We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Reviewed April 17, 2014

WE stayed here 3 night.The beach is located on the property which was nice.Jessy was great as was Angle both were very helpful.Out of all the places we ate this was the best in our 15 day stay in costa rica.Buffet style dinner and breakfast.Thank you guys for the best dinner ever.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlkjhgfrtyuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 210 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was my fiancé and my first trip to Costa Rica and the staff and owners at Almonds and Corals ensured it will not be our last. The food was delicious and with a free breakfast and dinner included every night you are staying at Almonds and Corals, the price was right. The rooms were beautiful, with great views of the jungle and a Jacuzzi bath in-suite. The resort offers many different tours, (jungle walk, canopy zip line, snorkeling and kayaking) with very knowledgeable guides who bring you closer to the native wildlife (monkeys, sloths, and a wide variety of gorgeous birds, even Dolphins!) Our third night there, a leatherback turtle laid her eggs on the beach right by our resort. Very cool. Only half a mile south is the quaint and lovely town of Manzanillo, with it's calm, clear blue Caribbean waters, it is well worth the 15 minute walk down the beach. A 15 minute drive away is bustling, yet relaxed town of Puerto Viejo, with a wide variety of shops, spas, and restaurants that boast a wonderful assortment of hand-made jewelry, wood workings, and garments. The food in Puerto Viejo is to die for! Everyone at Almonds and Corals was so wonderful and friendly, they made us feel at home. Special thanks to the owner, Marco whose knowledge of the area was impressive and to Michael, whose kindness was unmatched (and boy, he can make a great drink!). We were at Almonds and Corals for 6 days, but honestly could have spent the rest of our lives there in pure bliss. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a Jacuzzi! It was a perfect way to end every day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was the PERFECT choice for my daughter's graduation trip!! Online it looks great and in person it is BETTER!! As a Wildlife Biology major, she was in heaven with her camera, as I was! The raised "cabins" were elegantly basic, so we felt a part of the jungle and could hear and see all wildlife in the area! The Howler monkeys started their unique calls at 5a, so if you like to sleep in, not the place for you! Because it is so humid, the ceiling and oscillating fans were great.
Their focus on eco-friendly coexistence with nature is genuine, and Marco and his staff are very knowledgeable and forthcoming when it comes to the wildlife and environment, as well as friendly and hospitable! The food was great, the beautiful beach was steps away, every need was taken care of, and the ZIPLINE experience was breathtaking!! I would recommend ALmonds and Corals to anyone who loves nature and wants to immerse themselves in the Costa Rican jungle!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our family of three stayed here for two nights. We were pleasantly surprised by how large our room was, and it included a hammock! The bathroom included a stand-up shower, sink and toilet, so was very basic, but was adequate. The real attraction is having your own cabin on stilts in the middle of the jungle, it is a very unique experience. I was afraid the noises from the jungle would keep me awake, but they actually were easy to fall asleep to. The howler monkeys were not so easy to stay asleep to, but what an amazing way to wake up... by howler monkey! The beach was wonderful, and you can get into the water a little ways, but need to walk further up the beach if you want to swim (riptides). The breakfast and dinner were both very generous and good. Everyone who worked there was very nice and we had excellent service the entire time. We did the canopy (zipline) tour, which was great! Just a short drive away is the Jaguar Rescue, which is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tawneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a beautiful property with tree house style units right in the jungle. It was so relaxing to hear the rain on the roof and the howler monkeys at dusk. The sea is almost at your doorstep. We were impressed by the friendly staff who all seem to love their work and the guests. The food was amazing!! Can't say enough about our wonderful experience at Almonds and Corals!! The beach is lovely and quiet--like having your own private beach!! We hated leaving this beautiful place!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samburuwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place is amazing, though it's definitely not for everyone. If you like you're private, quiet rooms with all the creature comforts it's probably not for you, but then neither is Manzanillo in general. However, despite the rooms brine separated from the rainforest by mere mesh walls and cotton curtains they are still very comfortable, and the leaf-thatched roofs and gossamer mosquito nets give the rooms a romantic, rainforest-oasis feel, which is exactly what it is. The lights along the paths between the cabins make the place look utterly magical at night, and the mesh walls and openness of the buildings give one a tremendous feeling of oneness with the forest, without sacrificing comfort. The restaurant makes good food though I only had the buffet option while there, and the bar makes an excellent mojito. Overall it is a lovely place for those who are interested in the rainforest experience, from the comfort of a nice feather bed or bubbling jacuzzi. One negative point, it's a bit overpriced, but still worth it for a few nights. Definitely a must see for fellow naturalists/ecologists/zoologists etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickCollinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Curtained palaces in the jungle and just by the beach. Friendly and helpful staff. Plentiful food and great breakfasts. No swimming right in front of hotel but great swimming beaches a short walk or bike away. Recommend dolphin spotting!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank h0neym00nwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanillo
3.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,043 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
482 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almonds and Corals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonds and Corals Hotel

Address: Manzanillo 681-2300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Manzanillo
Price Range: $78 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Almonds and Corals Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almonds and Corals, nestled amongst the exuberant jungle of Gandoca Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge in Costa Rica, offers three in one unique destinations, because it is part an exclusive Caribbean beach resort, part a safari camp and part an eco-conscious boutique hotel. The owners are devoted to offer one-of-a-kind accommodations awaiting your arrival and a unique sensory experience that promotes harmony between inner and outer self. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almonds and Corals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonds And Corals Hotel Manzanillo
Almonds And Corals Hotel Costa Rica/Manzanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing