We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Experience of A Lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almonds and Corals Hotel
New York
1 review
“The Experience of A Lifetime”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

This lodge was unlike anything else I have ever experienced in my life! The awe inspiring environment and lush jungle that surrounds Almonds and Corals will swipe one off of their feet in total amazement. It's arrangement and style of the rooms create a particular feng shui that goes perfectly with the natural surroundings of the jungle.

After a long day of exploring and hiking I would come back to my room to find it neat and clean. Also, the employees were very friendly and kind. I would say the affected the people around them in a positive way. They made me smile. I found no problems with the service at this lodge.

The beach is beautiful and just as one would picture it to be in a tropical environment. It is the perfect spot to relax and take in some sun, or read a book perhaps.

Overall, the experience was incredible and I fully intend on returning to Almonds and Corals Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rad2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    43
    11
    20
    32
See reviews for
33
100
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Almonds and Corals is great. I'm a very seasoned traveler: from high-end luxury travel to camping in Patagonia, and I've been all over Costa Rica-- including the famous Lapa Rios Lodge down in Capo Matapolo. This place is really wonderful. Very rustic and I love the focus on eco-friendly, low impact , tourism. The staff treats you like family, it sits on one of the prettiest, secluded, beaches I've ever been on and there is plenty to do: snokeling within walking distance, riding bikes around the village and seeing monkeys, walking in the jungle to see frogs and toucans (no Mccaws) and sloths, kayaking....

No windows, or walls, for that matter (just screens), so you are basically sleeping in the jungle. Warm succulent nights and the sounds of frogs (and god knows what else) to lull you to sleep and the howls of the Howler monkeys to wake you up (a bit too early). The food in CR, for the most part sucks, but the hotel restraunt is actually pretty good.

If you want lots of action-- bars, nightlife, spa-- this is not the place for you. if you want mellow, peaceful, rustic, natural in a comfortable environment, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTruthOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Almonds and Corals is an all around excellent hotel. It has a completely remote and exotic feel, like you are sleeping in the middle of the jungle! The raised bungalow style rooms are luxurious and romantic--although I was with a large group when I traveled, I would definitely visit Almonds and Corals for a romantic getaway. The food and the staff were excellent, and there is a lot of wildlife amongst and surrounding the hotel! I also love that the hotel is eco-friendly, both during its construction and through its day to day running.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venesser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This was the most beautiful resort I've ever seen. In a matter of seconds you can walk from the middle of the jungle to a stunning secluded beach. It's large enough to accommodate a group, but small enough to feel cozy and personal. You can really get to know the staff, all of whom are very friendly and helpful. They don't have a traditional "fitness center" in a brick building with fluorescent lights and stationary exercise machines; instead they have a private nature reserve with a walking path, an extensive zipline course, and an entire building devoted to spa services, not to mention the entire rainforest, beach and ocean at your disposal. The rooms and restaurant are even nicer than they look in the pictures, and all buildings are extremely well-ventilated so they were always cool and comfortable. The best part is that the whole place is eco-friendly, so you can travel green without sacrificing luxury. Don't pass this one up!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybean2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VITA1040
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I came to stay here for several days on an educational field course trip throughout Costa Rica, and I am not lying when I say this place is the closest I've come to heaven on Earth. The experience of having howler monkeys serve as my natural alarm clock as I woke up in those beautiful cabin/ bungalows is unrepeatable. Being able to go swimming in the Caribbean Sea at midnight was an experience right out of a fantasy. I would love to come back with my fiancee.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VITA1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Almonds & Corals is the ideal place for an unforgettable, relaxing vacation, an educational or business retreat, or a perfect wedding or honeymoon! I have been there three times, and it just keeps getting better every time I go! I would--and do--recommend it to anyone and everyone!

It is a perfect getaway for nature lovers as it is set in the heart of the rainforest. The screened-in rooms allow for complete immersion in the wild atmosphere of the rainforest. You will fall asleep to the soothing sounds of the forest frogs and insects and be awakened by the bellows of howler monkeys in the morning. The rooms are gorgeous with beautiful hardwoods, canopy beds, a minibar and spa tubs. Each room has a seating area complete with a comfortable hammock.

The open-air dining room and bar is beautiful, and the beach is picture-perfect. There is a Natura Park where you can walk a path through the rainforest and experience the myriad plants and creatures up close. The Crazy Monkey Canopy Tour is another great way to see the rainforest--from the treetops!

The entire hotel is incredibly eco-friendly in its design and practices, so you are supporting the preservation of the wonderland in which you are immersed!

You will not regret choosing Almonds & Corals. It's an experience you'll never forget, and it is simply the most beautiful, wondrous place on the planet!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teebs962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Almonds and Corals Lodge provides its visitors a unique and wonderful, rustic yet luxurious, experience in the midst of the Gandoca-Manzanillo rainforest, and has been a favorite place of mine for many years. The Caribbean seaside setting is lovely, the lowland rainforest gently embraces its visitors with the night-time symphony of tree frogs and cicadas, and with delightful daytime encounters with toucans, parrots, sloths, hummingbirds, howler monkeys, and many other wonderful creatures, whether in the hiking trails or just outside one's lovely cabin. The food is superb, as is the service by smiling, friendly staff. Most importantly, Almonds and Corals Lodge represents eco-tourism at its best, educating its visitors and emphasizing the critical importance of ecological stewardship and sustainability, and appreciation and greater awareness of the incredible tropical paradise in which it operates.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky777NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanillo
3.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
16.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almonds and Corals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonds and Corals Hotel

Property: Almonds and Corals Hotel
Address: Manzanillo 681-2300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Almonds and Corals Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almonds and Corals, nestled amongst the exuberant jungle of Gandoca Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge in Costa Rica, offers three in one unique destinations, because it is part an exclusive Caribbean beach resort, part a safari camp and part an eco-conscious boutique hotel. The owners are devoted to offer one-of-a-kind accommodations awaiting your arrival and a unique sensory experience that promotes harmony between inner and outer self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Almonds and Corals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonds And Corals Hotel Manzanillo
Almonds And Corals Hotel Costa Rica/Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing