leave this place! It was the low point of all the places we stayed in Panama and CR.

The zipline while in good condition because, I think that's a money maker, did seem to be well maintained. Yet, there are many more ziplines in CR that are much better. We visited one in the Arenal area that was 100% better in excitement because of its design and length.

If you must travel to Manzanillo area, it's fine to visit the Crazy Monkey Canopy Ride but don't stay at the Almonds and Corals Lodge, I even heard from one of their employees state that for the money places like Las Palmas are much better.

Also, don't get trapped into Geo Expeditions also linking you with river rafting at La Quinta. It's kind of an "all in the family" since the two owners A&C/Geo and La Quinta are sisters. While La Quinta looked OK and the owners are on site, it's seemed old and only slighty better than Almonds and Corals.

Overall Almonds and Corals comments:

- Poor restaurant, bar, food and service
- Poor condition of common areas
- Dirty common areas, i.e., dining tables, bar, pool table area
- Jacuzzi never seemed inviting - to small for # of lodges
- Good zipline but not the country's best
- Overall staff quality is sub par
- Over priced food and lodging for the value; way overpriced
- Tent lodges cool concept and mostly functional - potable water only (ok)
- Beach area not well maintained or equipped
- Feels like a run down American community camp for scouts, schools, churches verses a vacation lodge

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2005

My wife and I stayed at Almonds and Corals for 3 days in November 2004 and it was a wonderful experience. This resort literally sits in the middle of a thick jungle on the coast of the Caribbean Sea. It's a little more rustic then most Resorts, but they want to keep everything as natural as possible.

The rooms are individual screen huts that contain a bathroom with shower (surrounded in a privacy tent) two single and one double bed (in a seperate privacy tent) two chairs and a hammock. Each hut is up on stilts and joined together and to the main buildings by a network of boardwalks. The jungle is right outside your door. Every morning we were awakened by Howler Monkeys and every evening we spent walking on these boardwalks discovering all kinds of different wildlife, from Geckos to Spiders to Tree Frogs.

The food at the restaurant was amazing and different everyday. (a la carte style) Drinks were extra and were not that expensive.

The staff are wonderful and always willing to inform and answer any questions about the flora, fauna and wildlife surrounding you.

You walk down a boardwalk, when suddenly you step from thick jungle onto the beach (which was pretty much deserted the entire time we were there). There was other recreation activities as well, such as a zipline tour and a nature walk which let you truly experience the jungle from all angles. There is also a hot tub available for use.

If you are looking for entertainment, beach bars, manicured gardens and contiuous organized activities, this resort is not for you. If you want to experience the "Real" Costa Rica in a beautiful, tranquil setting then look no further then this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank smithvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanillo
7.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,544 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
712 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
156 reviews
16.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almonds and Corals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonds and Corals Hotel

Address: Manzanillo 681-2300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range: $94 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Almonds and Corals Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almonds and Corals, nestled amongst the exuberant jungle of Gandoca Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge in Costa Rica, offers three in one unique destinations, because it is part an exclusive Caribbean beach resort, part a safari camp and part an eco-conscious boutique hotel. The owners are devoted to offer one-of-a-kind accommodations awaiting your arrival and a unique sensory experience that promotes harmony between inner and outer self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almonds and Corals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonds And Corals Hotel Manzanillo
Almonds And Corals Hotel Costa Rica/Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing